Quand partir État de New York

Chutes d'Ithaca

Planifiez un pique-nique par l'une des meilleures cascades de l'État

Partager

Dernière mise à jour: par Dari Vasiljeva
reason default image
Voir tout
Voir les hébergements à proximité

Ithaca Falls est une chute d'eau secrète de 32 mètres dans la ville d'Ithaca, New York. Il est accessible à tout le monde et est considéré comme l'une des meilleures chutes de route de l'État. Situé à proximité du centre-ville et près de Stewart Park, c'est un endroit idéal pour se détendre avec un bon livre ou profiter d'un déjeuner pique-nique.

Quand est le meilleur moment pour visiter Ithaca Falls

Bien que vous puissiez visiter les chutes d'Ithaca toute l'année, le meilleur moment pour assister à ce magnifique endroit se déroule entre mai et début octobre, lorsque la chute est en plein flux et les températures sont douces. N'oubliez pas que l'été dans la région peut être assez occupé.

Faits de Ithaca Falls

Formée dans un endroit où le ruisseau Fall croise le creux glaciaire du lac Cayuga, la chute d'eau d'Ithaca présente la dernière d'une série de cascades le long de la vallée suspendue. Les chutes sont situées dans un amphithéâtre formé par le dégel et le gel du schiste faible, constituant la plupart des murs des gorges.

Que faire à Ithaca Falls?

Outre les chutes, il y a un monde de choses à faire autour, comme faire la promenade dans le parc Stuart ou explorer Cayuga Waterfall Trail, qui peut être encore plus excitant. La piscine d'éclaboussures sous les chutes est un endroit populaire pour la pêche à la mouche.

Comment se rendre à Ithaca Falls

Du centre-ville d'Ithaca, prendre Aurora St. nord (1,1 km) jusqu'à la rue Lincoln. Tournez à droite, puis à gauche sur le lac St. Les chutes seront sur la droite. Vous pouvez vous garer sur le petit terrain adjacent aux chutes ou aux rues de la ville voisine.

Où séjourner autour de Ithaca Falls

Si vous prévoyez d'explorer Ithaca et sa périphérie pendant quelques jours, Ithaca by Firelight Camps ou Shorebelt Farm peut offrir les meilleures options à proximité pour votre budget et un repos confortable.

Infos pratiques

How long is the Ithaca Falls hike?

I's a 0.2-mile (0.3 km) hike

How tall is Ithaca Falls?

Ithaca Falls is 105-feet (32-m) high

Where is Ithaca Falls?

Ithaca Falls is located close to downtown Ithaca, state of New York

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Chutes d'Ithaca (carte)

Best time to travel to New York State

Ithaca Falls

Plan a picnic by one of the state's best waterfalls

Share

Last updated: by Dari Vasiljeva
reason default image
See all
0
See accommodations nearby

Ithaca Falls is a secret 105-feet (32-m) high waterfall in the city of Ithaca, New York. It is accessible for everyone and is deemed to be one of the state’s best roadside waterfalls. Situated close to downtown and near Stewart Park, this is a great place to relax with a good book or enjoy a picnic lunch.

When is the best time to visit Ithaca Falls

Although you can visit Ithaca Falls all year round, the best time to witness this magnificent place runs between May and early October, when the waterfall is full-flowing and the temperatures are mild. Just remember that summer in the area can be quite busy.

Ithaca Falls facts

Formed in a place where Fall Creek intersects Cayuga Lake's glacial trough, Ithaca waterfall presents the last of a series of waterfalls along the hanging valley. The falls is located in an amphitheater formed by the thawing and freezing of the weak shale, making up most of the gorge walls.

Things to do at Ithaca Falls

Apart from the falls, there is a world of things to do around, such as promenading in Stuart Park or exploring Cayuga Waterfall Trail, which can be even more exciting. The splash pool below the falls is a popular spot for fly fishing.

How to get to Ithaca Falls

From downtown Ithaca, take Aurora St. north 0.7 miles (1.1 km) to Lincoln St. Turn right, then take a left onto Lake St. The falls will be on the right. You can park on the small lot adjacent to the falls or nearby city streets.

Where to stay around Ithaca Falls

If you plan to explore Ithaca and its outskirts for a couple of days, Ithaca by Firelight Camps or Shelterbelt Farm can offer the best nearby options for your budget and comfortable rest.

Practical info

How long is the Ithaca Falls hike?

I's a 0.2-mile (0.3 km) hike

How tall is Ithaca Falls?

Ithaca Falls is 105-feet (32-m) high

Where is Ithaca Falls?

Ithaca Falls is located close to downtown Ithaca, state of New York

Ask a question