Beste Reisezeit Kalifornien

See-Elefanten

Diese Robben mit Elefanten Nasen durchstreifen das Meer auf der Suche nach Nahrung, und gehen an Land, um zu züchten und moll

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Dieses Meereswesen erhielt seinen seltsamen Namen aufgrund der Nasenform des Männchens, die einem geclippten Elefantenstamm ähnelt. Sie alle verbringen wenig Zeit an Land und ernähren sich hauptsächlich in den ozeanischen Gewässern. Die Robben kommen nur während der Brutzeit ans Land, die von Dezember bis März dauert.

Ein weiterer Grund zum Austrocknen ist die schmelzende Jahreszeit, die zwischen April und Mai gipfelt. Die besten Aussichtspunkte für Robben sind Südkalifornien und Mexiko, wo bis zu 150.000 Elefantenrobben pro Saison stattfinden.

Während der Paarungszeit kämpfen die Stiere um das Recht, ein Meister des Strandes zu sein, so dass Sie einige männliche Elefantenrobbenkämpfe miterleben können.

Der Año Nuevo State Park ist der zugänglichste Ort, um die Nördlichen Elefantenrobben zu sehen. Geführte Touren erlauben den Besuchern einen Einblick in diese riesigen wilden Tiere in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum während der Paarungszeit von Mitte Dezember bis März.

Sie können auch die Elefantenrobben in einem Rookery in der Nähe von Piedras Blancas Light Station in San Simeon sehen. Über 7.000 Personen leben dort. Die männlichen Elefantenrobben können bis zu 4 Meter lang werden und wiegen etwa 2.300 kg. Die Robben haben einen vorhersagbaren Zeitplan für die Zucht, das Schmelzen und die Geburt. Sie verlassen die Rookery im März, kehren aber zwischen April und August zu moll zurück. November bringt reife Männchen zurück, die miteinander kämpfen, um die Dominanz für die Brutzeit zu erreichen. Nach einzigartigen Paarungsritualen, jedes Jahr im Winter, zwischen Mitte Dezember und Mitte Februar, werden Tausende von Welpen geboren.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von See-Elefanten (Karte)

Best time to travel to California

Elephant Seals

These seals with elephant noses roam the ocean searching for food, and go ashore to breed and molt

Elephant Seals in California - Best Time
Photo by

© letsridebikes.ca

This marine creature received its strange name due to the male's nose shape that resembles a clipped elephant trunk. All of them spend little time ashore, mainly feeding in the oceanic waters. The seals come to the land only during breeding season, which runs from December to March.

Elephant Seals in California - Best Season

Another reason to dry up is the molting season which peaks between April and May. The best viewing spots for seals are southern California and Mexico, hosting up to 150,000 elephant seals each season.

Crowded beach
Crowded beach

During the mating season, the bulls fight over the right to be a master of the beach, so you might witness some male elephant seal fights.

What a romantic elephant seal!
What a romantic elephant seal!
Elephant Seals Having a Discussion
Elephant Seals Having a Discussion

Año Nuevo State Park is the most accessible spot to see Northern Elephant Seals. Guided tours allow visitors a glimpse of these enormous wild animals in their natural habitat during the mating season from mid-December through March.

Male elephant seal wouldn't let a female go out to feed without mating with him. Año Nuevo State Park
Male elephant seal wouldn't let a female go out to feed without mating with him. Año Nuevo State Park
Best time for Elephant Seals in California
Male elephant seals practicing dominance displays in preparation for mating season in winter: Año Nuevo State Park
Male elephant seals practicing dominance displays in preparation for mating season in winter: Año Nuevo State Park

You can also see the elephant seals at a rookery near Piedras Blancas Light Station in San Simeon. Over 7,000 individuals live there. The male elephant seals can grow to 4 metres in length, and weigh around 2,300 kg. Seals have a predictable schedule of breeding, molting, and birthing. They leave the rookery in March, but return between April to August to molt. November brings back mature males, who fight with each other to achieve the dominance for the breeding season. After unique mating rituals, each year in winter, between mid-December and mid-February, thousands of pups are born.

Best time to see Elephant Seals in California

Map & Location