Quand partir Yosemite

Cascade ou chute de la queue de cheval

Pendant quelques jours chaque année, cette chute d'eau est éclairée par le soleil et devient l'un des spectacles les plus étonnants de Yosemite.

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

L'automne est une petite chute saisonnière qui coule du côté est d'El Capitan dans la vallée du Yosemite. Autour de la deuxième semaine de février, l'automne affiche une merveilleuse lueur orange profonde ou rouge au coucher du soleil. On dirait que la lave ou le feu coule, pas de l'eau!

Ce phénomène naturel ne se produit que lorsque les conditions sont bonnes : l'angle de coucher du soleil est correct, il n'y a pas de nuages dans l'horizon, et il y a assez de fonte de neige pour nourrir la chute d'eau. Si tout se réunit, l'automne s'allumera pendant une dizaine de minutes au coucher du soleil.

Si les conditions ne sont pas parfaites, l'eau ne brillera pas. Par exemple, de 2011 à 2015, ce phénomène n'était pas très vivant en raison de la sécheresse en Californie. En 2016, en raison de la pluie normale et des chutes de neige, c'était encore une fois un spectacle étonnant.

Le phénomène est si populaire que les gens blaguent qu'il est devenu une célébrité, pour laquelle les photographes deviennent fous, et qui attire plus de spectateurs que n'importe quel autre endroit à Yosemite

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Cascade ou chute de la queue de cheval (carte)

Best time to travel to Yosemite

Horsetail Fall or Firefall

For just a few days each year, this waterfall is illuminated by the sun and becomes one of Yosemite’s most amazing spectacles

Horsetail Fall or Firefall in Yosemite - Best Time
Photo by

© Steve Corey

Horsetail Fall is a small seasonal waterfall that flows on the east side of El Capitan in Yosemite Valley. Around the second week of February, the fall displays a wonderful deep orange or red glow at sunset. It looks like lava or fire is flowing down, not water! ​

This natural phenomenon occurs only when conditions are right: the sunset angle is correct, there are no clouds o​n the horizon, and there is enough snowmelt to feed the waterfall. If everything comes together, the fall will light up for about ten minutes at sunset.

Horsetail Fall or Firefall in Yosemite - Best Season
Best time for Horsetail Fall or Firefall in Yosemite

If conditions are not perfect, the water will not glow. For example, from 2011 to 2015, this phenomenon was not very vivid due to drought in California. In 2016, due to normal rain and snowfall, it was again an amazing spectacle.​

The phenomenon is so popular, that people joke it has become a celebrity, which photographers go crazy for, and which attracts more spectators than any other place in Yosemite.

Caption from 2015: "Spent the weekend in Yosemite to witness the firewall that happens once a year around the second week of February. Although there was no waterfall, it was still an amazing experience. Already planning for next year."
Caption from 2015: "Spent the weekend in Yosemite to witness the firewall that happens once a year around the second week of February. Although there was no waterfall, it was still an amazing experience. Already planning for next year."
Yosemite
Check best times to visit
Yosemite