Beste Reisezeit Florida

Whale Watching (Walbeobachtung)

Die Bevölkerung der gefährdeten nördlichen rechten Wale erholt sich in Florida

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Olha Savych
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Ein Manatee ist zweifellos Floridas berühmteste Meeressäugetier. Aber du kannst einen anderen sanften Riesen in Floridas Gewässern sehen: Nördlicher rechter Wal. Nach dem Sommer in New England und Nova Scotia wandern bedrohte rechte Wale von Dezember bis März in die warmen Gewässer Floridas. Etwa 150 rechte Wale verbringen den Winter in den Küstengewässern des nördlichen und zentralen Teils des Staates. Viele Weibchen kommen schwanger nach Florida und gebären Kälber in warmen atlantischen Meeresgewässern.

Die besten Plätze für Walbeobachtung

Sie können majestätische rechte Wale entlang der nordöstlichen Küste Floridas sehen. Das Gebiet zwischen Jacksonville und Cape Canaveral ist der führende Walbeobachtungsort im Sunshine State. Viele Naturbegeisterte versuchen Wale am Ufer bei 800 Fuß (243 m) Flagler Beach Pier, entlang der Autobahn A1A. Die Menschen haben auch Wale von St gesehen. Augustine's Beach Pier und von Daytona Beach Mainstreet Pier und vor allem der Sunglow Fishing Pier.

Walbeobachtungstouren

Leider gibt es keine organisierten Walbeobachtungstouren in Florida, da das Aussehen der Wale ziemlich schwer vorherzusagen ist. Auch Mütter und Kälber könnten wegen Touristenbooten gestresst werden. Es gab Fälle, in denen Kälber infolge einer Kollision mit Booten getötet wurden. Die Schiffe müssen 500 Yards (457 m) von Walen entfernt bleiben. Allerdings sehen die Bewohner von Florida und Besucher die ganze Zeit Wale im Meer, so dass jeder Glück haben könnte. Auch gibt es eine Chance, Wale auf einer Delphin-Beobachter-Kreuzfahrt zu sehen. Das ganze Jahr über organisieren Florida Water Tours 2-Stunden-Ausflüge im Meer in Matanzas Bay. Es gab zahlreiche Walsichtungen in der Nähe von Matanzas Inlet.

Walbeobachtungssaison

Februar ist der beste Monat, um Wale im Nordosten Floridas zu entdecken. Ihre Calving-Saison fällt auch auf späten Winter. Januar ist ein weiterer guter Monat, wenn Wale häufig gesehen werden. Die Chancen sinken im März. Im April werden die Kälber stärker, und die Wale kehren nach New England und Kanada zurück, die von den Strömungen des Golfstroms angezogen werden.

Atlantische Nordkaper Wale Fakten

Wissenschaftler schätzen, dass die Gesamtzahl der Atlantische Nordkaper etwa 490 beträgt. Von 75 bis 200 von ihnen werden regelmäßig vor Floridas Küste während des Winters gesichtet. Erwachsene sind 35-60 Fuß lang (10-18 m) und wiegen 50-70 Tonnen. Das durchschnittliche Gewicht eines neugeborenen Kalbes beträgt 1,984 lb (900 kg) und die Länge -5 m (16,4 ft). Die rechten Wale können an den Kallositäten, den weißen Flecken der aufgerauten Haut auf ihren Köpfen erkannt werden. Atlantische Nordkaper sind sehr langsam Schwimmer, die hilft, sie zu erkennen. Sie sind eine Freude zu beobachten, wie sie oft brechen, Schwanz-Schnalle, und Lobtail. Diese Wale vermehren sich sehr langsam, da Weibchen nur einmal in 3-5 Jahren züchten. Ihre Lebensdauer beträgt etwa 70 Jahre.

Fakten über Buckelwale

Auch Buckelwale werden manchmal in Florida-Gewässern entdeckt. Sie sind die zahlreichsten Walarten im Atlantik und werden gelegentlich entlang der Schatzküste Floridas gesehen (um Port St. Lucie) und entlang der Westküste des Sunshine State. Humpbacks kommunizieren durch melodiöse Rufe, die man "Songs" nennen kann. Diese "Songs" dauern bis zu 20 Minuten. Die Buckelhölzer sind bis zu 16 m lang und haben für jedes Individuum einzigartige Eulen.

Tipps für die Walbeobachtung

Beobachten Wale von der Küste ist ziemlich knifflig. Stellen Sie sicher, leistungsfähige Ferngläser und eine Kamera mit einem Teleobjektiv zu bekommen, wenn Sie Fotos zu machen planen. Behalten Sie ein Auge für Walausläufer sowie Vögel und Delfine, die manchmal um Wale gesehen werden können.

Wo übernachten

Jacksonville, St. Augustine, Daytona Beach und Flager Beach haben viele Hotels am Meer mit herrlichem Meerblick. Winter ist auch Zeit für große Rabatte auf Unterkunft. Sehen Sie sich einige der folgenden Optionen an.

Praktische Infos

When can you see whales in Florida?

Northern right whales migrate to the warm Florida waters from December to March

Are there humpback whales in Florida?

Humpbacks have been occasionally spotted along Treasure Coast and along western coast of Florida

How can you tell a right whale from a shore?

Right whales can be recognized by callosities, white patches of roughened skin, on their heads

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to travel to Florida

Whale Watching

The population of endangered Northern right whales is recovering in Florida

Share

Last updated: by Olha Savych
reason default image
See all

A manatee is undoubtedly Florida's most famous sea mammal. However, you can see another gentle giant in Florida's waters: Northern right whale. After spending summer in New England and Nova Scotia, endangered right whales migrate to the warm Florida waters from December to March. About 150 right whales spend winter in the coastal waters of northern and central parts of the state. Many females arrive to Florida pregnant and give birth to calves in warm Atlantic ocean waters.

Best places for whale watching

You can see majestic right whales along the Northeastern Florida shoreline. The area between Jacksonville and Cape Canaveral is the premier whale-watching location in the Sunshine State. Many nature enthusiasts try spotting whales from the shore at 800-ft (243 m) Flagler Beach Pier, along A1A highway. People have also seen whales from St. Augustine's Beach Pier and from Daytona Beach Mainstreet Pier and especially the Sunglow Fishing Pier.

Whale-watching tours

Unfortunately, there are no organized whale watching tours in Florida since whale spotting is rather hard to predict. Also, mothers and calves might be stressed because of tourist boats. There have been cases when calves were killed as a result of a collision with boats. Vessels are required to stay 500 yards (457 m) away from whales. However, Florida residents and visitors see whales in the ocean all the time, so everyone might get lucky. Also, there's a chance to spot whales on a dolphin-watching cruise. Florida Water Tours organize 2-hour sea excursions in Matanzas Bay all year round. There have been numerous whale sightings near Matanzas Inlet.

Whale-watching season

February is the best month to spot whales in northeastern Florida. Their calving season also falls on late winter. January is another good month when whales are spotted frequently. Chances decrease in March. In April calves get stronger, and whales head back to New England and Canada, drawn by the Gulf Stream currents, so they move further away from the shore.

Northern right whales facts

Scientists estimate that the total number of Northern right whales is about 490. From 75 to 200 of them are regularly spotted off Florida's shore during winters. Adults are 35-60 feet long (10-18 m) and weigh 50-70 tons. The average weight of a newborn calf is 1,984 lb (900 kg) and length—5 m (16.4 ft). Right whales can be recognized by callosities, white patches of roughened skin on their heads. Northern right whales are very slow swimmers which helps to spot them. They are a joy to watch as they often breach, tail-slap, and lobtail. These whales reproduce very slowly as females are breeding just once in 3-5 years. Their lifespan is about 70 years.

Humpback whales facts

Humpback whales are also sometimes spotted in Florida waters. They are the most abundant whale species in the Atlantic and they are occasionally seen along Florida's Treasure Coast (around Port St. Lucie) and along the western coast of the Sunshine State. Humpbacks communicate through melodious calls that can be called "songs." These "songs" last up to 20 minutes. Being up to 55 ft (16 m) in length, humpbacks have flukes unique to each individual.

Whale-watching tips

Observing whales from the shore is rather tricky. Make sure to get powerful binoculars and a camera with a telephoto lens if you plan to take pictures. Keep an eye for whale spouts as well as birds and dolphins that sometimes can be seen around whales.

Where to stay

Jacksonville, St. Augustine, Daytona Beach and Flager Beach have many waterfront hotels with beautiful ocean views. Winter is also time for big discounts on accomodation. Check out some of the options below.

Practical info

When can you see whales in Florida?

Northern right whales migrate to the warm Florida waters from December to March

Are there humpback whales in Florida?

Humpbacks have been occasionally spotted along Treasure Coast and along western coast of Florida

How can you tell a right whale from a shore?

Right whales can be recognized by callosities, white patches of roughened skin, on their heads

Ask a question