Beste Reisezeit Washington (Bundesstaat)

Wallacefälle

Ein spektakulärer Wasserfall auf der Westseite des Cascade-Gebirges

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Olga Valchyshen
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Wallace Falls umfasst eine Reihe von Wasserfällen im Wallace Falls State Park, 75 km nordöstlich von Seattle. Der Wasserfall kann nicht vollständig betrachtet werden. Der erste Teil, die Upper Wallace Falls, fällt 260 ft (73 m) in fünf verschiedenen Ebenen. Der mittlere Abschnitt beträgt 112 m und der untere Wallace Falls fällt 212 ft (65 m) in fünf Stufen. Die Middle Wallace Falls ist der spektakulärste Abschnitt, der vom Skykomish Valley aus gesehen werden kann. Auf dem Wallace Falls Trail gibt es drei Ausblicke, die Ihnen verschiedene Abschnitte des Wasserfalls zeigen werden. Die Lower Falls befinden sich zwei Meilen vom Trailhead entfernt und verfügen über einen Picknickbereich. Nach einem steilen Anstieg von einer halben Meile erreichen Sie den Ausblick auf die Middle Falls. Von dort aus können Sie entweder zurückfahren oder auf dem steilsten Abschnitt des Weges weiterfahren, um nach Upper Falls zu gelangen.

Die beste Zeit, um Wallace Falls zu besuchen

Auch wenn der Wallace Falls State Park ganzjährig für Besucher geöffnet ist, läuft die Wandersaison in Washington in der Regel von April bis Oktober. Mai ist ein ausgezeichneter Monat, um Wallace Falls in voller Kapazität zu sehen, mit maximalem Volumen und Leistung nach dem Frühjahr Schneeschmelze. Aber wenn man bedenkt, dass es ziemlich regnet in Washington in allen Jahreszeiten, ist der Sommer auch eine gute Zeit, um den Wasserfall zu besuchen und nutzen Sie die zahlreichen Outdoor-Aktivitäten in der Nähe. Im Winter ist es möglich, den Wasserfall teilweise gefroren zu sehen, und Schnee auf dem Weg kann etwas Magie zu Ihren Bildern hinzufügen.

Dinge zu tun bei Wallace Falls

Wallace Falls State Park bietet 12 Meilen Wanderwege. Neben dem Wallace Falls Trail, können Sie den Greg Ball Trail wandern und die Kreuzungen zu Wallace und Jay Seen erreichen. Im Sommer bietet der Park Schwimmen, Bootfahren, Angeln und Wildwasser-Kajakfahren. Eine Bootsrampe und Badestrand befinden sich im Big Eddy Park, ein paar Meilen östlich. Das Gebiet bietet auch eine Kletterwand 8 Meilen (13 km) östlich des Parks. Camping an den Seen ist eine beliebte Option in wärmeren Monaten. -

Wo Sie in Wallace Falls übernachten können

Die Wanderer können im Wallace Falls State Park übernachten in einer der fünf komfortablen Kabinen oder zwei begehbaren Zeltplätzen. Es gibt zwei Campingplätze sowie Backcountry-Camping an den Seen, etwa 8 km vom Wanderweg entfernt. Der Park hat Duschen und Toiletten. Übernachtgenehmigungen sind für Jay Lake und Wallace Lakes erforderlich

Die Wasserfälle am Wallace River gehören zu den schönsten Orten der Cascades und sind vor allem in den Sommermonaten ein beliebtes Wanderziel von Seattle aus.

Praktische Infos

Can you swim at Wallace Falls?

According to the sign at the trailhead, swimming above Wallace Falls is prohibited and is punishable with a fine. In the summer months, that this prohibition is frequently ignored by the visitors.

How long does it take to hike Wallace Falls?

The trail is about 5 miles (8 km) long

Are dogs allowed at Wallace Falls?

Dogs are allowed at Wallaca Falls State Park, but they have to be on a leash

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to travel to Washington

Wallace Falls

A spectacular waterfall located on the west side of the Cascade Mountains

Share

Last updated: by Olga Valchyshen
reason default image
See all
0

Wallace Falls encompasses a series of waterfalls located at Wallace Falls State Park, 47 mi (75 km) northeast of Seattle. The waterfall cannot be viewed entirely. Its first part, Upper Wallace Falls, drops 260 ft (73 m) in five separate tiers. The middle section is 367 ft (112 m), and Lower Wallace Falls drops 212 ft (65 m) in five tiers. The Middle Wallace Falls is the most spectacular section that can be viewed from the Skykomish Valley. On the Wallace Falls trail, there are three outlooks that will let you see different sections of the waterfall. The Lower Falls are located two miles from the trailhead and feature a picnic area. After a steep ascent of half a mile, you'll reach the outlook for the Middle Falls. From there, you can either go back or continue on the steepest section of the trail to get to Upper Falls.

Best time to visit Wallace Falls

Even though Wallace Falls State Park is open for visitors year-round, the hiking season in Washington generally runs from April through October. May is an excellent month to see Wallace Falls in full capacity, with maximum volume and power after the spring snowmelt. However, considering that it rains quite a bit in Washington in all seasons, summer is also a good time to visit the waterfall and take advantage of the numerous outdoor activities nearby. In winter, it's possible to see the waterfall partially frozen, and snow on the trail can add some magic to your pictures.

Things to do at Wallace Falls

Wallace Falls State Park offers 12 miles of hiking trails. In addition to the Wallace Falls trail, you can hike the Greg Ball Trail and reach junctures to Wallace and Jay lakes. In the summer, the park offers swimming, boating, fishing, and white water kayaking. A boat ramp and swimming beach are located at Big Eddy Park, a few miles east. The area also offers a rock-climbing wall 8 miles (13 km) east of the park. Camping by the lakes is a popular option during warmer months.

Where to stay at Wallace Falls

Hikers can stay at Wallace Falls State Park overnight in one of the five comfortable cabins or two walk-in tent sites. There are two campsites as well as backcountry camping at the lakes, located about 5 miles (8 km) from the trailhead. The park has showers and restrooms. Overnight permits are required for Jay Lake and Wallace Lakes.

Being among the most scenic spots of the Cascades, the waterfalls on the Wallace River are a popular hiking destination from Seattle, especially during the summer months.

Practical info

Can you swim at Wallace Falls?

According to the sign at the trailhead, swimming above Wallace Falls is prohibited and is punishable with a fine. In the summer months, that this prohibition is frequently ignored by the visitors.

How long does it take to hike Wallace Falls?

The trail is about 5 miles (8 km) long

Are dogs allowed at Wallace Falls?

Dogs are allowed at Wallaca Falls State Park, but they have to be on a leash

Ask a question