Beste Reisezeit Alabama

Alabama Shakespeare Festival 2021-2022

Eins der größten Festivals der Welt, das dem "Bard of Avon" gewidmet ist

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Eleonora Provozin
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Das Alabama Shakespeare Festival, eines der 10 größten Shakespeare Festivals auf der Erde, wird von September bis Anfang Mai im Carolyn Blount Theatre in Montgomery, Alabama veranstaltet. Das Festival bietet etwa zehn Produktionen pro Jahr, einschließlich Stücke von William Shakespeare neben anderen klassischen oder modernen Dramatikern.

Manchmal nimmt das Festival Theaterstücke von südlichen Autoren an. Sie zieht jährlich über 300.000 Teilnehmer aus über 60 Ländern an. Dank der revolvierenden Repertory-Saison der ASF können die Teilnehmer mehrere Spiele an einem Wochenende sehen.

Das Alabama Shakespeare Festival präsentiert über 400 Aufführungen pro Saison. Es bietet auch Bildungsprogramme für über eine Million Studenten. Das Festival hält die größte professionelle Theatertruppe in Alabama. Das Alabama Shakespeare Festival wurde 1972 erstmals in einem Auditorium der High School in Anniston abgehalten. Aufgrund seines Erfolgs und seines innovativen Ansatzes zog die ASF 1987 in ein neues großartiges darstellendes Kunstzentrum in Montgomery – das Carolyn Blount Theatre –, das die 792-Sitz-Festivalbühne und das 225-Sitz-Octagon-Theater mit Probensälen und Verwaltungsbüros beherbergt.

Das Alabama Shakespeare Festival trägt wesentlich zur lokalen Wirtschaft bei und ist für etwa 1.000 Arbeitsplätze in der Region verantwortlich. ASF Schauspieler, Regisseure und Designer sind Profis aus Chicago, New York und Los Angeles. Jedes Stück umfasst Handwerker, um handgemachte Kostüme und Dekorationen zu schaffen, die dem Festival einen künstlerischen Wert verleihen.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Alabama Shakespeare Festival (Karte)

Best time to go to Alabama

Alabama Shakespeare Festival 2019-2020

One of the world's largest festivals dedicated to the "Bard of Avon"

One of top 10 largest Shakespeare festivals on the planet based on attendance, Alabama Shakespeare Festival runs from September to early May at Carolyn Blount Theatre in Montgomery, Alabama. The festival offers about ten productions every year, including plays of William Shakespeare alongside other classical or modern playwrights.

Producing Artistic Director of the Alabama Shakespeare Festival, Geoffrey Sherman, reading Shakespeare's Sonnet 71 "No longer mourn for me when I am dead" on the 447th anniversary of Shakespeare's birth. The event was held in the Shakespare Garden at the ASF 2019
Producing Artistic Director of the Alabama Shakespeare Festival, Geoffrey Sherman, reading Shakespeare's Sonnet 71 "No longer mourn for me when I am dead" on the 447th anniversary of Shakespeare's birth. The event was held in the Shakespare Garden at the ASF

Sometimes the festival takes on plays by Southern authors. It attracts over 300,000 attendees from over 60 countries every year. Thanks to ASF's revolving repertory season, attendees can see several plays over one weekend.

Alabama Shakespeare Festival presents over 400 performances each season. It also provides education programs to over a million students. The festival holds the largest professional theatre troupe in Alabama. Alabama Shakespeare Festival was first held in a high school auditorium in Anniston in 1972. Due to its success and innovative approach, in 1987 the ASF moved to a new magnificent performing arts center in Montgomery—Carolyn Blount Theatre—that hosts of the 792-seat Festival Stage and the 225-seat Octagon Theatre with rehearsal halls and administrative offices.

Carolyn Blount Theatre 2019
Carolyn Blount Theatre

Alabama Shakespeare Festival contributes greatly to a local economy, being responsible for about 1,000 jobs in the area. ASF actors, directors, and designers are professionals from Chicago, New York, and Los Angeles. Each play involves artisans to create handmade costumes and decorations that adds an artistic value to the Festival.