Beste Reisezeit Los Angeles

Escondido-Fälle

Ein versteckter Wasserfall in der Nähe von Los Angeles ist ein perfekter eintägiger Ausflug aus der Stadt

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Olga Valchyshen
reason default image
Alles anschauen
Siehe Unterkünfte in der Nähe

Der höchste Wasserfall der Santa Monica Mountains, Escondido Falls, befindet sich im Escondido Canyon Park, Malibu. Der Wasserfall besteht aus drei Abschnitten oder Ebenen, jedoch ist nur einer von ihnen vollständig zugänglich. Der untere Abschnitt weist einen Rückgang von 15 Metern auf, während der obere Abschnitt einen deutlich beeindruckenderen Rückgang von 46 Metern aufweist.

Wie man zu Escondido Falls kommt

Der Weg zum Escondido Falls ist einer der einfachsten und schönsten Malibu Wanderungen. Der Edward Albert Trail ist nur 6 km entfernt und kann vom Pacific Coast Highway südlich der Kanan Road in Malibu erreicht werden. Der Edward Albert Trail kann zum Wandern, Radfahren oder Reiten verwendet werden

Der Weg windet sich durch das Naturgebiet Escondido Canyon mit Eichen- und Flusswäldern und Salbeipeeling. Nach einigen Wanderungen erreichen Sie den Fuß des Wasserfalls mit Blick auf seine untere Ebene. Es gibt auch eine schöne Grotte hinter den Wasserfällen. Zwei obere Abschnitte können über einen schmalen steilen Pfad erreicht werden, aber denken Sie daran, dass sie sich auf Privateigentum befinden und nicht für die breite Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sind.

Wann ist die beste Zeit, um Escondido Falls zu besuchen

Der Escondido Canyon Park ist ganzjährig für Besucher geöffnet. Der Wasserfall ist jedoch vom Wetter abhängig. Die Escondido-Fälle sehen in den Wintermonaten am besten aus, besonders wenn es viel Regen gibt. Sein Fluss wird während der heißen und trockenen Perioden auf ein Minimum reduziert. Escondido Creek wird normalerweise im Sommer trocken und ist leicht zu überqueren. Wenn du während der Regenzeit eine Wanderung machst, könnte der Weg schlammig sein, also hüte dich vor der Wasserüberquerung

Wo in Escondido Falls übernachten

Escondido Falls Park hat keinen Campingplatz. Die nächsten Campingplätze sind Malibu Creek State Park Campground in Santa Monica Mountains, Leo Carrillo State Park Campground und Sycamore Canyon Campground in Point Mugu State Park

Praktische Infos

How do I get to Escondido Falls Trail?

Escondido Canyon Park can be reached from Pacific Coast Highway, about a mile south of Kanan Road. The trail starts at Winding Way parking lot.

How much does it cost to go to Escondido Falls?

Parking at Escondido Canyon Park is $12

Are dogs allowed at Escondido Falls?

Dogs are allowed on the trail, but must be kept on leash

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to travel to Los Angeles

Escondido Falls

A hidden waterfall near Los Angeles is a perfect one-day getaway from the city

Share

Last updated: by Olga Valchyshen
reason default image
See all
0
See accommodations nearby

The tallest waterfall of the Santa Monica Mountains, Escondido Falls is located in Escondido Canyon Park, Malibu. The waterfall consists of three sections or tiers, however, just one of them is fully accessible. The lower section features a drop of 50 feet (15 m), while the upper section has a much more impressive drop of 150 feet (46 m).

How to get to Escondido Falls

The trail to Escondido Falls is one of the easiest and most beautiful Malibu hikes. The Edward Albert Trail is just 4.2 miles (6 km) both ways and could be accessed from Pacific Coast Highway, south of Kanan Road in Malibu. The Edward Albert Trail can be used for walking, biking, or horseback riding.

The trail winds through Escondido Canyon Natural Area featuring oak and riparian woodland and sage scrub. After some walking, you will reach the base of the waterfall with a view of its lower tier. There is also a beautiful grotto located behind the falls. Two upper sections can be reached by a narrow steep path, but keep in mind that they are located on private property and are not accessible to the general public.

When is the best time to visit Escondido Falls

The Escondido Canyon Park is open for visitors year-round. However, the waterfall is dependent on the weather. Escondido Falls looks at its best during the winter months, especially when there is plenty of rainfall. Its flow is reduced to a minimum during the hot and dry periods. Escondido Creek usually goes dry in the summer and is easy to cross. If you go for a hike during the rainy period, the trail could be muddy, so beware of the possible difficulties in crossing the creek.

Where to stay at Escondido Falls

Escondido Falls Park doesn't have a campground. The nearest campgrounds are Malibu Creek State Park Campground in Santa Monica Mountains, Leo Carrillo State Park Campground, and Sycamore Canyon Campground at Point Mugu State Park.

Practical info

How do I get to Escondido Falls Trail?

Escondido Canyon Park can be reached from Pacific Coast Highway, about a mile south of Kanan Road. The trail starts at Winding Way parking lot.

How much does it cost to go to Escondido Falls?

Parking at Escondido Canyon Park is $12

Are dogs allowed at Escondido Falls?

Dogs are allowed on the trail, but must be kept on leash

Ask a question