Beste Reisezeit Hawaii

Merrie Monarch Festival 2021

Eine der buntesten kulturellen Veranstaltungen in Hawaii statt, um König David Kalakaua zu ehren

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Disclaimer: Due to COVID-19 concerns, many events might be canceled, postponed, or changed into limited versions, sometimes at very short notice. Please check with event organizers directly for the latest updates (view the "External Resources" section below).

König David Kalakaua, der 20 Jahre lang bis 1891 in Hawaii regierte, war einer der beliebtesten lokalen Herrscher, der sich der lokalen Kultur und Traditionen wie dem Hula-Tanz widmete. Deshalb wurde er Merrie Monarch genannt. Er begann eine Kampagne, um lokale Bräuche wiederzubeleben, die von christlichen Missionaren unterdrückt wurden. Ein Fest zum Gedenken an den König findet jeden April in Hilo statt. Es ist von berühmten Hula-Wettbewerben gekennzeichnet, die Tänzer aus der ganzen Welt zusammenbringen

Das 7-Tage-Festival bietet viele kulturelle Veranstaltungen: eine Ausstellung, eine Handwerksmesse, eine Parade und ein dreitägiger Hula-Wettbewerb, der weltweit bekannt ist. Die ersten 4 Tage des Merrie Monarch Festivals bestehen aus nicht-wettbewerblichen Veranstaltungen. Dazu gehören kostenlose Konzerte und Performances von halau (Tänzer) sowie eine Kunst- und Handwerksmesse. Die beliebteste nicht-wettbewerbliche Veranstaltung ist die Merrie Monarch Parade, die am Samstagmorgen mit Dutzenden von Schwimmern, Tänzern und marschierenden Bands stattfindet.

Der Hula-Wettbewerb ist der Höhepunkt des Festivals, das in der Regel am fünften Tag im Edith Kanaka-Ole Multipurpose Stadium im Park Hoeolulu stattfindet. Die Hula-Tänzer treten einzeln und in Gruppen auf, mit sieben Minuten Intervallen. Ein spezieller Wettbewerb zeigt einzelne Tänzerinnen, die um den Titel Miss Aloha Hula konkurrieren. Sie tanzen in einem modernen Stil (hula -auana) und traditionell (hula kahiko). Der erste Gewinner dieses Wettbewerbs 1971 war Aloha Dalire, eine legendäre Kumu Hula, und Hula-Tänzerin. Gruppe Hula Kahiko Wettbewerb kennzeichnet die männliche und die weibliche Division. Der letzte Tag wird von einem Wettbewerb der Gruppe Hula .auana - modernen Stil Hula gekennzeichnet

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Merrie Monarch Festival (Karte)

Best time to go to Hawaii

Merrie Monarch Festival 2019

One of the most colorful cultural events in Hawaii held to honor King David Kalakaua

Merrie Monarch Festival in Hawaii - Best Time
Photo by

© James Hawkins

King David Kalakaua, who reigned in Hawaii for 20 years until 1891, was one of the most popular local rulers, devoted to local culture and traditions like the hula dance. That's why he was called the Merrie Monarch. He started a campaign to revive local customs that were suppressed by Christian missionaries. A festival to honor the memory of the king is held every April in Hilo. It's marked by famous hula competitions that bring together dancers from all over the world.

Merrie Monarch Festival in Hawaii - Best Season

The 7-day festival features many cultural events: an exhibit, a crafts fair, a parade, and a three-day hula competition that is known worldwide. The first 4 days of the Merrie Monarch Festival consist of non–competitive events. These include free concerts and performances by halau (dancers) as well as an arts and crafts fair. The most popular non–competitive event is the Merrie Monarch Parade that takes place on Saturday morning featuring dozens of floats, dancers and marching bands.

Best time for Merrie Monarch Festival in Hawaii

Hula competition is the culmination of the festival which usually occurs on its fifth day at the Edith Kanakaʻole Multipurpose Stadium in Hoʻolulu Park. Hula dancers perform both individually and in groups, with seven-minute intervals. A special competition showcases individual female dancers that compete for the title of Miss Aloha Hula. They dance in a modern style(hula ʻauana) and traditional (hula kahiko). The first winner of this competition in 1971 was Aloha Dalire, a legendary kumu hula, and hula dancer. Group hula kahiko competition features the male and the female division. The last day is marked by a competition of group hula ʻauana - modern style hula.

Hawaii
Check best times to visit
Hawaii