Rove.me soutient l’Ukraine 🇺🇦
Quand partir à Alabama

Mobile Mardi Gras 2023

Le carnaval le plus lold aux États-Unis. tenue depuis 1703

Partager

Dernière mise à jour: par Dari Vasiljeva
reason default image
Voir tout

C'est souvent appelé le Mardi Gras original aux États-Unis! La toute première célébration carnaval en Amérique a eu lieu à Mobile, Alabama, en 1703. C'était alors la capitale de la Louisiane française. Des parades de Flamboyant et des balles masquées exclusives ont été organisées à Mobile depuis. Les fêtes commencent généralement à la fin de janvier et se terminent le mardi Fat.

Des dizaines de défilés font du rock dans le centre-ville de Mobile pendant la saison du Mardi Gras. Il commence par le défilé Krewe de la Dauphine sur l'île Dauphin et Krewe de Riviere du Chien Parade sur St. Andrews Loop. Ne manquez pas les événements Mobile Mystics, Mobile Mystic Revelers et Mobile Mystic Friends. Gardez à l'esprit qu'il y a quelques sociétés mystiques dans la ville qui datent de plusieurs siècles. Une procession est dédiée à Joe Cain, un natif mobile qui a initié la façon moderne d'observer Mardi Gras dans la ville après la guerre civile. L'aboutissement de la célébration du Mardi Gras se produit habituellement le mardi Fat avec cinq des six parades diverses tout au long de la journée.

Les tartes de lune volantes sont l'une des traditions les plus éminentes du Mobile Mardi Gras. Avec des perles et des doublons, des tartes de lune de diverses saveurs sont jetées dans les foules des chars pendant les défilés. Les lunettes sont faites de guimauves et peuvent avoir une banane, du chocolat, du beurre d'arachide, de la menthe et d'autres saveurs.

L'Ordre des Mythes est la société mobile la plus ancienne. Son emblème est souvent affiché lors de la célébration du Mobile Mardi Gras. Sa procession utilise des torches pour allumer des flotteurs, ce qui le rend plus mystique.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Mobile Mardi Gras (carte)

Best time to go to Alabama

Mobile Mardi Gras 2024

The oldest carnival in the U.S. held since 1703

Dates: January 13–February 13, 2024

Mobile Mardi Gras
Mobile Mardi Gras
Mobile Mardi Gras

It's often called the original Mardi Gras in the United States! The first-ever carnival celebration in America was held in Mobile, Alabama, in 1703. At that time, it was the capital of French Louisiana. Flamboyant parades and exclusive masked balls have been held in Mobile ever since. Festivities usually start in mid-January and end on Fat Tuesday.

Parades

Dozens of parades rock the downtown of Mobile during the Mardi Gras season. It begins with the Krewe de la Dauphine parade on Dauphin Island and Krewe of Riviere du Chien Parade on St. Andrews Loop. Don't miss Mobile Mystics, Mobile Mystical Revelers, and Mobile Mystical Friends events. Keep in mind that there are a few mystic societies in the city that date back several centuries. One procession is dedicated to Joe Cain, a Mobile native who initiated the modern way of observing Mardi Gras in the city after the Civil War.

Usually, revelers can count on at least one to three parades a festive day. But the culmination of the Mardi Gras celebration occurs on the last weekend. On Saturday, in particular, you can enjoy up to eight vibrant processions, whereas, the Fat Tuesday doesn't fall behind, with its six stunning parades on the bill. See the full parade schedule on the official website, mentioned in the External Resources below.

Flying moon pies tradition

Flying moon pies is one of the most prominent Mobile Mardi Gras traditions. Along with beads and doubloons, moon pies of various flavors are thrown into crowds from the floats during the parades. Moonpies are made of marshmallows and can have a banana, chocolate, peanut butter, mint, and other flavors.

Order of Myths is the oldest of Mobile societies. Its emblem “Folly chasing Death” is often displayed during the Mobile Mardi Gras celebration. Its procession uses torches to light up floats, which makes it more mystical.

Find hotels and airbnbs near Mobile Mardi Gras (Map)

Last updated: by Olga Valchyshen