Hilf der Ukraine 🇺🇦 während der russischen Invasion
Hier sind die besten Möglichkeiten, um die Ukraine durch diese herausfordernden Zeiten zu unterstützen. Lesen Sie mehr
Beste Reisezeit Alabama

Mobile Mardi Gras 2022

Der älteste Karneval in den USA. Seit 1703 gehalten

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Dari Vasiljeva
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Es wird oft als die ursprüngliche Mardi Gras in den Vereinigten Staaten! Die erste Karnevalsfeier in Amerika wurde in Mobile, Alabama, im Jahr 1703. Zu dieser Zeit war es die Hauptstadt von Französisch Louisiana. Seither finden in Mobile Flamboyant Paraden und exklusive Maskenbälle statt. Die Festlichkeiten beginnen in der Regel Ende Januar und enden am Fat Tuesday.

Dutzende von Paraden rocken die Innenstadt von Mobile während der Mardi Gras-Saison. Es beginnt mit der Krewe de la Dauphine Parade auf Dauphin Island und Krewe von Riviere du Chien Parade auf St. Andrews Loop. Verpassen Sie nicht Mobile Mystics, Mobile Mystic Revelers und Mobile Mystic Friends Veranstaltungen. Denken Sie daran, dass es ein paar mystische Gesellschaften in der Stadt, die mehrere Jahrhunderte zurückdatieren. Eine Prozession ist Joe Cain gewidmet, ein mobiler Eingeborener, der den modernen Weg der Beobachtung von Mardi Gras in der Stadt nach dem Bürgerkrieg initiierte. Der Höhepunkt der Mardi Gras Feier findet in der Regel am Fat Dienstag mit fünf von sechs verschiedenen Paraden den ganzen Tag.

Das Fliegen von Mondkuchen ist eine der prominentesten Mobile Mardi Gras Traditionen. Zusammen mit Perlen und Doubloons werden Mondkuchen verschiedener Geschmacksrichtungen während der Paraden in die Menge der Schwimmer geworfen. Die Moonpies bestehen aus Marshmallows und können eine Banane, Schokolade, Erdnussbutter, Minze und andere Aromen haben.

Der Mythenorden ist der älteste der Mobilen Gesellschaften. Ihr Emblem "Folly jagt den Tod" wird oft während der Mobilen Mardi Gras Feier gezeigt. Ihre Prozession benutzt Fackeln, um Schwimmer anzuzünden, was sie mystischer macht.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Mobile Mardi Gras (Karte)

Best time to go to Alabama

Mobile Mardi Gras 2024

The oldest carnival in the U.S. held since 1703

Dates: January 13–February 13, 2024

Mobile Mardi Gras
Mobile Mardi Gras
Mobile Mardi Gras

It's often called the original Mardi Gras in the United States! The first-ever carnival celebration in America was held in Mobile, Alabama, in 1703. At that time, it was the capital of French Louisiana. Flamboyant parades and exclusive masked balls have been held in Mobile ever since. Festivities usually start in mid-January and end on Fat Tuesday.

Parades

Dozens of parades rock the downtown of Mobile during the Mardi Gras season. It begins with the Krewe de la Dauphine parade on Dauphin Island and Krewe of Riviere du Chien Parade on St. Andrews Loop. Don't miss Mobile Mystics, Mobile Mystical Revelers, and Mobile Mystical Friends events. Keep in mind that there are a few mystic societies in the city that date back several centuries. One procession is dedicated to Joe Cain, a Mobile native who initiated the modern way of observing Mardi Gras in the city after the Civil War.

Usually, revelers can count on at least one to three parades a festive day. But the culmination of the Mardi Gras celebration occurs on the last weekend. On Saturday, in particular, you can enjoy up to eight vibrant processions, whereas, the Fat Tuesday doesn't fall behind, with its six stunning parades on the bill. See the full parade schedule on the official website, mentioned in the External Resources below.

Flying moon pies tradition

Flying moon pies is one of the most prominent Mobile Mardi Gras traditions. Along with beads and doubloons, moon pies of various flavors are thrown into crowds from the floats during the parades. Moonpies are made of marshmallows and can have a banana, chocolate, peanut butter, mint, and other flavors.

Order of Myths is the oldest of Mobile societies. Its emblem “Folly chasing Death” is often displayed during the Mobile Mardi Gras celebration. Its procession uses torches to light up floats, which makes it more mystical.

Find hotels and airbnbs near Mobile Mardi Gras (Map)

Last updated: by Olga Valchyshen