Quand partir Yosemite

Yosemite Falls

Visitez l'une des plus hautes chutes d'eau du monde pendant le ruissellement printanier et vous serez emporté par cette vue extraordinaire

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout
Voir les hébergements à proximité

La chute d'eau la plus spectaculaire du parc national Yosemite (et de toute l'Amérique du Nord) bénéficie d'une chute de craquage du cou de 2425 pieds (739 m) depuis le sommet de l'automne supérieur jusqu'à la base de l'automne inférieur. Famose pour ses arcs-en-ciel colorés qui se forment occasionnellement dans la brume qui monte de l'eau mousseuse, la gigantesque cascade de montagne est sur la liste des seaux de tous les photographes et attire les aventuriers du monde entier.

Quand est le meilleur moment pour visiter Yosemite Falls

Même si les chutes Yosemite coulent de novembre à juillet, le meilleur moment pour voir l'eau tonnerre est d'avril à juin quand la fonte de neige fait le plus grand volume. La période d'avril à juin est également la saison du cou de lune à Yosemite Falls. Peut gagner les meilleurs honneurs pour le ruissellement le plus impressionnant. Le prix de regarder les chutes à leur pic de flux est des foules, qui sont record à cette période de l'année aussi. À la fin du mois d'août, les chutes de Yosemite ne peuvent que s'écouler ou s'assècher complètement.

Les faits de Yosemite Falls

Le ruisseau Yosemite comprend trois sections : Upper Falls (1 430 pieds ou 435 m), Middle Cascades (675 pieds ou 205 m) et Lower Falls (320 pieds ou 100 m), qui se précipitent dans la rivière Merced. La hauteur totale de 739 mètres est deux fois plus élevée que celle des chutes Niagara, à cheval sur la frontière des États-Unis et du Canada! Cependant, en termes de largeur, la chute d'eau Yosemite est quelque peu derrière les chutes Iguazu en Argentine et au Brésil.

Que faire à Yosemite Falls

Alors que la chute d'eau est le point culminant principal du parc national Yosemite, la région offre beaucoup d'activités passionnantes, comme l'escalade et le rafting le long de la rivière Merced en été ou le ski de fond et la raquette en hiver. Vous pouvez également opter pour des choses plus agréables mais tout aussi excitantes à faire comme le regard d'étoiles, l'observation des oiseaux et le piqûrement des feuilles.

Comment se rendre à Yosemite Falls

Le sommet de Yosemite Falls nécessite une randonnée de 6 à 8 heures pour atteindre. Le sentier Yosemite Falls démarre au camp 4, près de l'arrêt navette #7 et de l'arrêt navette El Capitan #E2). La randonnée couvre une distance de 11,6 km. Il est ouvert toute l'année avec des conditions saisonnières différentes. Il y a aussi quelques sentiers qui offrent une vue impressionnante sur les chutes, à savoir le Lower Yosemite Falls Trail et le Four-Mile Trail. Vous pouvez voir Yosemite Falls de nombreux points de vue dans le parc, comme Glacier Point, Taft Point, et Yosemite Falls Overlook.

Où dormir à Yosemite Falls

La zone est remplie de terrains de camping. Parmi les plus populaires, on trouve le terrain de camping Upper Pines et le terrain de camping North Pines, niché à côté de la chute d'eau. En outre, considérez le camping isolé Porcupine Flat ou Yosemite Creek. Si vous préférez séjourner dans un hôtel, jetez un œil à la carte de Yosemite Falls ci-dessous et choisissez l'option la plus pratique.

Infos pratiques

How long does it take to hike to Yosemite Falls?

Generally 6 to 8 hours to complete the roundtrip hike.

Is Yosemite Falls the tallest waterfall in North America?

At 2,425 feet (739 m), Yosemite Falls is known to be North America's highest waterfall.

Is Yosemite Falls dry now?

After the peak flow is over in June, the waterfall dries out, and by August you'll see only some trickling water or nothing at all.

Can you drink water from Yosemite Falls?

Do not drink water from the waterfall without purifying, sterilizing, or boiling it, as it contains bad bugs.

Poser une question

Best time to travel to Yosemite

Yosemite Falls

Visit one of the world's tallest waterfalls during the spring runoff and you'll be carried away by this tremendous sight

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
0
See accommodations nearby

The most dramatic waterfall in Yosemite National Park (and the whole of North America) boasts a neck-craning drop of 2,425 feet (739 m) from the top of the Upper Fall to the base of the Lower Fall. Famous for its colorful rainbows that occasionally form in the mist rising from the foaming water, the towering mountainside waterfall is on the bucket list of all photographers and draws adventurers from across the globe.

When is the best time to visit Yosemite Falls

Even though Yosemite Falls flows from November through July, the best time to see the thundering water is from April to June when snowmelt makes for the greatest volume. The April–June period is also the moonbow season at Yosemite Falls. May earns top honors for the most impressive runoff. The price of watching the falls at their peak flow is crowds, which are record at this time of year too. By late August, Yosemite Falls may only trickle or dry out completely.

Yosemite Falls facts

Yosemite Creek encompasses three sections: Upper Falls (1,430 feet or 435 m), Middle Cascades (675 feet or 205 m), and Lower Falls (320 feet or 100 m), which rush into the Merced River. The total height of 2,425 feet (739 m) is twice the height of Niagara Falls, straddling the border of the USA and Canada! However, in terms of width, Yosemite waterfall is somewhat behind Iguazu Falls in Argentina and Brazil.

Things to do at Yosemite Falls

While the waterfall is the main highlight of Yosemite National Park, the area offers plenty of exciting activities, such as rock climbing and rafting along the Merced River in summer or cross-country skiing and snowshoeing in winter. You can also opt for more leisurely but equally exciting things to do like stargazing, birdwatching, and leaf-peeping.

How to get to Yosemite Falls

The top of Yosemite Falls requires a 6–8-hour out-and-back hike to reach. A strenuous Yosemite Falls Trail starts at Camp 4 area, which is near shuttle stop #7 and El Capitan Shuttle stop #E2). The hike covers a distance of 7.2 miles (11.6 km). It's open year-round with different seasonal conditions. There are also a few trails that provide impressive views on the falls, namely Lower Yosemite Falls Trail and the Four-Mile Trail. You can see Yosemite Falls from numerous viewpoints in the park, such as Glacier Point, Taft Point, and Yosemite Falls Overlook.

Where to stay at Yosemite Falls

The area is packed with campgrounds. Among the most pop picks are Upper Pines Campground and North Pines Campground, nestled next to the waterfall. Also, consider secluded Porcupine Flat Campground or Yosemite Creek Campground. If you prefer staying at a hotel, have a look at the Yosemite Falls map below and choose the most convenient option.

Practical info

How long does it take to hike to Yosemite Falls?

Generally 6 to 8 hours to complete the roundtrip hike.

Is Yosemite Falls the tallest waterfall in North America?

At 2,425 feet (739 m), Yosemite Falls is known to be North America's highest waterfall.

Is Yosemite Falls dry now?

After the peak flow is over in June, the waterfall dries out, and by August you'll see only some trickling water or nothing at all.

Can you drink water from Yosemite Falls?

Do not drink water from the waterfall without purifying, sterilizing, or boiling it, as it contains bad bugs.

Ask a question