Beste Reisezeit New York

NYC Tartan Day Parade 2024

Die Feier aller schottischen Dinge

Termine: 6. April 2024

NYC Tartan Day Parade
NYC Tartan Day Parade
NYC Tartan Day Parade
NYC Tartan Day Parade
NYC Tartan Day Parade

Die New York City Tartan Day Parade (NYC Tartan Day Parade) findet immer am Wochenende um den 6. April statt, der in den Vereinigten Staaten zum Ehren ihres schottischen Erbes proklamiert wird. Hunderttausende von Zuschauern säumen die Straßen, um die Prozession auf der Sixth Avenue von der 44. bis zur 55. Straße mit Hunderten von Bagpipern, Tänzern, Tausenden von Demonstranten und Dutzenden von Schwimmern zu beobachten, die Schottland gewidmet sind.

Die Parade beginnt um 14 Uhr. Dieser Tag ist ein Höhepunkt der Tartan-Woche, die auch eine Reihe von Cocktail-Partys, Tänze, Lesungen, Konzerte und Aufführungen umfasst. Der Tartan-Tag stammt aus dem Jahr 1998, als die USA. Der Senat würdigte die Beiträge der Scottish-Americans zu den Vereinigten Staaten. 1999 fand die erste Parade in NYC statt, in der nur zwei Pfeifenbänder vom britischen Konsulat zum UN-Gebäude marschierten.

Viele Prominente dienten als New York Tartan Day Parade Grand Marshals, darunter Schauspieler Sean Connery, Braveheart, Drehbuchautor Randall Wallace, Kicker für die New York Giants, Super Bowls XLII und XLVI Lawrence Tynes, Schauspieler Tommy Flanagan und Musiker KT Tunstall.

Praktische Infos

Externe Ressourcen

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von NYC Tartan Day Parade (Karte)

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Olha Savych

Best time to go to New York

New York City Tartan Day Parade 2020

The celebration of all Scottish things

New York City Tartan Day Parade in New York 2020 - Best Time
Photo by

© Jazz Guy

New York City Tartan Day Parade always takes place on the weekend around April 6th, which is the Tartan Day proclaimed in the United States to honor its Scottish heritage. Hundreds of thousands of spectators line the streets to watch the procession on Sixth Avenue from 44th to 55th Streets featuring hundreds of bagpipers, dancers, thousands of marchers, and dozens of floats dedicated to Scotland.

New York City Tartan Day Parade in New York - Best Season 2020
Best time for New York City Tartan Day Parade in New York 2020

The parade begins at 2 pm. This day is a culmination of the Tartan Week that also includes a series of cocktail parties, dances, readings, concerts, and performances. The Tartan Day dates back to 1998 when the U.S. Senate recognized the contributions made by Scottish-Americans to the United States. In 1999, the first parade took place in NYC with just two pipe bands marching from the British Consulate to the UN building.

Best time to see New York City Tartan Day Parade in New York 2020
Best time for New York City Tartan Day Parade 2020

Many celebrities served as New York Tartan Day Parade Grand Marshals including actor Sean Connery, “Braveheart” scriptwriter Randall Wallace, kicker for the New York Giants, Super Bowls XLII and XLVI Lawrence Tynes, actor Tommy Flanagan, and musician KT Tunstall.