Quand partir à New York (NYC)

Feast of San Gennaro 2021

Manger la meilleure cuisine italienne, regarder des défilés colorés, et assister à des concerts gratuits

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Disclaimer: Due to COVID-19 concerns, many events might be canceled, postponed, or changed into limited versions, sometimes at very short notice. Please check with event organizers directly for the latest updates (view the "External Resources" section below).

La fête de 11 jours de San Gennaro est votre chance de visiter les meilleurs restaurants de Little Italy. Le festival honore le saint patron de Naples et est probablement le festival américain-italien le plus célèbre de la ville. Le jour de la fête est le 19 septembre dans le calendrier catholique romain, de sorte que la célébration a généralement lieu dans la seconde moitié de septembre.

Le point culminant du festival est la Grande Procession de la statue de San Gennaro. La Procession commence à 14 heures. le dernier samedi de la fête, après une Messe spéciale à l'Eglise du Sang Très Précieux. La procession aux chandelles emmène la statue de l'église dans les rues de Litlle Italy (la Petite Italie).

La fête propose également la traditionnelle foire de rue italo-américaine le long de Mulberry Street servant quelques-uns des meilleurs plats italiens de New York, comme cannoli, saucisses, zeppole, pâte frite, biscuits à la torrone, et sandwichs à saucisses et poivres. Ne manquez pas les concours de pizza et de cannoli. Soyez également prêts pour les démonstrations de cuisine des chefs locaux et beaucoup de musique live traditionnelle.

La fête de San Gennaro a été célébrée pour la première fois à New York en septembre 1926, lorsque les immigrants de Naples se sont rassemblés le long de Mulberry Street dans le quartier de Little Italy à Manhattan.

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Feast of San Gennaro (carte)

Best time to go to New York

Feast of San Gennaro 2019

Eat the best Italian food, watch colorful parades, and attend free concerts

Feast of San Gennaro in New York 2019 - Best Time
Photo by

Jazz Guy

The 11-day Feast of San Gennaro is your chance to check out Little Italy’s best restaurants. The festival honours the patron saint of Naples and is probably the most famous American-Italian festival in the City. The feast day is September 19 in the Roman Catholic calendar, so the celebration usually takes place in the second half of September.

Feast of San Gennaro in New York - Best Season 2019

The major highlight of the festival is the Grand Procession of the statue of San Gennaro. The Procession starts at 2 p.m. on the last Saturday of the feast, after a special Mass at the Church of the Most Precious Blood. The candlelit procession takes the statue from the church through the streets of Little Italy.

Best time for Feast of San Gennaro in New York 2019

The feast also features the traditional Italian-American street fair along Mulberry Street serving some of the most excellent Italian food in NYC, like cannoli, sausages, zeppole, fried dough, torrone cookies, and sausage-and-pepper sandwiches. Don't miss pizza- and cannoli-eating contests. Also be ready for cooking demonstrations from local chefs and lots of traditional live music.

Best time to see Feast of San Gennaro in New York 2019

The Feast of San Gennaro was celebrated in New York City for the first time in September 1926, when immigrants from Naples gathered along Mulberry Street in the Little Italy neighbourhood of Manhattan.

Best time for Feast of San Gennaro 2019
New York
Check best times to visit
New York