Beste Reisezeit New York

German-American Steuben Parade 2023

Eine der größten deutschen Paraden in den Vereinigten Staaten

Termine: 16. September 2023

German-American Steuben Parade
German-American Steuben Parade
German-American Steuben Parade
German-American Steuben Parade
German-American Steuben Parade
German-American Steuben Parade

Die Deutsch-Amerikanische Steuben Parade ist eine der führenden NYC Paraden, die am dritten Samstag im September stattfindet. Die Parade mit ihren Tausenden von Teilnehmern wird von Hunderttausenden von Zuschauern entlang der Fifth Avenue von 65th St bis 86th St in Manhattan beobachtet

Die deutsch-amerikanische Steuben Parade wurde 1957 von deutschen Einwanderern gegründet, die ihre Traditionen am Leben erhalten und die deutsche Kultur im Big Apple präsentieren wollten. Die Parade wurde nach Friedrich Wilhelm von Steuben benannt, einem General, der im Amerikanischen Revolutionskrieg entlang George Washington kämpfte. Er half auch, die amerikanischen Truppen zu trainieren, um gegen die Briten zu gewinnen. Cornflower oder Kornblume ist eines der Symbole der Parade, die jedes Jahr unter dem Publikum verteilt wird und auf den Parade Souvenirs erscheint.

Die Deutsch-Amerikanische Steuben-Parade zeigt Schwimmer aus deutschen Clubs in Queens, die Kadetten des German Language Club der Militärakademie von West Point und deutsche Gruppen mit ihren traditionellen Kostümen, marschierenden Bands, Tänzern und Organisationen aus Deutschland, der Schweiz, Österreich und Kanada

Das wichtigste Highlight der Feier ist Miss German-America-Auftritt, der die Parade die Fifth Avenue hinunter führt. Die Schönheitskönigin soll nach ihrer Krönung im Mai Deutschland besuchen. Am Tag der Parade erscheint sie bei einer Messe in St. Die Patrick-Kathedrale, gefolgt von einer Fahrt auf der Fifth Avenue auf einem dekorierten Float. Die Prozession wird auch von einem Großmarschall geleitet, der für einen Beitrag zur deutsch-amerikanischen Gemeinschaft ausgewählt wird.

Einer der besten Plätze, um für die Marchers jubeln ist der Grand Stand an der Fifth Avenue und E 78th Street. Die Grand Stand Tickets kosten $15 plus zusätzliche Gebühren.

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von German-American Steuben Parade (Karte)

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Olha Savych

Best time to go to New York

German-American Steuben Parade 2020

One of the largest German parades in the United States

German-American Steuben Parade in New York 2020 - Best Time
Photo by

© Dave Bledsoe, FreeVerse Photography

The German-American Steuben Parade is one of the premier NYC parades that is held on the third Saturday in September. The Parade with its thousands of participants is observed by hundreds of thousands of viewers along Fifth Avenue from 65th St to 86th St in Manhattan.

Сolorful characters at the Steuben Parade in NYC 2020
Сolorful characters at the Steuben Parade in NYC

The German-American Steuben Parade was founded in 1957 by German immigrants who wanted to keep their traditions alive and showcase German culture in the Big Apple. The parade was named after Friedrich Wilhelm von Steuben, a general who fought along George Washington in the American Revolutionary War. He also helped train the American troops to win against the British. Cornflower or Kornblume is one of the symbols of the Parade distributed every year among the audience and appearing on the Parade Souvenirs.

German-American Steuben Parade in New York - Best Season 2020

The German-American Steuben Parade features floats from German clubs in Queens, the cadets of German Language Club of the Military Academy of West Point, and German groups wearing their traditional costumes, marching bands, dancers, and organizations from Germany, Switzerland, Austria, and Canada.

Guitar player at the Steuben Parade in NYC 2020
Guitar player at the Steuben Parade in NYC
Herr und Frau at the German-American Steuben Parade 2020
Herr und Frau at the German-American Steuben Parade

The main highlight of the celebration is Miss German-America appearance, who is leading the Parade down Fifth Avenue. The beauty queen is supposed to visit Germany after her coronation in May. On the Parade Day, she appears at a mass at St. Patrick’s Cathedral followed by a ride up Fifth Avenue on a decorated float. The procession is also led by a Grand Marshal, who is chosen for contribution to the German-American community.

Das Bier at the German-American Steuben Parade 2020
Das Bier at the German-American Steuben Parade

One of the best spots to cheer for the marchers is the Grand Stand at Fifth Avenue and E 78th Street. The Grand Stand tickets cost $15 plus extra fees.