Quand partir à Nebraska

Old West Balloon Fest 2024

Une première célébration de ballonnage dans l'Ouest du Nebraska

Rendez-vous: 7-10 août 2024

Old West Balloon Fest
Old West Balloon Fest
Voir les hébergements à proximité

Old West Balloon Fest est un événement de ballonnage exceptionnel avec 80 ballons à air chaud et six jours de festivités familiales, dispersés dans plusieurs lieux de l'Ouest du Nebraska. Outre les divertissements polyvalents, le festival intègre le concours national des États-Unis dans plusieurs lieux non publics au début de la matinée. La rivalité attire des ballons de tout le pays. Toutes les activités ont lieu à la mi-août, ce qui fait une grande pause estivale.

La partie principale du programme est l'Ascension de masse à l'aérodrome de Mitchell. Près de 30 ballons d'air chaud montent dans le ciel, suivis d'un survol de 50 ballons de compétition supplémentaires. Aussi, la ville de Mitchell accueille la Foire de l'Artisanat le long de Center Street. Parmi les autres points saillants, mentionnons le Glow de nuit d'ouverture tenu au Western Nebraska Community College (WNCC) à Scottsbluff et le Glow de nuit de clôture au Five Rocks Amphitheater à Gering. Pour les dernières mises à jour et les horaires détaillés, visitez le site officiel (consultez Ressources externes ci-dessous).

Les premiers week-ends de ballonnage Old West remontent aux années 1980 et 90. Les événements ont eu lieu dans le comté de Scotts Bluff, mais dans d'autres endroits. En 2015, la célébration a déménagé sur le nouveau site de l'aérodrome Mitchell, assez vaste pour augmenter le nombre de ballons participant au festival. En 2018, Old West Balloon Fest a présenté le championnat de montgolfière à l'air chaud et, en 2019, la compétition nationale américaine s'est tenue ici pour la première fois.

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Old West Balloon Fest (carte)

Dernière mise à jour: par Olha Savych

Help Ukraine 🇺🇦 during the Russian invasion
Here are the best ways to support Ukraine through these challenging times. Read more
Best time to go to Nebraska

Old West Balloon Fest 2022

A premier ballooning celebration in Western Nebraska

Share

Last updated: by Olha Savych
reason default image
See all
See accommodations nearby

The Old West Balloon Fest is an outstanding ballooning event featuring 80 hot air balloons and six days of family-friendly festivities, scattered across several venues in Western Nebraska. Besides versatile entertainment, the festival incorporates US Nationals Competition running across several non-public locations in early mornings. The rivalry draws balloonists from all over the country. All activities are held in mid-August, making for a great summer break.

The main part of the program is the mass ascension at Mitchell Airfield. Nearly 30 hot air balloons ascend into the sky altogether, followed by a flyover of 50 more competition balloons. Also, the city of Mitchell hosts a craft fair along Center Street. Other highlights include the opening night glow held at Western Nebraska Community College (WNCC) in Scottsbluff and the closing night glow at the Five Rocks Amphitheater in Gering. For the latest updates and detailed schedules, visit the official website (go to External Resources below).

The first Old West ballooning weekends date back to the 1980s and 90s. The events were held within Scotts Bluff County but across some other locations. In 2015, the celebration moved to the new site at Mitchell Airfield, vast enough to increase the number of balloons participating in the festival. In 2018, Old West Balloon Fest bid to host the hot air ballooning championship, and in 2019 US Nationals Competition was held here for the first time.

Find hotels and airbnbs near Old West Balloon Fest (Map)