Beste Reisezeit Indien

Rath Yatra 2024 in Indien

Etwa eine Million lokale und internationale Besucher strömen in die Stadt Puri, um dieses erstaunliche Hindu-Festival zu erleben

Termine: 26. Juni 2025

Rath Yatra
Rath Yatra
Rath Yatra
Rath Yatra

Ratha Yatra ist das jährliche Festival der Charioten im Juni oder Juli in Puri, der Tempelstadt in Odisha an der Ostküste Indiens. Das Fest ist Lord Jagannath (Herr Krishna) gewidmet. Yatra ist die Wagenprozession, die vom Jagannath-Tempel zum Gundicha-Tempel stattfindet. Die Gottheiten des Haupttempels Lord Jagannath, sein Bruder Lord Balabhadra und seine Schwester Göttin Subhadra werden aus dem Tempel herausgenommen und in ihre jeweiligen Wagen gelegt. Die großen, üppig geschmückten Wagen werden von Hunderten von Menschen durch die Hauptstraße getragen, die zum Gundicha-Tempel für etwa 3,2 km führt. Nach einem Aufenthalt in Gundicha für etwa eine Woche, die Gottheiten werden den ganzen Weg zurück.

Ausgiebige Prozessionen, die die Wagen tragen, spielen spezielle Lieder, begleitet von Trommeln, Trompeten und Tamburinen. Die Kinder säumen die Straßen, in denen der Wagen passieren soll, und ergänzen die Feier. Die Wagen sind ca. 14 m hoch und werden von Hunderten von Anhängern gezogen, die sie für eine große Ehre halten. Aus ganz Indien strömen Millionen von Menschen nach Puri für Rath Yatra. Die Veranstaltung wird live auf TV und Webseiten übertragen.

Der Rath Jatra in Puri ist der älteste Rath Jatra der Welt, beschrieben in heiligen Texten wie Brahma Purana, Padma Purana, Skanda Purana und Kapila Samhita. Dies ist auch der einzige Tag, an dem Nicht-Hindus ihren Blick auf die Gottheiten bekommen dürfen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Rath Yatra (Karte)

Zuletzt aktualisiert:

Best time to go to India

Rath Yatra 2019

About a million local and international visitors flock to the city of Puri to witness this amazing Hindu festival

Rath Yatra in India - Best Time
Photo by

© Jeff Henig

Rath Jatra (or Ratha Yatra) is the annual Festival of Chariots celebrated in June or July in Puri, the temple town in Odisha on the east coast of India. The festival is dedicated to Lord Jagannath (Lord Krishna). Yatra is the chariot procession taking place from the Jagannath temple to the Gundicha temple. The deities of the main temple Lord Jagannath, his brother Lord Balabhadra, and his sister Goddess Subhadra are taken out from the temple and placed into their respective chariots. The large lavishly decorated chariots are carried by hundreds of people through the main street leading to the Gundicha temple for about 3,2 km (2 mi). After a stay in Gundicha for about a week, the deities are taken all the way back.

Rath Yatra in India - Best Season

Massive processions carrying the chariots play special songs accompanied with drums, trumpets, and tambourines. Children line the streets where the chariot is supposed to pass adding to the celebration. The chariots are approximately 14 m (45 ft) high and are pulled by hundreds of devotees who consider it a great honour. Millions of people flock to Puri for Rath Yatra from all over India. The event is broadcast live on TV and websites.

Best time for Rath Yatra in India

Rath Jatra in Puri is the oldest Rath Jatra in the world, described in sacred texts such as Brahma Purana, Padma Purana, Skanda Purana, and Kapila Samhita. This is also the only day when non-Hindus are allowed to get their glimpse of the deities.

Best time to see Rath Yatra in India
India
Check best times to visit
India