Beste Reisezeit Myanmar

Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival 2020

Eines der bekanntesten Festivals im Shan-Staat ist das Phaung Daw Oo Pagode-Festival, das 18 Tage lang gefeiert wird.

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Dieses pittoreske traditionelle Festival findet auf dem Inle See während des burmesischen Monats Thadingyut statt, dem 7. Monat des burmesischen Mondkalenders (Oktober/November). Das Fest beginnt mit einer feierlichen Prozession, wenn vier der fünf Bilder des Buddha aus ihrem Schrein in der Phaung Daw Oo Pagode entfernt und auf dem königlichen Karaweik Barge platziert werden.

Die Barge wird von langen Booten geschleppt, die von bis zu hundert Fuß Ruderern in bunten Kostümen bemannt werden. Die königliche Barge hält in 14 Dörfern rund um den Inle See, wo die Bilder bleiben im Hauptkloster für eine Nacht.

Schließlich kommen die Bilder in der Hauptstadt Nyaung Shwe, wo die meisten Pilger aus nah und fern auf Hunderten von schwimmenden Booten kommen, um ihre Achtung und Verehrung zu zahlen. Ein weiteres interessantes Highlight des Festivals ist das lange Bootrennen, bei dem die Teilnehmer mit einem Ruder an einem Bein rudern.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival (Karte)

Best time to go to Myanmar

Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival 2019

One of the most famous festivals in the Shan State is the Phaung Daw Oo pagoda festival, which is celebrated for 18 days

Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival in Myanmar - Best Time
Photo by

© Bertrand Linet

This picturesque traditional festival is held on Inle Lake during the Burmese month of Thadingyut, the 7th month of the Burmese lunar calendar (October/November). The festival starts with a solemn procession, when four of the five images of the Buddha are removed from their shrine in the Phaung Daw Oo pagoda and placed on the Royal Karaweik barge.

Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival in Myanmar - Best Season

The barge is towed by long boats manned by up to a hundred leg rowers in colorful costumes. The Royal barge stops at 14 villages around Inle lake, where the images stay in the main monastery for one night.

Best time for Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival in Myanmar

Finally, the images arrive in the main town of Nyaung Shwe, where most pilgrims from near and far on hundreds of floating boats come to pay their respects and veneration. One more interesting highlight of the festival is the long boat race, where the participants row with an oar attached to one leg.

Myanmar
Check best times to visit
Myanmar