Quand partir à Myanmar

Festival de la pagode de Phaung Daw Oo 2020

L'un des festivals les plus célèbres de l'État Shan est le festival de pagode Phaung Daw Oo, qui est célébré pendant 18 jours

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout
0

Ce pittoresque festival traditionnel se tient sur le lac Inle pendant le mois birman de Thadingyut, le 7e mois du calendrier lunaire birman (octobre/novembre). La fête commence par une procession solennelle, lorsque quatre des cinq images du Bouddha sont retirées de leur sanctuaire dans la pagode Phaung Daw Oo et placées sur la barge royale Karaweik

La barge est remorquée par de longs bateaux habités par jusqu'à une centaine de rameurs de jambes en costumes colorés. La barge royale s'arrête dans 14 villages autour du lac Inle, où les images restent dans le monastère principal pour une nuit.

Enfin, les images arrivent dans la ville principale de Nyaung Shwe, où la plupart des pèlerins de près et de loin sur des centaines de bateaux flottants viennent rendre hommage et vénération. Un autre point fort intéressant du festival est la longue course en bateau, où les participants rangent avec un rame attaché à une jambe.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Festival de la pagode de Phaung Daw Oo (carte)

Best time to go to Myanmar

Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival 2019

One of the most famous festivals in the Shan State is the Phaung Daw Oo pagoda festival, which is celebrated for 18 days

Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival in Myanmar - Best Time
Photo by

© Bertrand Linet

This picturesque traditional festival is held on Inle Lake during the Burmese month of Thadingyut, the 7th month of the Burmese lunar calendar (October/November). The festival starts with a solemn procession, when four of the five images of the Buddha are removed from their shrine in the Phaung Daw Oo pagoda and placed on the Royal Karaweik barge.

Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival in Myanmar - Best Season

The barge is towed by long boats manned by up to a hundred leg rowers in colorful costumes. The Royal barge stops at 14 villages around Inle lake, where the images stay in the main monastery for one night.

Best time for Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival in Myanmar

Finally, the images arrive in the main town of Nyaung Shwe, where most pilgrims from near and far on hundreds of floating boats come to pay their respects and veneration. One more interesting highlight of the festival is the long boat race, where the participants row with an oar attached to one leg.

Myanmar
Check best times to visit
Myanmar