Quand partir Londres

Ancienne salle d'opération

Le plus ancien théâtre d'opérations en Angleterre remonte à 1822

Partager

reason default image
Voir tout

Le Musée du Théâtre d'Opération Vieux, un musée d'histoire chirurgicale, situé dans le garret de l'église Saint-Thomas sur le site original de l'Hôpital Saint-Thomas. Il y a aussi un ancien apothécaire, connu sous le nom de Herb Garret.Le musée a été fondé par Richard Mead, un médecin de St. Thomas, connu pour traiter les maladies vénériennes avec de l'eau d'escargot

La salle d'opération dispose d'une collection d'instruments pour le cupping, le saignement et le trepanning, ou le perçage du crâne. Selon les données historiques, les interventions chirurgicales ont été effectuées sans anesthésie, de sorte que les patients étaient souvent éveillés à la table d'opération en regardant le chirurgien

En 1859, Florence Nightingale fonde une école d'infirmières à St. Thomas et a insisté sur le fait que l'hôpital a été déplacé sur un nouveau site. En 1862, l'hôpital a été déménagé à Lambeth, et le théâtre d'opérations a fermé. Le musée est ouvert le lundi de 14h00 à 17h00 et le mardi au dimanche de 10h30 à 17h00

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Ancienne salle d'opération (carte)

Best time to visit London

Old Operating Theatre

Britain's oldest surviving operating theatre​ dates back to 1822

Old Operating Theatre  in London 2020 - Best Time
Photo by

Andrew Stawarz

The Old Operating Theatre Museum, a museum of surgical history, located in the garret of St Thomas's Church on the original site of St Thomas' Hospital. There is also an old apothecary, known as the “Herb Garret.” The museum was founded by Richard Mead, a doctor of St. Thomas, who was known for treating venereal diseases with snail water.

Old Operating Theatre  in London - Best Season 2020

The operating theatre boasts a collection of instruments for cupping, bleeding, and trepanning, or skull-drilling. According to historical evidence, surgeries were conducted without anaesthetic, so the patients were often awake at the operating table looking at the surgeon.

Best time for Old Operating Theatre  in London 2020

In 1859, Florence Nightingale founded a nursing school at St. Thomas's and insisted that the hospital was moved to a new site. In 1862, the hospital was moved to Lambeth, and the operating theatre closed. The museum is open on Mondays from 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm and Tuesday to Sunday from 10:30 am to 5:00 pm.

Best time to see Old Operating Theatre  in London 2020
Best time for Old Operating Theatre  2020
Best time to see Old Operating Theatre  2020