Quand partir à Hawaï

Merrie Monarch Festival 2021

L'un des événements culturels les plus colorés d'Hawaii tenu pour honorer le roi David Kalakaua

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Disclaimer: Due to COVID-19 concerns, many events might be canceled, postponed, or changed into limited versions, sometimes at very short notice. Please check with event organizers directly for the latest updates (view the "External Resources" section below).

Le roi David Kalakaua, qui a régné à Hawaii pendant 20 ans jusqu'en 1891, a été l'un des dirigeants locaux les plus populaires, consacré à la culture et aux traditions locales comme la danse hula. C'est pour ça qu'il s'appelait le Merrie Monarch. Il a lancé une campagne pour revivre les coutumes locales qui ont été supprimées par les missionnaires chrétiens. Un festival pour honorer la mémoire du roi se tient chaque avril à Hilo. C'est marqué par les célèbres compétitions de hula qui rassemblent des danseurs du monde entier

Le festival de 7 jours comporte de nombreux événements culturels : une exposition, une foire d'artisanat, un défilé et un concours de hula de trois jours qui est connu dans le monde entier. Les 4 premiers jours du Festival Merrie Monarch se composent d'événements non compétitifs. Il s'agit notamment de concerts gratuits et de spectacles d'Halau (danseurs) ainsi que d'une foire d'arts et d'artisanat. L'événement non compétitif le plus populaire est le Merrie Monarch Parade qui aura lieu samedi matin avec des dizaines de chars, danseurs et groupes de marche.

La compétition de Hula est l'aboutissement du festival qui se déroule habituellement à son cinquième jour au Stade polyvalent Edith Kanaka ole dans le parc Hoolulu. Les danseurs Hula s'exécutent individuellement et en groupes, à intervalles de sept minutes. Un concours spécial met en vedette des danseuses individuelles qui participent au titre de Miss Aloha Hula. Ils dansent dans un style moderne (hula Òauana) et traditionnel (hula kahiko). Le premier vainqueur de ce concours en 1971 a été Aloha Dalire, une légendaire kumu hula, et danseuse de hula. La compétition du groupe hula kahiko présente la division masculine et féminine. Le dernier jour est marqué par un concours de groupe hula Òauana - style moderne hula

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Merrie Monarch Festival (carte)

Best time to go to Hawaii

Merrie Monarch Festival 2019

One of the most colorful cultural events in Hawaii held to honor King David Kalakaua

Merrie Monarch Festival in Hawaii - Best Time
Photo by

© James Hawkins

King David Kalakaua, who reigned in Hawaii for 20 years until 1891, was one of the most popular local rulers, devoted to local culture and traditions like the hula dance. That's why he was called the Merrie Monarch. He started a campaign to revive local customs that were suppressed by Christian missionaries. A festival to honor the memory of the king is held every April in Hilo. It's marked by famous hula competitions that bring together dancers from all over the world.

Merrie Monarch Festival in Hawaii - Best Season

The 7-day festival features many cultural events: an exhibit, a crafts fair, a parade, and a three-day hula competition that is known worldwide. The first 4 days of the Merrie Monarch Festival consist of non–competitive events. These include free concerts and performances by halau (dancers) as well as an arts and crafts fair. The most popular non–competitive event is the Merrie Monarch Parade that takes place on Saturday morning featuring dozens of floats, dancers and marching bands.

Best time for Merrie Monarch Festival in Hawaii

Hula competition is the culmination of the festival which usually occurs on its fifth day at the Edith Kanakaʻole Multipurpose Stadium in Hoʻolulu Park. Hula dancers perform both individually and in groups, with seven-minute intervals. A special competition showcases individual female dancers that compete for the title of Miss Aloha Hula. They dance in a modern style(hula ʻauana) and traditional (hula kahiko). The first winner of this competition in 1971 was Aloha Dalire, a legendary kumu hula, and hula dancer. Group hula kahiko competition features the male and the female division. The last day is marked by a competition of group hula ʻauana - modern style hula.

Hawaii
Check best times to visit
Hawaii