Quand partir Pologne

Château de Książ (Zamek Książ)

Un château gothique construit en 1288 est la plus grande attraction de Silésie

Partager

reason default image
Voir tout
0

Le château de Książ ou Zamek Książ est le plus grand et le plus célèbre château de la région de la Silésie. Il est situé au nord de Wałbrzych dans le voivodé inférieur silésien. Le château est entouré par le parc paysager Książ qui comprend les monts Waldenburg. Surplombant la gorge de la rivière Pełcznica, le château Książ ressemble à un conte de fées

Le château est ouvert au public toute l'année, mais le meilleur moment pour explorer les environs est d'avril à octobre. Les terrasses ne sont ouvertes que pendant les mois plus chauds d'avril à septembre.

L'histoire du château de Książ remonte au XIIIe siècle. Le roi bohème Ottokar II a détruit une ancienne forteresse à ce site en 1263, puis le duc silésien Bolko I le Strict a ordonné un nouveau château à y être construit en 1288-1292. Après l'achèvement du château, il y résida avec sa famille.

Les nazis ont confisqué le château de Książ pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et ont décidé de construire un ajout souterrain au château. Des dizaines de milliers de prisonniers, principalement juifs, ont été contraints de travailler sur l'immense structure avec des plafonds de 12 mètres. Le château faisait partie du projet Riese, l'une des plus grandes initiatives nazis secrètes pendant la guerre. Il devait devenir le quartier général personnel d'Adolf Hitler. Les chercheurs de trésors cherchent encore de l'or nazi qui aurait été caché autour du château.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Château de Książ (Zamek Książ) (carte)

Best time to visit Poland

Książ Castle (Zamek Książ)

A gothic castle built in 1288 is the biggest attraction in Silesia

Książ Castle (Zamek Książ) in Poland 2020 - Best Time
Photo by

Mariusz Cieszewski | Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Poland

The Książ Castle or Zamek Książ is the largest and most famous castle in the Silesia region. It is located north of Wałbrzych in Lower Silesian Voivodeship. The castle is surrounded by Książ Landscape Park which includes the Waldenburg Mountains. Overlooking the gorge of the Pełcznica river, the Książ Castle looks like it is straight out of a fairytale.

Książ Castle (Zamek Książ) in Poland - Best Season 2020
Best time for Książ Castle (Zamek Książ) in Poland 2020

The castle is open to the public year-round, but the best time to explore the surrounding area is from April to October. The terraces are open only during the warmer months from April to September.

Best time to see Książ Castle (Zamek Książ) in Poland 2020

Książ Castle history dates back to the 13th century. The Bohemian King Ottokar II destroyed an old fortress at this site in 1263, then the Silesian duke Bolko I the Strict ordered a new castle to be built there in 1288-1292. After the castle was complete, he took residence there with his family.

Best time for Książ Castle (Zamek Książ) 2020
Best time to see Książ Castle (Zamek Książ) 2020

The Nazis confiscated the Książ Castle during World War II and decided to build an underground addition to the castle. Tens of thousands of prisoners, mainly the Jewish, were forced to work on the huge structure with 12-meter ceilings. The castle was part of Project Riese, one of the largest top-secret Nazi initiatives during the war. It was supposed to become Adolf Hitler’s personal headquarters. Treasure seekers still look for Nazi gold that was supposedly hidden around the castle.

Best time to see Książ Castle (Zamek Książ) 2020
Best time to see Książ Castle (Zamek Książ) 2020