Beste Reisezeit Yosemite National Park

Pferdeschwanzfall oder Feuerfall

Für nur ein paar Tage jedes Jahr wird dieser Wasserfall von der Sonne beleuchtet und wird zu einem der erstaunlichsten Schauspiele von Yosemite.

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Der Horsetail Fall ist ein kleiner saisonaler Wasserfall, der auf der Ostseite von El Capitan im Yosemite Valley fließt. Um die zweite Februarwoche, der Herbst zeigt eine wunderbare tiefe orange oder rot glühen bei Sonnenuntergang. Es sieht aus, als ob Lava oder Feuer nach unten fließt, nicht Wasser!

Dieses natürliche Phänomen tritt nur auf, wenn die Bedingungen richtig sind: der Sonnenuntergangswinkel ist korrekt, es gibt keine Wolken am Horizont, und es gibt genug Schneeschmelze, um den Wasserfall zu füttern. Wenn alles zusammenkommt, wird der Fall etwa zehn Minuten bei Sonnenuntergang aufleuchten.

Wenn die Bedingungen nicht perfekt sind, wird das Wasser nicht leuchten. Zum Beispiel war dieses Phänomen von 2011 bis 2015 aufgrund der Dürre in Kalifornien nicht sehr lebhaft. Im Jahr 2016, aufgrund von normalem Regen und Schneefall, war es wieder ein erstaunliches Spektakel.

Das Phänomen ist so populär, dass die Leute Witz es ist eine Berühmtheit, die Fotografen verrückt nach, und die zieht mehr Zuschauer als jeder andere Ort in Yosemite

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Pferdeschwanzfall oder Feuerfall (Karte)

Best time to travel to Yosemite

Horsetail Fall or Firefall

For just a few days each year, this waterfall is illuminated by the sun and becomes one of Yosemite’s most amazing spectacles

Horsetail Fall or Firefall in Yosemite - Best Time
Photo by

© Steve Corey

Horsetail Fall is a small seasonal waterfall that flows on the east side of El Capitan in Yosemite Valley. Around the second week of February, the fall displays a wonderful deep orange or red glow at sunset. It looks like lava or fire is flowing down, not water! ​

This natural phenomenon occurs only when conditions are right: the sunset angle is correct, there are no clouds o​n the horizon, and there is enough snowmelt to feed the waterfall. If everything comes together, the fall will light up for about ten minutes at sunset.

Horsetail Fall or Firefall in Yosemite - Best Season
Best time for Horsetail Fall or Firefall in Yosemite

If conditions are not perfect, the water will not glow. For example, from 2011 to 2015, this phenomenon was not very vivid due to drought in California. In 2016, due to normal rain and snowfall, it was again an amazing spectacle.​

The phenomenon is so popular, that people joke it has become a celebrity, which photographers go crazy for, and which attracts more spectators than any other place in Yosemite.

Caption from 2015: "Spent the weekend in Yosemite to witness the firewall that happens once a year around the second week of February. Although there was no waterfall, it was still an amazing experience. Already planning for next year."
Caption from 2015: "Spent the weekend in Yosemite to witness the firewall that happens once a year around the second week of February. Although there was no waterfall, it was still an amazing experience. Already planning for next year."
Yosemite
Check best times to visit
Yosemite