Beste Reisezeit San Diego

Cedar Creek Falls

Einer der beliebtesten Watefalls im San Diego County

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen
Siehe Unterkünfte in der Nähe

Der malerische Cedar Creek Falls liegt im Cleveland National Forest im Osten von San Diego. Der Wasserfall, der etwa 30 Meter hoch ist, stürzt in einen großen Pool, der im Sommer viele Schwimmer anzieht.

Die Cedar Creek Falls können über zwei kurze Wege erreicht werden, sowohl unter 5 Meilen (8 km) als auch mit einem Höhengewinn von etwa 1000 ft (304 m). Der Westweg bei 15519 Thornbush Road kann von Ramona aus erreicht werden, während der Ostweg am Saddleback Hill von Julian aus erreicht werden kann. Cedar Creek Falls ist so beliebt, dass Cleveland National Forest ein Genehmigungssystem einführen muss, um zu verhindern, dass es überfüllt wird.

Die beste Zeit, um Cedar Creek Falls zu besuchen

Cedar Creek Falls ist sehr saisonal. Es sieht am besten aus während des regnerischen Winters und im frühen Frühling. In der trockeneren Zeit des Jahres, wird es dramatisch reduziert oder sogar trocknet vollständig aus. Bis Mitte Mai, wird der Fluss in der Regel wirklich schwach. Auch in den Sommermonaten ist es schwieriger, durch Sonneneinstrahlung zu den Wasserfällen zu wandern. Zusätzlich können Sie größere Menschenmengen in wärmeren Monaten erwarten, da der Pool an der Basis der Wasserfälle ein beliebtes Badeloch ist.

Aktivitäten bei Cedar Creek Falls

Das Cleveland National Forest bietet das ganze Jahr über eine Reihe von Outdoor-Aktivitäten an, die Angeln, Mountainbiken, Reiten, Camping und Wandern beinhalten. Die San Diego River Gorge Area und die Three Sisters Falls gehören zu den beliebtesten Wanderungen in der Gegend. Es gibt zahlreiche Picknickplätze und malerische Ausblicke, wie Henshaw Scenic Vista Observation Site.

Wo übernachten in Cedar Creek Falls kann

In der Nähe von Cuyamaca Rancho State Park und Cleveland National Forest betreiben ein paar Campingplätze, von denen die meisten auf einer First-Come, First-serve-Basis gefüllt sind. Die meisten Campingplätze verlangen eine Nutzungsgebühr, um über Nacht zu bleiben. Die nächsten Campingplätze zu Cedar Creek Falls sind Paso Picacho Campground, Green Valley Campground und Laguna Campground.

Praktische Infos

How far is the walk to Cedar Creek Falls?

5.4 miles (8.7 km)

Can you swim at Three Sisters Falls?

Both Cedar Creek Falls and Three Sisters Falls are popular with swimmers

Are dogs allowed on Cedar Creek Falls Trail?

Dogs are allowed but must be kept on leash

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to travel to San Diego

Cedar Creek Falls

One of the most popular watefalls in San Diego County

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
See accommodations nearby

Picturesque Cedar Creek Falls is located in Cleveland National Forest of eastern San Diego. The waterfall, which is about 100 feet (30 m) tall, plunges into a large pool, which attracts many swimmers in the summer.

Cedar Creek Falls can be reached by two short trails, both under 5 miles (8 km) and with an elevation gain of about 1000 ft (304 m). The west trailhead at 15519 Thornbush Road can be reached from Ramona, while the east trailhead at the Saddleback Hill can be reached from Julian. Cedar Creek Falls is so popular that Cleveland National Forest has to implement a permit system to keep it from being overcrowded.

When is the best time to visit Cedar Creek Falls

Cedar Creek Falls is highly seasonal. It looks the best during the rainy winter and in early spring. In the drier time of the year, it gets dramatically reduced or even dries out completely. By mid-May, the flow usually gets really weak. Also, in the summer months, it's harder to hike to the falls due to exposure to the sun. Additionally, you can expect larger crowds during warmer months since the pool at the base of the falls is a popular swimming hole.

Things to do at Cedar Creek Falls

Cleveland National Forest offers an array of outdoor activities all year round which includes fishing, mountain biking, horseback riding, camping, and hiking. San Diego River Gorge Area and Three Sisters Falls are among the most popular hikes in the area. There are numerous picnic sites and scenic outlooks, like Henshaw Scenic Vista Observation Site.

Where to stay at Cedar Creek Falls

Nearby Cuyamaca Rancho State Park and Cleveland National Forest operate a few campgrounds, most of which are filled on a first-come, first-serve basis. Most campsites charge a user fee to stay overnight. The campsites nearest to Cedar Creek Falls are Paso Picacho Campground, Green Valley Campground, and Laguna Campground.

Practical info

How far is the walk to Cedar Creek Falls?

5.4 miles (8.7 km)

Can you swim at Three Sisters Falls?

Both Cedar Creek Falls and Three Sisters Falls are popular with swimmers

Are dogs allowed on Cedar Creek Falls Trail?

Dogs are allowed but must be kept on leash

Ask a question