Beste Reisezeit Island

Laufskálarétt 2021

Beobachten Sie eine große Feier der lokalen Gemeinschaften, wenn Hunderte von wilden Pferden im Herbst zu den Farm-Häusern zurückkehren

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen
0

Jedes Jahr während der Sommermonate in den ländlichen Teilen Islands Pferde sind frei, um zu wandern und die Jungen zu züchten. Hunderte von Pferden laufen in freier Wildbahn zusammen und genießen die Freiheit. Wenn der Herbst kommt, kommen die Bauern zusammen, um sich zu versammeln, die Pferde zu sortieren und sie mit nach Hause zu nehmen.

Der spektakulärste Teil dieser Tradition kann am letzten Septemberwochenende beobachtet werden. Das Ereignis, Laufskálarétt genannt, geschieht in Skagafjörður, Nordisland. Es ist das beliebteste Pferd Korral im Land. Tausende von Gästen beobachten, wie die Bauern mit Hunderten von Pferden umgehen

Bevor die Sortierung beginnt, sollten Pferde gesammelt werden. Sie werden in Hofsós gebracht und in den Korral. Dann kommen die Bauern in die Mitte und sortieren die Pferde eins nach dem anderen. Wenn der Besitzer sein Pferd findet, muss er das Tier zurück nach Hause bringen und die Freiheit bis zum nächsten Sommer vergessen. Die Sortierung beginnt in der Regel um 11 Uhr. Am Samstag. Wenn die Arbeit getan ist, ist es Zeit zu feiern. Sie können die Pferdeshow genießen, reiten, singen, tanzen und Spaß mit den Einheimischen feiern die Rückkehr ihrer wilden Pferde.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Laufskálarétt (Karte)

Best time to go to Iceland

Laufskálarétt 2024 in Iceland

Watch a great celebration of local communities, when hundreds of wild horses return to farm homes in the fall

Dates: September 28, 2024

Laufskálarétt
Laufskálarétt
Laufskálarétt

Every summer, in the rural parts of Iceland, horses are set free to roam and raise their young. Hundreds of horses run together in the wild and enjoy the freedom. When the fall comes, farmers come together to round up, sort the horses, and take them home.

Tradition Highlights

The most spectacular part of this tradition is observed during the last weekend of September. The event, Laufskálarétt, happens in Skagafjörður, Northern Iceland. It is the most popular horse corral in the country, and thousands of guests watch farmers deal with hundreds of horses.

The Sorting and Celebration

Before the sorting starts, horses should be gathered. They are brought into Hofsós and put into the corral. Then, the farmers get into the center and sort the horses one by one. When the owner finds his horse, he has to make the animal come back home and forget about the freedom till the next summer. Sorting usually starts at around 11 am on Saturday. When the work is done, it’s time to celebrate. Visitors can enjoy the horse show, riding, singing, dancing, and having fun with the locals celebrating the return of their wild horses.

Popular Tourists Destination

The horse round-ups, a cherished tradition primarily found in Northern Iceland, attract tourists from around the globe. Many horse-tour providers and farms offer special tours, allowing guests to participate in rounding up the horses. Everyone can immerse themselves in the exhilarating experience of herding a vast herd of young stallions through the breathtaking Icelandic landscapes—a true cowboy adventure that promises unforgettable memories.

Find hotels and airbnbs near Laufskálarétt (Map)

Last updated:
Authors: Mariia Myshok