Quand partir Californie

Super Bloom dans le désert d'Anza-Borrego

Ce phénomène inhabituel prouve que même les endroits secs et rudes comme les déserts sont en réalité vivants!

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Anza-Borrego Desert State Park dans le désert du Colorado est l'un des rares déserts au monde qui vivent la super floraison au début du printemps. Ce phénomène naturel se produit tous les deux ans après une quantité considérable de précipitations en automne ou en hiver. Pendant les mois secs, les graines de plantes comme le tournesol du désert, la primrose aux yeux bruns, le pincushion, la verbena du sable et le lis du désert restent dans le sol en attendant de prospérer quand elles obtiennent un peu d'eau. Quand ils le font, le désert se transforme en un immense champ plein de vie, recouvert de fleurs colorées en fleurs.

Meilleur moment pour les fleurs sauvages Anza-Borrego

Alors que les premières fleurs sauvages apparaissent déjà à travers le désert à la mi-février, le pic de floraison à Anza-Borrego tombe habituellement à la mi-mars, et se poursuit jusqu'en avril. En mars, les fleurs deviennent particulièrement luxuriantes et belles. Donc, si vous êtes à SoCal pendant ce temps très juste, visiter le désert est un must. Californie super floraison nécessite 73 miles (118 km) pour conduire à partir de San Diego, qui est d'environ 1,5 heures. Mais ils ne durent généralement que quelques semaines alors dépêchez-vous si vous voulez voir cette rare merveille naturelle. Notez que le désert en pleine floraison est une vue assez populaire donc vous ne pourriez pas être tout seul là-bas pendant votre visite.

Que faire à Anza-Borrego

Super floraison n'est pas la seule raison de visiter la région. Vous pouvez associer votre expérience de fleurs sauvages à plusieurs autres activités tout aussi fascinantes, dont certaines sont également saisonnières. En mars, la mère nature vous offre une autre chance unique de capturer la vue de Lady Papillon peint Migration. En outre, vous pouvez repérer les prétendus hummers du désert – Palm Springs et Palm Desert hôtes des colibris de Costa (Calypte costae) toute l'année. Un autre incontournable lors de votre visite est la randonnée à Borrego Springs Metal Sculptures, l'attraction désertique très californienne.

Où dormir à Anza-Borrego

Camping

Camping à Anza-Borrego Desert State Park est l'option la plus populaire si vous envisagez de passer la nuit. Il y a quatre terrains de camping développés et huit terrains de camping primitifs. Découvrez le terrain de camping Fish Creek, le terrain de camping Blair Valley ou le terrain de camping Culp Valley pour une vue magnifique et une expérience désertique parfaite.

Hôtels

Si vous n'êtes pas le type de camping, il y a des dizaines d'hôtels près de Anza-Borrego State Park. Les hébergements les plus proches se trouvent à Borrego Springs entouré par le désert. Cependant, vous pourriez vouloir enquêter sur des opportunités plus lointaines aussi bien. Trouvez la carte super fleur ci-dessous et prenez votre temps pour trouver le meilleur ajustement.

Infos pratiques

Where to see the super bloom?

One of the best places across the world is Colorado Desert, southern California.

Where to see California super bloom?

In Anza-Borrego Desert State Park

Where is Anza-Borrego State Park?

It's on the eastern side of San Diego County, within the Colorado Desert, southern California.

How do you get to Anza Borrego State Park?

It's set in around two-hour drive from San Diego, Riverside, and Palm Springs.You can get to the park via Highways S22 and 78.

How far is Anza Borrego from San Diego?

73 miles (118 km), around 1.5-hour drive

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Super Bloom dans le désert d'Anza-Borrego (carte)

Best time to travel to California

Super Bloom in Anza-Borrego Desert

This unusual phenomenon proves that even dry and harsh places like deserts are actually alive!

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all

Anza-Borrego Desert State Park in the Colorado Desert is one of the few deserts in the world that experience the super bloom in early spring. This natural phenomenon happens every couple of years after a considerable amount of precipitation in autumn or winter. During dry months, the seeds of plants like the desert sunflower, brown-eyed primrose, pincushion, sand verbena, and desert lily remain in the ground waiting to flourish when they get a little water. When they do, the desert turns into a huge field full of life, covered with colorful blooming flowers.

Best time for Anza-Borrego wildflowers

While the first wildflowers pop up across the desert already halfway through February, the peak blooming in Anza-Borrego usually falls in the middle of March, and continues through April. In March, the flowers become especially lush and beautiful. So if you happen to be in SoCal during this very right time, visiting the desert is a must. California super bloom requires 73 mi (118 km) to drive from San Diego, which is roughly 1.5 hours. But they usually last only for a few weeks so hurry up if you want to behold this rare natural wonder. Note that the blooming desert is quite a popular sight so you might not be all alone there during your visit.

What to do in Anza-Borrego

Super blooms are not the only reason to visit the area. You can pair your wildflower experience with several other equally fascinating activities, some of which are also seasonal. In March, mother nature grants you another unique chance of capturing the sight of Painted Lady Butterfly Migration. Also, you can spot the so-called desert hummers—Palm Springs and Palm Desert host Costa's hummingbirds (Calypte costae) all year round. Another must-do during your visit is hiking to Borrego Springs Metal Sculptures, the very Californian desert attraction.

Where to stay in Anza-Borrego

Camping

Camping at Anza-Borrego Desert State Park is the most popular option if you are planning to stay overnight. There are four developed and eight primitive campgrounds. Check out Fish Creek Campground, Blair Valley Campground, or Culp Valley campground for beautiful views and a perfect desert experience.

Hotels

If you're not the camping kind of person, there are dozens of hotels near Anza-Borrego State Park. The closest accommodations may be found in Borrego Springs surrounded by the desert. However, you might want to investigate more distant opportunities as well. Find the super bloom map below and take your time to find the best fit.

Practical info

Where to see the super bloom?

One of the best places across the world is Colorado Desert, southern California.

Where to see California super bloom?

In Anza-Borrego Desert State Park

Where is Anza-Borrego State Park?

It's on the eastern side of San Diego County, within the Colorado Desert, southern California.

How do you get to Anza Borrego State Park?

It's set in around two-hour drive from San Diego, Riverside, and Palm Springs.You can get to the park via Highways S22 and 78.

How far is Anza Borrego from San Diego?

73 miles (118 km), around 1.5-hour drive

Ask a question