Rove.me soutient l’Ukraine 🇺🇦
Quand partir Birmingham, AL

Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum

Prenez un voyage mémorable par un train historique du musée officiel du chemin de fer de l'Alabama

Partager

Dernière mise à jour: par Olha Savych
reason default image
Voir tout

Si vous aimez les trains et tout ce qui est en rapport avec le sujet, vous tomberez amoureux du Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum, situé à Calera juste au sud de Birmingham. Le musée officiel du chemin de fer de l'Alabama présente des voitures anciennes et offre des trajets en train passionnants du début mars à la mi-décembre. Les options versatiles comprennent Calera & Shelby Train, North Pole Express, chartes et excursions pour les groupes scolaires, ainsi que des alternatives exclusives, telles que Stars & Stripes Special.

Calera & Shelby Railroad

L'une des options les plus populaires à choisir est un voyage en taxi sur la ligne Calera & Shelby, couru sur la partie de l'ancien L&N Alabama Mineral Railroad, qui date de 1891. Le voyage de 75 minutes présente les magnifiques forêts du comté de Shelby. Notez que vous pouvez vous livrer à de tels voyages le samedi seulement. Les heures de départ sont 10h et 13h, mais l'embarquement s'ouvre 15 minutes plus tôt.

North Pole Express

Pendant la saison de Noël, entre la mi-novembre et la mi-décembre, vous pourrez profiter d'une aventure magique de 1,5 heure sur le North Pole Express. Les locomotives et les wagons de Calera & Shelby Railroad s'intègrent dans l'ambiance festive avec des lumières de vacances luxueuses, ainsi que le Père Noël et Mme. Claus Visites. N'oubliez pas que les trajets en train Polar Express sont extrêmement populaires en Alabama et au-delà. Les billets sont déjà en vente en juillet et sont bientôt épuisés.

Conseils pour visiter

Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur les visites et les promenades et acheter des billets sur le site officiel du Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum. Pour d'autres questions, veuillez envoyer un message au musée via sa page Facebook officielle. Les deux liens sont énumérés dans les Ressources externes ci-dessous.

Le Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum est situé à 53 km au sud de Birmingham et est facilement accessible via I-65 S. Si vous venez de loin, vous pourriez avoir besoin de réserver un séjour quelque part à proximité. N'hésitez pas à parcourir la carte ci-dessous pour obtenir les meilleurs hébergements de la région.

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum (carte)

Help Ukraine 🇺🇦 during the Russian invasion
Here are the best ways to support Ukraine through these challenging times. Read more
Best time to visit Birmingham, AL

Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum

Take a memorable ride on a historic train from Alabama's official railroad museum

Share

Last updated: by Olha Savych
reason default image
See all

If you're a fan of trains and everything related to the subject, you'll fall in love with the Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum, situated in Calera just south of Birmingham. The official railroad museum of Alabama showcases antique cars and offers exciting train rides from early March to mid-December. Versatile options include Calera & Shelby Train, North Pole Express, charters and field trips for school groups, and also exclusive alternatives, such as Stars & Stripes Special.

Calera & Shelby Train Ride

One of the most popular options to choose from is a cab ride on the Calera & Shelby line, running on the part of the former L&N Alabama Mineral Railroad, which dates back to 1891. The 75-minute journey showcases the beautiful forests of Shelby County. Note that you can indulge in such trips on Saturdays only. The departure times are 10 am and 1 pm, but boarding opens 15 minutes earlier.

North Pole Express

During the Christmas season, between mid-November and mid-December, you can have yourself a magical 1.5-hour adventure on the North Pole Express. Vintage locomotives and rail cars of Calera & Shelby Railroad get into the festive mood with lavish holiday lights, as well as Santa and Mrs. Claus visits. Mind that Polar Express train rides are extremely popular in Alabama and beyond. The tickets go on sale already in July and are soon sold out.

Tips for visiting

You can find more information on the tours and rides and buy tickets on the official website of the Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum. With other questions, please message the museum via its official Facebook page. Both links are listed in the External Resources below.

The Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum is located 33 miles (53 km) south of Birmingham and is easily accessible via I-65 S. If you're coming from far away, you might need to book a stay somewhere nearby. Feel free to browse the map below for the best accommodations in the area.

Find hotels and airbnbs near Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum (Map)