Quand partir Minnesota

Gooseberry Falls

Une série pittoresque de chutes d'eau sur le rivage du lac Supérieur

Partager

Dernière mise à jour: par Olha Savych
reason default image
Voir tout
Voir les hébergements à proximité

Gooseberry Falls réside dans le parc public éponyme près de Two Harbors dans le comté de Lake, Minnesota. Il comprend trois chutes impressionnantes appelées Upper, Middle, et Lower chutes, chacune étant considérablement large mais modestement-tall. Quoi qu'il en soit, les chutes jouissent d'une immense popularité toute l'année, en comparaison avec d'autres chutes sur la Rive-Nord du lac Supérieur. Alors ne vous attendez pas à la solitude pendant votre visite ici, soyez prêts à partager la beauté avec les autres.

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter Gooseberry Falls?

La meilleure période de l'année pour visiter Gooseberry Falls dépend de la façon dont vous voulez la voir – ces chutes d'eau ne sont certainement pas la destination d'une saison. Certaines personnes sont attirées par le ruissellement printanier. Cependant, l'écoulement peut aussi se produire en été ou en automne après les torrents. En été, vous pouvez nager dans les piscines au fond des chutes quand le débit est faible. Notez qu'en juin et août, le parc a tendance à être emballé aussi. La saison du feuillage d'automne est absolument grandiose. Pourtant, beaucoup préfèrent l'hiver pour les merveilleuses cascades gelées ainsi que les options de ski et de raquettes. Gooseberry Falls State Park est ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 16h, avec des heures de soirée prolongées en été. Donc, la décision finale sur le moment d'aller dépend de vous.

Faits de Gooseberry Falls

Les Upper Falls nichées juste au nord (en amont) du pont routier Hwy 61 plongent 9 mètres dans la rivière Gooseberry. Les chutes du milieu et de la basse sont assises en aval du pont et mesurent ensemble 18 mètres. La rivière descend à travers la belle partie des forêts du Minnesota, drainant dans le magnifique lac Supérieur. Les premières mentions documentées de Gooseberry Falls et River datent de 1670. Un explorateur français Grosseilliers aurait pu nommer la rivière d'après lui, car « Grosseilliers » est français pour « groseilles ». Une autre version a que les peuples autochtones attribuent le nom à la rivière.

Comment se rendre à Gooseberry Falls?

Vous pouvez explorer trois cascades à partir de différents points de vue en essayant plusieurs options de randonnée. Prenez les chutes d'eau Promenade pour voir les chutes Middle et Upper en 30 à 40 minutes. Ou optez pour le Falls View Loop pour couvrir les trois cascades, mais laissez 45 à 90 minutes pour cette randonnée. De plus, consultez River View Trail pour une vue différente. La facilité d'accessibilité est l'une des raisons du classement élevé de Gooseberry Falls. Cela dit, faites attention sur les sentiers et ne vous approchez pas trop de la rivière pendant le débit élevé. De plus, si vous êtes jusqu'à conduire à la rive du lac ou Picnic Flow, vous aurez besoin d'un permis de véhicule, qui peut être acheté au parc.

Que faire à Gooseberry Falls

Pour profiter au maximum de votre visite, envisagez de jumeler votre expérience de chute d'eau avec d'autres choses passionnantes à faire. Explorez le réseau de randonnées, allez camper et découvrez la faune locale. Découvrez quelques moments marquants de la saison : migration des colibris en été, chasser les aurores boréales à la baie Silver ou admirer les couleurs de l'automne de Duluth. L'hiver est également riche en offres : vous pouvez skier, chercher des éclats de glace acidulés sur le lac Supérieur, ou vous diriger vers le festival annuel d'hiver Ely, juste au nord de Duluth.

Où dormir à Gooseberry Falls?

Le camping de Gooseberry Falls State Park est l'une des meilleures options pour rester près de Gooseberry Falls. Il opère toute l'année, offrant 70 campings unifamiliaux, trois sites collectifs et un camping pour kayakistes. Des toilettes et des douches sont également disponibles. Vous pouvez également consulter divers hôtels dans les environs (voir la carte ci-dessous ou sur la droite) et choisir ce qui vous convient le plus.

Quand vous déciderez de visiter le parc national de Gooseberry Falls, planifiez-vous. Assurez-vous d'acheter votre permis de véhicule ou vos cartes de ski à l'avance. En outre, emballer en fonction de la météo. Et n'hésitez pas à vérifier les dernières mises à jour avec le parc national Gooseberry Falls.

Infos pratiques

How much does it cost to get into Gooseberry Falls?

Park permits: $35 annual, $26 second vehicle, $12 handicapped, or $7 daily. Camping fees are separate. Gooseberry Falls is free to visit.

How long is the hike to Gooseberry Falls?

About 2 miles (3 km) and 30–40 minutes.

What town is Gooseberry Falls in?

Gooseberry Falls are situated near Two Harbors (approximately 13 miles or 21 km north-east along State Highway 61).

Can you swim in Gooseberry Falls?

Yes. You can swim in the pools at the bottom of the falls when the flow is low.

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Gooseberry Falls (carte)

Best time to travel to Minnesota

Gooseberry Falls

A heart-stoppingly scenic series of waterfalls on the Lake Superior shoreline

Share

Last updated: by Olha Savych
reason default image
See all
See accommodations nearby

Gooseberry Falls resides in the eponymous state park near Two Harbors in Lake County, Minnesota. It encompasses three impressive drops named Upper, Middle, and Lower falls, each being considerably wide yet modestly-tall. Anyways, the falls enjoy immense popularity year-round, comparing to other waterfalls on the North Shore of Lake Superior. So do not expect solitude during your visit here, be ready to share the beauty with others.

When is the best time to visit Gooseberry Falls?

The best time of year to visit Gooseberry Falls depends on how you want to see it—these waterfalls are definitely not a single-season destination. Some people are attracted by spring runoff. However, the gushing flow may also occur in summer or fall after torrents. In the summer, you can swim in the pools at the bottoms of the falls when the flow is low. Note that in June and August, the park tends to be packed too. Fall foliage season is absolutely grandiose. Still, many favor winter for the wondrous frozen waterfalls along with skiing and snowshoeing options. Gooseberry Falls State Park is open daily from 9 am to 4 pm, with extended evening hours in summer. So the final decision on when to go is up to you.

Gooseberry Falls facts

The Upper Falls nestled just north (upstream) of the Hwy 61 Road Bridge plunges 30 feet (9 m) into the Gooseberry River. The Middle and Lower Falls sit downstream of the bridge and measure 60 feet (18 m) together. The river advances down through the lovely piece of Minnesota's forests, draining into splendid Lake Superior. The earliest documented mentions of Gooseberry Falls and River date back to 1670. A French explorer Grosseilliers could have had named the river after himself, for "grosseilliers" is French for "gooseberries." Another version has it that the native peoples attributed the name to the river.

How to get to Gooseberry Falls?

You can explore three waterfalls from different vantage points by trying multiple hiking options. Take Waterfalls Walk to see the Middle and Upper Falls in 30–40 minutes. Or opt for the Falls View Loop to cover all three waterfalls, but allow 45–90 minutes for this hike. Also, check out River View Trail for a different view. The ease of accessibility is one of the reasons for Gooseberry Falls's high ranking. That said, be careful on the trails and don't get too close to the river during the high flow. Also, if you are up to driving to the lakeshore or Picnic Flow, you'll need a vehicle permit, which can be purchased at the park.

Things to do at Gooseberry Falls

To make the most of your visit, consider pairing your waterfall experience with other exciting things to do. Explore the network of hikes, go camping, and get a glimpse of local wildlife. Check out some seasonal highlights: spot hummingbird migration in summer, chase northern lights at the Silver Bay, or take in the Duluth fall colors. Winter is likewise rich in offers: you can go skiing, look for some knife-sharp ice shards on Lake Superior, or head to the annual Ely Winter Festival, just north of Duluth.

Where to stay at Gooseberry Falls?

Gooseberry Falls State Park Campground is one of the best options to stay close to Gooseberry Falls. It operates all year, providing 70 single-family campsites, three group sites, and a camping site for kayakers. Restrooms and showers are available too. Alternatively, examine various hotels in the area nearby (see map below or on the right) and choose what suits you most.

When you make up your mind to visit Gooseberry Falls State Park, plan ahead. Make sure to buy your vehicle permit or ski passes in advance. Also, pack according to the weather. And feel free to check up for the latest updates with the Gooseberry Falls State Park.

Practical info

How much does it cost to get into Gooseberry Falls?

Park permits: $35 annual, $26 second vehicle, $12 handicapped, or $7 daily. Camping fees are separate. Gooseberry Falls is free to visit.

How long is the hike to Gooseberry Falls?

About 2 miles (3 km) and 30–40 minutes.

What town is Gooseberry Falls in?

Gooseberry Falls are situated near Two Harbors (approximately 13 miles or 21 km north-east along State Highway 61).

Can you swim in Gooseberry Falls?

Yes. You can swim in the pools at the bottom of the falls when the flow is low.

Ask a question

Find hotels and airbnbs near Gooseberry Falls (Map)