Quand partir Washington

Les chutes Wallace

Une spectaculaire chute d'eau située sur le côté ouest des montagnes Cascade

Partager

Dernière mise à jour: par Olga Valchyshen
reason default image
Voir tout

Wallace Falls comprend une série de chutes d'eau situées à Wallace Falls State Park, à 75 km au nord-est de Seattle. La chute d'eau ne peut pas être entièrement vue. Sa première partie, Upper Wallace Falls, tombe 260 pieds (73 m) en cinq niveaux séparés. La section médiane est de 112 mètres (367 pi) et les chutes Lower Wallace tombent de 65 mètres (212 pi) en cinq niveaux. Le Middle Wallace Falls est la section la plus spectaculaire qui peut être vue depuis la vallée de Skykomish. Sur le sentier Wallace Falls, il y a trois perspectives qui vous permettront de voir différentes sections de la chute d'eau. Les chutes Lower sont situées à trois milles de la tête du sentier et disposent d'une aire de pique-nique. Après une montée abrupte d'un demi-mille, vous atteindrez les perspectives pour les chutes du Middle. De là, vous pouvez retourner ou continuer sur le tronçon le plus raide du sentier pour atteindre Upper Falls.

Meilleur moment pour visiter Wallace Falls

Même si Wallace Falls State Park est ouvert aux visiteurs toute l'année, la saison de randonnée à Washington s'étend généralement d'avril à octobre. Mai est un excellent mois pour voir Wallace Falls en pleine capacité, avec le volume maximum et la puissance après la fonte de neige printanière. Cependant, étant donné qu'il pleut un peu à Washington en toutes saisons, l'été est aussi un bon moment pour visiter la chute d'eau et profiter des nombreuses activités de plein air à proximité. En hiver, il est possible de voir la chute d'eau partiellement gelée, et la neige sur le sentier peut ajouter de la magie à vos photos.

Que faire à Wallace Falls

Wallace Falls State Park propose 12 miles de sentiers de randonnée. En plus du sentier Wallace Falls, vous pouvez faire une randonnée sur le sentier Greg Ball et rejoindre les lacs Wallace et Jay. En été, le parc propose la baignade, la navigation de plaisance, la pêche et le kayak d'eau blanche. Une rampe de bateau et une plage de natation sont situés au Big Eddy Park, à quelques kilomètres à l'est. La région offre également un mur d'escalade à 8 miles (13 km) à l'est du parc. Camping au bord des lacs est une option populaire pendant les mois plus chauds.

Où dormir à Wallace Falls

Les randonneurs peuvent passer la nuit au Wallace Falls State Park dans l'une des cinq cabines confortables ou deux tentes à pied. Il y a deux campings ainsi que des campings de l'arrière-pays aux lacs, situés à environ 8 km de la tête du sentier. Le parc dispose de douches et de toilettes. Des permis de nuit sont requis pour Jay Lake et Wallace Lakes

Étant parmi les endroits les plus pittoresques des Cascades, les chutes d'eau sur la rivière Wallace sont une destination de randonnée populaire de Seattle, surtout pendant les mois d'été.

Infos pratiques

Can you swim at Wallace Falls?

According to the sign at the trailhead, swimming above Wallace Falls is prohibited and is punishable with a fine. In the summer months, that this prohibition is frequently ignored by the visitors.

How long does it take to hike Wallace Falls?

The trail is about 5 miles (8 km) long

Are dogs allowed at Wallace Falls?

Dogs are allowed at Wallaca Falls State Park, but they have to be on a leash

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Les chutes Wallace (carte)

Best time to travel to Washington

Wallace Falls

A spectacular waterfall located on the west side of the Cascade Mountains

Share

Last updated: by Olga Valchyshen
reason default image
See all
0

Wallace Falls encompasses a series of waterfalls located at Wallace Falls State Park, 47 mi (75 km) northeast of Seattle. The waterfall cannot be viewed entirely. Its first part, Upper Wallace Falls, drops 260 ft (73 m) in five separate tiers. The middle section is 367 ft (112 m), and Lower Wallace Falls drops 212 ft (65 m) in five tiers. The Middle Wallace Falls is the most spectacular section that can be viewed from the Skykomish Valley. On the Wallace Falls trail, there are three outlooks that will let you see different sections of the waterfall. The Lower Falls are located two miles from the trailhead and feature a picnic area. After a steep ascent of half a mile, you'll reach the outlook for the Middle Falls. From there, you can either go back or continue on the steepest section of the trail to get to Upper Falls.

Best time to visit Wallace Falls

Even though Wallace Falls State Park is open for visitors year-round, the hiking season in Washington generally runs from April through October. May is an excellent month to see Wallace Falls in full capacity, with maximum volume and power after the spring snowmelt. However, considering that it rains quite a bit in Washington in all seasons, summer is also a good time to visit the waterfall and take advantage of the numerous outdoor activities nearby. In winter, it's possible to see the waterfall partially frozen, and snow on the trail can add some magic to your pictures.

Things to do at Wallace Falls

Wallace Falls State Park offers 12 miles of hiking trails. In addition to the Wallace Falls trail, you can hike the Greg Ball Trail and reach junctures to Wallace and Jay lakes. In the summer, the park offers swimming, boating, fishing, and white water kayaking. A boat ramp and swimming beach are located at Big Eddy Park, a few miles east. The area also offers a rock-climbing wall 8 miles (13 km) east of the park. Camping by the lakes is a popular option during warmer months.

Where to stay at Wallace Falls

Hikers can stay at Wallace Falls State Park overnight in one of the five comfortable cabins or two walk-in tent sites. There are two campsites as well as backcountry camping at the lakes, located about 5 miles (8 km) from the trailhead. The park has showers and restrooms. Overnight permits are required for Jay Lake and Wallace Lakes.

Being among the most scenic spots of the Cascades, the waterfalls on the Wallace River are a popular hiking destination from Seattle, especially during the summer months.

Practical info

Can you swim at Wallace Falls?

According to the sign at the trailhead, swimming above Wallace Falls is prohibited and is punishable with a fine. In the summer months, that this prohibition is frequently ignored by the visitors.

How long does it take to hike Wallace Falls?

The trail is about 5 miles (8 km) long

Are dogs allowed at Wallace Falls?

Dogs are allowed at Wallaca Falls State Park, but they have to be on a leash

Ask a question