Beste Reisezeit Myanmar

Ballonfestival in Taunggyi 2020

Dieses malerische Bergtal begrüßt Fans einer ungewöhnlichen Kunst – die Herstellung und Einführung von unbemannten Ballons

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Die Hauptstadt des Shan-Staates ist ein wenig entfernt von den beliebten touristischen Destinationen von Myanmar. Doch nahe dem Ende der buddhistischen Fastenzeit im November zieht die Bergstadt Dutzende von Teams aus dem ganzen Land an, die kommen, um Ballons zu starten. Ein spannender Wettbewerb findet in einem speziell dafür vorgesehenen Bereich im Zentrum von Taunggyi statt. Das Festival, das jährlich mehr als 20.000 Zuschauer anzieht, markiert das Ende der Regenzeit

Indem das birmanische Volk Tausende von Ballons startet, abwehrt es böse Geister ab – es ist eine Mischung aus buddhistischen und hinduistischen Traditionen. Die Ballons sind nichts weiter als vergrößerte Kopien der chinesischen Himmelslaternen. Diese zerbrechlichen Papierstrukturen haben die Form von Tieren, Vögeln und mythologischen Charakteren, die durch den Brenner in ihrem unteren Teil angetrieben werden. Die ersten drei Tage des Wettbewerbs finden nur am Tag statt, und die Teilnehmer sind meist Familien mit Kindern. Am letzten Tag, nach Sonnenuntergang, geht eine Fackelprozession zum Festfeld durch die zentralen Straßen von Taunggyi. -

Der Höhepunkt des Festivals ist der Start von riesigen Ballons mit Mustern von brennenden Kerzen verziert. Das Finale folgt dem Feuerwerk. Das Balloon Festival in Taunggyi ist ein buntes und spannendes Spektakel, das es einem ermöglicht, in die Kultur Myanmars einzutauchen und seine Traditionen und Geschichte kennenzulernen.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Ballonfestival in Taunggyi (Karte)

Best time to go to Myanmar

Balloon Festival in Taunggyi 2018

This picturesque mountain valley welcomes fans of an unusual art—the manufacture and launch of unmanned balloons

Balloon Festival in Taunggyi in Myanmar - Best Time
Photo by

© Marc Girard

The capital of the Shan State is a little away from the popular tourist destinations of Myanmar. However, close to the end of the Buddhist Lent in November the mountain city attracts dozens of teams from all over the country who come to launch balloons. An exciting competition takes place at a specially designated area in the centre of Taunggyi. The festival, that annually attracts more than 20,000 spectators, marks the end of the rainy season.

Balloon Festival in Taunggyi in Myanmar - Best Season

By launching thousands of balloons the Burmese people ward off evil spirits—it's a mix of Buddhist and Hindu traditions. The balloons are nothing more than enlarged copies of Chinese sky lanterns. These fragile paper structures have the form of animals, birds, and mythological characters propelled by the burner in their lower part. The first three days of the competition take place only in the daytime, and the participants are mostly families with children. On the last day, after sunset a torchlight procession goes to the festival field through the central streets of Taunggyi.

Best time for Balloon Festival in Taunggyi in Myanmar
Best time to see Balloon Festival in Taunggyi in Myanmar

The culmination of the festival is the launch of giant balloons decorated with patterns of burning candles. The finals are followed by fireworks. The Balloon Festival in Taunggyi is a colourful and exciting spectacle that allows one to immerse in the culture of Myanmar and get acquainted with its traditions and history.

Best time for Balloon Festival in Taunggyi

Balloon Festival in Taunggyi Map & Location

Myanmar
Check best times to visit
Myanmar