Quand partir Hawaï

Observation des baleines

Un spectacle spectaculaire et émouvant de baleines avec leurs veaux en crête et en brèche autour de votre bateau

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout
0
Voir les hébergements à proximité

Entre huit et dix mille baleines à bosse parcourent chaque année de longues distances du Nord pour passer de janvier à mars dans les eaux hawaïennes. La saison d'observation des baleines d'Hawaii offre l'occasion d'observer ces magnifiques créatures dans leur habitat naturel, près des îles où elles se reproduisent, accouchent et élèvent leurs jeunes veaux en toute sécurité. Ces mammifères marins ludiques peuvent être observés près de Big Island (Hawaii Island), Oahu, Maui, Kauai. et des îles Niihau. La plus grande concentration de baleines est habituellement repérée au Sanctuaire marin national de la baleine humpback des îles Hawaii qui couvre la région de Maui Nui (entre Maui, Lanai, Molokai et Kahoolawe). Cependant, il y a plus de deux douzaines de mammifères marins qui peuvent être vus près des îles tout au long de l'année, y compris des épaulards pygmées rares ou des baleines-pilotes à nageoires courtes.

Observation des baleines sur Big Island

La côte nord-ouest de Kohala est souvent appelée la meilleure région d'Hawaii pour l'observation des baleines. Les baleines sont aussi abondantes le long de la côte ouest de Big Island connue sous le nom de côte Kona ou côté Kailua-Kona. De nombreuses excursions d'observation des baleines partent de Kona et offrent diverses expériences et types de bateaux, allant des zodiaques aux radeaux, aux catamarans à voile et aux croiseurs en cabine. Il y a aussi de fortes chances de repérer les baleines de la côte, en particulier le long de la côte nord de Kona, de la côte de Hilo et de la côte nord de Kohala. Le parc de la plage de Kapa-a, le lieu historique national Puukohola Heiau et le parc historique de l'État de Lapakahi comptent parmi les endroits les plus populaires pour repérer les baleines.

Tours d'observation des baleines de Big Island

Si vous préférez aller observer les baleines sur un bateau plus petit, Kona Snorkel Tours propose une excursion de 2-4 heures sur un bateau Zodiac qui combine l'observation des baleines et la plongée en snorkeling. Les bateaux qui prennent 6-14 passagers partent du port d'Honokohau. Une autre option est de prendre une croisière sur un plus grand bateau à deux pattes. Les circuits du Body Glove durent 2,5 heures et partent de Kailua Kona tous les jours de décembre à avril à 13h. Les billets pour l'observation des baleines sur Big Island sont quelque peu coûteux, variant entre 77 $ sur un navire plus grand et 120 $ sur un navire plus petit.

Observation des baleines sur Oahu

Sur Oahu, les baleines à bosse peuvent être repérées dès le début du mois de mai. Certains voyagistes combinent l'observation des baleines et le snorkeling avec les dauphins et les tortues. Vous pouvez également repérer des baleines de la côte sud-est d'Oahu, en particulier de la baie Hanauma. Les endroits les plus populaires incluent le phare de Makapuu et Diamond Head.

Visites d'observation des baleines d'Oahu

De nombreux bateaux d'observation des baleines partent d'Honolulu et de Waikiki. En particulier, les croisières Star of Honolulu Whale Watch offrent 149 catamarans passagers, les plus grands bateaux de ce genre à Hawaï. Les tours partent de Honolulu et Ala Wai Boat Harbor à Waikiki quatre fois par semaine. Ce sont des excursions abordables qui coûtent 42 $ pour un adulte ou 26 $ pour un enfant. En outre, il y a une garantie de baleine. Cela veut dire que si vous ne voyez pas une baleine, vous recevrez un contrôle de la baleine pour la croisière à nouveau.

Observation des baleines sur Maui

Maui est sans doute la meilleure destination d'observation des baleines d'Hawaii en raison du fait que plus de la moitié des bosses de Hawaii migrent vers le bassin de Maui Nui. Les mammifères marins se reproduisent dans ces eaux protégées de novembre à mai. Vous pouvez les observer de loin pendant les visites d'observation des baleines qui partent régulièrement du port de Lahaina. Il est également possible de repérer les mammifères marins de la rive de Lahaina et Kaanapali.

Tours d'observation des baleines de Maui

Zodiac Tours et radeaux sont peut-être les options les plus populaires pour l'observation des baleines sur Maui. Ultimate Whale Watch exploite de petits bateaux hydrophones pour que vous puissiez entendre des chansons de baleine. Et si vous ne voyez pas de baleines le jour de votre aventure, vous aurez la chance de faire un autre voyage sans frais supplémentaires. Une autre excellente option est l'observation des baleines sur un catamaran à voile. Vous pouvez essayer une visite guidée à partir de Whalewatch Naviguez sur un bateau de taille moyenne qui prend environ 60 personnes. Enfin, Maui est l'un des rares endroits sur la planète où l'on peut profiter du kayak avec des baleines. Avec Adventure Tours Hawaii, vous pouvez passer quelques heures en kayak par Makena Beach et profiter de l'observation des baleines suivie par la plongée en snorkeling sur un récif corallien. Pendant la tournée, un instructeur emmène des kayakistes jusqu'au chenal où les baleines à bosse peuvent être vues de près.

Observation des baleines sur Kauai

Kauai est une autre grande destination d'observation des baleines. Pendant les mois d'hiver, il est possible de repérer des bosses des rives nord et ouest. Les endroits les plus populaires sont le phare de Kilauea, le Kapaa Overlook entre Kapaa Town et Kealia Beach, Poipu Beach, ShipwreckÕs Beach, Makahuena Point et Napali Coastňs Kalalau Trail.

Visites d'observation des baleines Kauai

Kauai offre de nombreuses options de montre de baleine, des bateaux Zodiac aux voiliers et chartes privées. Certaines des excursions les plus populaires incluent Na Pali Catamaran avec deux excursions de 4 heures au départ de Hanalei Bay quotidiennement. Kauai Sea Rider propose des aventures Zodiac watch de 2 heures sur des bateaux hydrophones accompagnés d'un biologiste marin.

Conseils d'observation des baleines

Les baleines sont repérées les meilleures quand le temps est clair et la mer est calme. Les tours du matin profitent généralement de moins de vagues et de temps plus calme. En outre, essayez d'obtenir un siège sur l'avant pour une meilleure visibilité. Si vous êtes sujet à la maladie des mouvements, il est préférable d'opter pour un bateau plus grand qui est plus stable sur l'eau. Les petits bateaux, comme les zodiaques et les radeaux, ne sont pas non plus recommandés pour les petits enfants et les femmes enceintes.

Qu'est-ce qu'il faut apporter

Apportez vos jumelles et une caméra avec un téléobjectif pour augmenter vos chances de voir et de capturer des mammifères marins. Aussi, n'oubliez pas les piles supplémentaires. Gardez à l'esprit qu'il y aura beaucoup d'éclaboussures autour de vous alors assurez-vous de prendre une manche imperméable ou juste un sac zip pour votre téléphone et matériel photo, surtout si vous voyagez sur un petit bateau ou un kayak. Il n'y a pas besoin d'emballer beaucoup de collations car beaucoup de grands catamarans et voiliers offrent de la nourriture et des boissons à bord. Même les petits bateaux Zodiac ont un approvisionnement en eau de base pour la visite.

Qu'est-ce qu'il faut porter

Même quand le temps est chaud, les températures dans l'océan peuvent être beaucoup plus fraîches alors apportez un brise-vent ou au moins un pull. Il est préférable de porter des pantalons longs et des chaussures fermées sur le caoutchouc, pas des semelles glissantes. En outre, n'oubliez pas les lumières UV nocives et apportez un écran solaire, un chapeau solaire et des lunettes de soleil pour vous protéger du soleil sur votre aventure maritime.

Où séjourner

En hiver, vous avez de grandes chances de repérer des baleines même depuis le balcon de votre hôtel. Choisissez un hôtel le long des zones fréquemment visitées parmi les bosses, comme le sud ou l'ouest de Maui ou la côte de Kohala sur la grande île. Consultez notre carte pour voir les options d'hébergement. Les meilleurs mois pour repérer les baleines de la côte sont janvier, février et mars. Vous aurez besoin de jumelles et beaucoup de patience.

Saison d'observation des baleines à Hawaii

Les baleines commencent à arriver à Hawaii à la mi-novembre et partent pour l'Alaska au début du mois de mai. Cependant, leurs pics sont habituellement repérés en janvier, février et mars. Si vous allez observer des baleines entre la mi-novembre et décembre, vous pouvez repérer des baleines mères avec leurs jeunes qui arrivent d'abord à Hawaii. Les baleines juvéniles apparaissent aussi au début de la saison. Les mois d'hiver c'est quand vous pouvez repérer beaucoup de bossettes adultes et femelles enceintes. Pendant leur séjour à Hawaii, les baleines sont occupées par leurs activités d'élevage, qui comprennent le courtage, la compétition pour les conjoints, l'accouplement, le veau nouveau-né et l'allaitement. Février est le meilleur moment pour repérer les baleines à bosse depuis le rivage et dans la mer. De plus, c'est l'époque du Festival annuel des baleines Maui, qui comprend un compte de baleines, des projections de films, des expositions éducatives, des séminaires et bien plus encore.

Faits sur les baleines à bosse

Les comportements gracieux et intelligents des baleines à bosse du Pacifique Nord sont vraiment fascinants. La cinquième plus grande espèce de baleine de la Terre atteint 18 mètres de longueur et pèse jusqu'à 40 tonnes. Comme les humains, les baleines à bosse ont deux poumons, chacun est de la taille d'une petite voiture. Les baleines dorment avec un seul côté de leur cerveau reposant et un œil fermé. Les baleines à bosse sont uniques car elles sont les seules espèces de baleines qui peuvent chanter. Vous pouvez l'entendre le mieux sur un bateau hydrophone, équipé d'un microphone sous-marin. Parfois, les gens peuvent entendre des chansons de baleine lointaines, même en faisant de la plongée. Il est intéressant de noter que les coups de bosse sont uniques à chaque individu, ce qui facilite leur identification. Les plus grandes concentrations de bosse se trouvent autour de Maui, Lanai et Molokai.

L'archipel d'Hawaii appartient à juste titre à la destination des baleines à bosse supérieure dans le monde en raison de l'abondance des cétacés, de l'eau cristalline et de la variété des façons de rencontrer les baleines. C'est l'un des rares endroits où vous pouvez voir des baleines en kayak ou en pataugeoire, alors assurez-vous d'inclure cette expérience magnifique dans vos plans de vacances.

Infos pratiques

Which Hawaiian island is the best for whale watching?

Whales are most abundant near Maui, Lanai, and Molokai.There are also many of them near Oahu, Big Island and Kauai

When is whale watching season in Hawaii?

Whales watching tours run from mid-November to early May. However, peak whale numbers are spotted during January, February, and March

How much is whale watching in Hawaii?

Prices range between $35 and $120 depending on a type of boat and services provided

Poser une question

Best time to travel to Hawaii

Whale Watching

A spectacular and moving show of whales with their calves cresting and breaching around your boat​​

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
See accommodations nearby

Between eight and ten thousand humpback whales travel long distances each year from the North to spend January through March in Hawaiian waters. Hawaii whale watching season brings an opportunity to observe these magnificent creatures in their natural habitat, near the islands where they breed, give birth, and raise their young calves in safety. These playful sea mammals can be observed near Big Island (Hawaii Island), Oahu, Maui, Kauai. and Niihau islands. The largest concentration of whales is usually spotted at Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary that covers the Maui Nui region (between Maui, Lanai, Molokai, and Kahoolawe). Humpback whales are spotted in Hawaii the most often, however, there are over two dozens sea mammals that can be seen near the islands all year round, including rare pygmy killer whales or short-finned pilot whales.

Whale watching on Big Island

The north-west Kohala Coast is often called the best area of Hawaii for whale watching. Whales are also abundant along the western coast of Big Island known as Kona Coast or Kailua-Kona side. Plenty of whale-watching tours leave out of Kona offering various experiences and boat types, ranging from zodiacs to rafts, sailing catamarans, and cabin cruisers. There is also a solid chance to spot whales from the shore, especially along North Kona, Hilo coast, and North Kohala. Kapa’a Beach Park, Puukohola Heiau National Historic Site, and Lapakahi State Historical Park are among the most popular whale-spotting locations.

Big Island whale-watching tours

If you prefer to go whale watching on a smaller boat, Kona Snorkel Tours offers a 2-4-hour excursion on a Zodiac boat that combines whale watching and snorkeling. The boats that take 6-14 passengers depart from Honokohau Harbor. Another option is to take a cruise on a larger two-decked boat. Body Glove tours last for 2.5 hours and depart out of Kailua Kona every day from December through April at 1 pm. Food and drinks are served on board. Tickets for whale watching on Big Island are somewhat pricey, varying between $77 on a larger vessel and $120 on a smaller one.

Whale watching on Oahu

On Oahu, humpback whales can be spotted as late as early May. Some tour operators combine whale watching and snorkeling with dolphins and turtles. You can also spot whales from the southeastern Oahu coast, in particular, from Hanauma Bay. The most popular spots include Makapuu Lighthouse and Diamond Head.

Oahu whale-watching tours

Many whale watch boats depart from Honolulu and Waikiki. In particular, Star of Honolulu Whale Watch cruises offer 149-passenger catamarans, the largest such boats in Hawaii. Tours depart from Honolulu and Ala Wai Boat Harbor in Waikiki four times per week. These are affordable excursions that cost $42 for an adult or $26 for a child. Additionally, there is a whale guarantee. It means that if you don't see a whale, you'll receive a “Whale Check” to cruise again.

Whale watching on Maui

Maui is arguably the best whale-watching destination in Hawaii due to the fact that more than half of the Hawaii humpbacks migrate to the Maui Nui Basin. Sea mammals are breeding in these protected waters from November through May. You can watch them from a distance during whale-watching tours departing regularly from Lahaina Harbor. It's also possible to spot sea mammals from the shore in Lahaina and Kaanapali.

Maui whale-watching tours

Zodiac Tours and rafts are perhaps the most popular options for whale watching on Maui. Ultimate Whale Watch runs small hydrophone boats so that you can hear whale songs. And if you don't see any whales on the day of your adventure, you'll get a chance to take another trip without extra cost. Another great option is whale watching on a sailing catamaran. You can try a guided tour from Whalewatch Sail on a medium-sized vessel that takes about 60 people. At last, Maui is one of the few places on the planet where one can enjoy kayaking with whales. With Adventure Tours Hawaii, you can spend a few hours kayaking by Makena Beach and enjoy whale watching followed by snorkeling over a coral reef. During the tour, an instructor takes kayakers to the channel where humpback whales can be seen up close.

Whale watching on Kauai

Kauai is another great whale-watching destination. During the winter months, it's possible to spot humpbacks from the northern and western shores. The most popular spots include Kilauea Lighthouse, the Kapaa Overlook between Kapaa Town and Kealia Beach, Poipu Beach, Shipwreck’s Beach, Makahuena Point, and Napali Coast’s Kalalau Trail.

Kauai whale-watching tours

Kauai offers many whale watch options, from Zodiac boats to sail boats and private charters. Some of the most popular tours include Na Pali Catamaran with two 4-hour excursions departing from Hanalei Bay daily. Kauai Sea Rider offers a 2-hour Zodiac whale watch adventures on hydrophone boats accompanied by a marine biologist.

Whale-watching tips

Whales are spotted the best when the weather is clear and the sea is calm. Morning tours usually enjoy fewer waves and calmer weather. Also, try to get a seat on the bow for better visibility. If you are prone to motion sickness, it's better to opt for a larger boat that is more stable on the water. Small boats, like Zodiacs and rafts, are also not recommended for small children and pregnant women.

What to bring

Bring your binoculars and a camera with a telephoto lens to increase your chances to see and capture sea mammals. Also, don't forget extra batteries. Keep in mind that there will be lots of splashes around you so make sure to take a waterproof sleeve or just a zip bag for your phone and photo gear, especially if you are traveling on a small boat or a kayak. There is no need to pack many snacks since many large catamarans and sailboats offer food and beverages onboard. Even smaller Zodiac boats have a basic supply of water for the tour.

What to wear

Even when the weather in hot, temperatures in the ocean can be way cooler so bring a windbreaker or at least a sweater. It's best to wear long pants and closed-toed shoes on rubber, not slippery soles. Also, don't forget about harmful UV lights and bring some sunscreen, a sunhat, and sunglasses to protect you from the sun on your sea adventure.

Where to stay

During winter, you have a high chance of spotting whales even from your hotel's balcony. Choose a hotel along the areas frequently visited from humpbacks, like South or West Maui or the Kohala Coast on the Big Island. Check our map to see accomodations options. The best months to spot whales from the shore are January, February, and March. You will need binoculars and lots of patience.

Whale-watching season in Hawaii

Whales start to arrive in Hawaii in mid-November and leave for Alaska by early May. However, their peak numbers are usually spotted during January, February, and March. If you go whale watching between mid-November and December, you can spot mother whales with their youngsters who arrive in Hawaii first. Juvenile whales also show up early in the season. The winter months is when you can spot many adult humpbacks and pregnant females. During their stay in Hawaii, whales are busy with their breeding activities, which includes courtship, competing for mates, mating, calving, and nursing newborn calves. February is the best time to spot humpback whales both from the shore and in the sea. Additionally, this is the time of the annual Maui Whale Festival featuring a whale count, movie screenings, educational exhibits, seminars and much more.

Humpback whale facts

Graceful and intelligent behavior patterns of North Pacific Humpback Whales are truly fascinating. The fifth largest whale species on Earth reach 60 feet (18 m) in length and weigh up to 40 tons. Like humans, humpback whales have two lungs, each one is the size of a small car. Whales sleep with just one side of their brain resting and one eye closed. Humpback whales are unique as they are the only whale species that can sing. You can hear it best on a hydrophone boat, equipped with an underwater microphone. Sometimes people can hear distant whale songs even while snorkeling. Interestingly, humpbacks' flukes are unique to each individual which makes it easier to identify them. The largest concentrations of humpbacks are found around Maui, Lanai, and Molokai.

Hawaii archipelago rightfully belongs to the top humpback whales destination in the world due to the abundance of cetaceans, crystal clear water and the variety of ways to encounter whales. It's one of the few places where you can see whales while kayaking or paddling so make sure you include this magnificent experience in your vacation plans.

Practical info

Which Hawaiian island is the best for whale watching?

Whales are most abundant near Maui, Lanai, and Molokai.There are also many of them near Oahu, Big Island and Kauai

When is whale watching season in Hawaii?

Whales watching tours run from mid-November to early May. However, peak whale numbers are spotted during January, February, and March

How much is whale watching in Hawaii?

Prices range between $35 and $120 depending on a type of boat and services provided

Ask a question