Quand partir Islande

Piscine Seljavallalaug

L'une des plus anciennes piscines de l'Islande

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout
0

Créée pour apprendre à nager, cette piscine est devenue une oasis de tranquillité puisqu'elle est placée sur le côté d'une colline verdoyante, entourée de beaux paysages. Construit en 1923, Seljavallalaug est une piscine extérieure de 25 mètres dans le sud de l'Islande, situé non loin de Seljavellir. Il a été construit par Bjorn Andrésson Berjaneskoti, la plus grande piscine d'Islande jusqu'en 1936. La piscine est toujours ouverte et gratuite. Il est nettoyé une fois chaque été. Ainsi, les visiteurs qui ont des problèmes de sécurité ou de santé pourraient vouloir éviter de nager dans la piscine.

La piscine produit de l'eau d'une source chaude voisine qui aide à maintenir la température au chaud tout au long de l'année. Pendant les mois d'été, la température de l'eau est d'environ 30 °C, et elle se refroidit en hiver. Le sentier jusqu'à la piscine est très pittoresque et prend environ 20 minutes pour faire une randonnée. Vous passerez des champs de cendres de lave et de beaux ruisseaux traversant la vallée.

En 2010, Seljavallalaug a été rempli de cendres après l'éruption d'Eyjafjallajökull, à l'été 2011 il a été nettoyé et restauré par un groupe de volontaires. La piscine est ouverte toute l'année, l'hiver il pourrait être un peu froid. L'été offre une expérience 24 heures sur 24 grâce au soleil de minuit.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Piscine Seljavallalaug (carte)

Best time to visit Iceland

Seljavallalaug Swimming Pool

One of the oldest swimming pools in Iceland

Seljavallalaug Swimming Pool in Iceland 2019 - Best Time
Photo by

Anna & Michal

Created for locals to learn how to swim, this pool has become an oasis of tranquility ​as it is placed into the side of a green hill, surrounded by beautiful scenery. Built in 1923, Seljavallalaug is a 25-meter outdoor pool in southern Iceland, located not far from Seljavellir. It was constructed by Bjorn Andrésson Berjaneskoti— the largest pool in Iceland until 1936. The pool is always open and free of charge. It is cleaned once every summer. Thus, visitors who have safety or health concerns might want to avoid swimming in the pool.

Seljavallalaug Swimming Pool in Iceland - Best Season 2019

The pool sources water from a nearby hot spring that helps keep the temperature warm throughout the year. In the summer months, the water temperature is about 30 °C, and it cools down in the winter season. The trail to the pool is very picturesque and takes around 20 minutes to hike. You'll pass fields of lava ash and beautiful streams crossing the valley.

Best time for Seljavallalaug Swimming Pool in Iceland 2019
Lava sand 2019
Lava sand

In 2010, Seljavallalaug was filled with ash after the eruption of Eyjafjallajökull, in the summer of 2011 it was cleaned and restored by a group of volunteers. The pool is open year round, the winter it might be a little cold. Summer offers a 24-hour experience thanks to the midnight sun.

Iceland
Check best times to visit
Iceland