Rove.me soutient l’Ukraine 🇺🇦
Quand partir Norvège

Saltstraumen Maelstrom

Le tourbillon le plus puissant du monde qui existe depuis plus de 2000 ans

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Saltstraumen est un détroit avec l'un des courants les plus forts de la planète. Situé dans le comté de Nordland, à environ 10 km (6,2 mi) au sud-est de Bodø, ce court chenal (3 km) et étroit (150 m) relie le Saltfjord et le Skjerstadfjord entre les îles de Straumøya et Knaplundsøya. Le courant de marée dans le détroit est si fort qu'il pousse 400 millions de m3 d'eau de mer à travers le détroit avec une vitesse jusqu'à 37 km/heure. Les courants forment des vortices jusqu'à 10 m de diamètre et 5 m de profondeur. Un moyen de voir Saltstraumen est le pont Saltstraumen situé sur la route du comté de Norvège 17. Les courants sont les plus forts en mars et pendant la pleine lune chaque mois.

Maelstrom signifie « un tourbillon très puissant ».Le mot nordique est devenu international grâce à l'histoire d'Edgar Allan Poe.

Le courant se forme lorsque la marée se déplace vers le fjord de Skjerstad. La différence de hauteur entre le niveau de la mer et le fjord est de près d'un mètre et les vitesses actuelles peuvent être supérieures à 30 km/heure en raison de cette différence. Quand le courant tourne, il est possible de traverser le détroit en bateau et les eaux semblent assez calmes.

L'une des expériences les plus excitantes dans le Saltstraumen est le snorkeling dans le détroit. Les entreprises locales offrent des costumes secs, des masques de plongée et d'autres équipements pour expérimenter la vitesse loin des jacuzzis.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Saltstraumen Maelstrom (carte)

Best time to travel to Norway

Saltstraumen Maelstrom

The strongest whirlpool in the world which has existed for over 2000 years

Saltstraumen Maelstrom in Norway 2019 - Best Time
Photo by

© Régis Picart

Saltstraumen is a strait with one of the strongest currents on the planet. Located in Nordland county, about 10 km (6.2 mi) southeast of Bodø, this short (3 km) and narrow (150 m) channel connects the Saltfjord and the Skjerstadfjord between the islands of Straumøya and Knaplundsøya. The tidal current in the strait is so strong that it pushes 400 million m³ of seawater through the strait with speed up to 37 km/hour. The currents form vortices up to 10 m in diameter and 5 m deep. One way to look at Saltstraumen is the Saltstraumen Bridge located on Norwegian County Road 17. The currents are the strongest in March and during the full moon every month.

Saltstraumen Maelstrom in Norway - Best Season 2020

Maelstrom means a "very powerful whirlpool." The Nordic word became international thanks to Edgar Allan Poe's story “A Descent into the Maelström.”

Best time for Saltstraumen Maelstrom in Norway 2020

The current is formed when the tide moves towards the Skjerstad fjord. The height difference between the sea level and the fjord is almost one meter and the current speeds can be over 30 km/hour because of this difference. When the current turns, it's possible to go through the strait by boat and waters seem quite calm.

Best time to see Saltstraumen Maelstrom in Norway 2020

One of the most thrilling experiences in the Saltstraumen is snorkelling in the strait. Local companies offer dry suits, snorkel masks, and other equipment to experience the speeding away from the whirlpools.

Best time for Saltstraumen Maelstrom 2020

For a detailed tide time schedule, check additional resources.