Quand partir à Islande

Laufskálarétt 2021

Assistez à une grande célébration des communautés locales, quand des centaines de chevaux sauvages retournent dans des fermes à l'automne

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout
0

Chaque année pendant les mois d'été dans les régions rurales de l'Islande les chevaux sont mis en liberté pour parcourir et élever les jeunes. Des centaines de chevaux courent ensemble dans la nature et profitent de la liberté. Quand l'automne arrive, les fermiers se rassemblent pour ramasser, trier les chevaux et les ramener à la maison.

La partie la plus spectaculaire de cette tradition peut être observée au cours du dernier week-end de septembre. L'événement, appelé Laufskálarétt, se déroule à Skagafjörður, dans le nord de l'Islande. C'est le corral de cheval le plus populaire dans le pays. Des milliers d'invités regardent comment les fermiers traitent avec des centaines de chevaux

Avant que le tri ne commence, les chevaux devraient être rassemblés. Ils sont amenés dans Hofsós et mis dans le corral. Puis les fermiers entrent au centre et trient les chevaux un par un. Quand le propriétaire fonde son cheval, il doit faire revenir l'animal à la maison et oublier la liberté jusqu'à l'été suivant. Le tri commence habituellement vers 11 heures du matin. le samedi. Quand le travail est terminé, il est temps de célébrer. Vous pourrez profiter du spectacle de chevaux, monter à cheval, chanter, danser et s'amuser avec les habitants célébrant le retour de leurs chevaux sauvages.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Laufskálarétt (carte)

Best time to go to Iceland

Laufskálarétt 2024 in Iceland

Watch a great celebration of local communities, when hundreds of wild horses return to farm homes in the fall

Dates: September 28, 2024

Laufskálarétt
Laufskálarétt
Laufskálarétt

Every summer, in the rural parts of Iceland, horses are set free to roam and raise their young. Hundreds of horses run together in the wild and enjoy the freedom. When the fall comes, farmers come together to round up, sort the horses, and take them home.

Tradition Highlights

The most spectacular part of this tradition is observed during the last weekend of September. The event, Laufskálarétt, happens in Skagafjörður, Northern Iceland. It is the most popular horse corral in the country, and thousands of guests watch farmers deal with hundreds of horses.

The Sorting and Celebration

Before the sorting starts, horses should be gathered. They are brought into Hofsós and put into the corral. Then, the farmers get into the center and sort the horses one by one. When the owner finds his horse, he has to make the animal come back home and forget about the freedom till the next summer. Sorting usually starts at around 11 am on Saturday. When the work is done, it’s time to celebrate. Visitors can enjoy the horse show, riding, singing, dancing, and having fun with the locals celebrating the return of their wild horses.

Popular Tourists Destination

The horse round-ups, a cherished tradition primarily found in Northern Iceland, attract tourists from around the globe. Many horse-tour providers and farms offer special tours, allowing guests to participate in rounding up the horses. Everyone can immerse themselves in the exhilarating experience of herding a vast herd of young stallions through the breathtaking Icelandic landscapes—a true cowboy adventure that promises unforgettable memories.

Find hotels and airbnbs near Laufskálarétt (Map)

Last updated:
Authors: Mariia Myshok