Beste Reisezeit Virginia

Chincoteague Pony Schwimmen 2021

Dutzende wilde Ponys überqueren den Assateague Channel während eines traditionellen Sommerfestes

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Dari Vasiljeva
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Chincoteague Pony Swim ist eine alte virginianische Tradition, die bis ins 17. Jahrhundert zurückreicht. Es ist ein Teil des Pony Penning Festival, die jährliche Veranstaltung in Chincoteague, Virginia, am letzten Mittwoch und Donnerstag im Juli. Am Mittwoch runden Salt Water Cowboys die Ponys auf Assateague Island ab und führen sie über den Assateague Channel zum Veteranen Memorial Park auf Chincoteague Island. Die Ponys überqueren den Kanal bei Ebbe, wenn Wasser am sichersten ist. Am Donnerstag findet die Pony-Auktion statt, gefolgt von Festen und Unterhaltung auf dem Chincoteague Carnival Grounds. Die Chincoteague Fireman's Carnival bietet aufregende Fahrten, Spiele und ausgezeichnetes Essen jede Nacht der Penning Week ab 19 Uhr.

Auf der Südseite der Insel Assateague leben mehr als 50 erwachsene Ponys zusammen mit den 60 bis 70 Fohlen. Etwa 50.000 Besucher versammeln sich jedes Jahr, um Dutzende von Chincoteague Ponies zu sehen, die zwischen 8 Uhr morgens über den Kanal südlich des Memorial Park an der Ostküste der Insel Chincoteague schwimmen. Und 10 Uhr morgens.

Das Chincoteague Pony Swim wird seit 1925 von der Feuerwehr der Chincoteague Volunteer Fire Department organisiert. Das Festival geht zu Wartung und Kauf von Feuerausrüstung und Pflege der wilden Ponys. 1947 erschien der Roman Misty of Chincoteague von Marguerite Henry. Die Besucher können den Misty of Chincoteague Film sehen, der um 11 Uhr zeigt. Täglich im Island Theater während der Feierlichkeiten.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Chincoteague Pony Schwimmen (Karte)

Best time to go to Virginia

Chincoteague Pony Swim 2020

Dozens of wild ponies cross the Assateague Channel during a traditional summer festival

Chincoteague Pony Swim in Virginia 2020 - Best Time

Chincoteague Pony Swim is an old Virginian tradition that dates back to the 17th century. It is a part of the Pony Penning festival, the annual event held in Chincoteague, Virginia, on the last Wednesday and Thursday of July. On Wednesday, Salt Water Cowboys round up the ponies on Assateague Island and lead them across the Assateague Channel to Veteran’s Memorial Park on Chincoteague Island. The ponies cross the channel during low tide when water is the safest. On Thursday, Pony Auction is held, followed by festivities and entertainment on the Chincoteague Carnival Grounds. The Chincoteague Fireman's Carnival offers exciting rides, games, and excellent food each night of the Penning Week from 7 p.m.

Chincoteague Pony Swim in Virginia - Best Season 2020

The southern side of Assateague Island is home to more than 50 adult ponies along with the 60 to 70 foals. About 50,000 visitors gather every year to see dozens of Chincoteague Ponies swimming across the channel south of Memorial Park on the eastern shore of Chincoteague Island between 8 a.m. and 10 a.m.

Best time for Chincoteague Pony Swim in Virginia 2020

Chincoteague Pony Swim is organized by The Chincoteague Volunteer Fire Department since 1925. Proceeds the festival go to maintenance and purchase of fire equipment and care of the wild ponies. In 1947, the event was featured in the novel Misty of Chincoteague by Marguerite Henry. Visitors can see the Misty of Chincoteague movie that is showing at 11 a.m. daily at the Island Theater during the festivities.

Best time to see Chincoteague Pony Swim in Virginia 2020

Find hotels and airbnbs near Chincoteague Pony Swim (Map)