Quand partir Inde

Route de Kolli Hills

Une route ghat étonnante mais dangereuse avec 70 courbes continues d'épingles à cheveux

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Aussi connu sous le nom de Kollimalai Ghat Road, Kolli Hills Road est comme aucune autre route dans le monde. Cette route pittoresque de montagne dispose de 70 virages à épingles et a une longueur de 29 mi (46,7 km) couvrant une petite chaîne de montagne Kolli Hills, qui sont également connus sous le nom de Kollimalai. Situées dans le centre du Tamil Nadu, sur la côte est de l'Inde méridionale, les montagnes font partie de l'aire de répartition du Ghat de l'Est et ont une altitude de 1 300 mètres, couvrant environ 280 km2.

La route qui commence à Kalappanaickenpatti est une expérience exaltante et belle. Il traverse une forêt tropicale dense avec une vue panoramique sur les plaines vertes luxuriantes en dessous. Les montagnes comportent le temple Arapaleeswarar qui accueille de nombreux pèlerins. Les Kollimalai et sa déesse Ettukkai Amman sont pleins de mythes et de légendes. Ettukkai Amman était la divinité locale qui, selon une légende, a chassé les démons des montagnes avec son sourire enchanteur. En raison des chutes d'eau panoramiques, la région est extrêmement populaire chez les randonneurs. Il peut être visité à n'importe quel moment de l'année. Le mois le plus froid de l'est des Ghats est janvier.

Comment rejoindre la route de Kolli Hills

Partie du quartier de Namakkal, la route de Kolli Hills est la plus proche de la ville de Salem. La ville a un chemin de fer et une gare routière avec une connexion régulière à la capitale de Tamil Nadu, Chennai. La distance entre Salem et Collines Kolli est d'environ 52 mi (85 km). Si vous n'avez pas de voiture, le meilleur moyen d'arriver à Kolli Hills depuis Chennai est de prendre un bus, puis de louer un taxi à Salem pour traverser les montagnes.

Kolli Hills est sûr de la route

Kolli Hills route est difficile à conduire en raison de ses nombreuses courbes d'épingle à cheveux, mais il n'est pas trop dangereux par les normes routières ghat. Le tronçon le plus délicat de la route est une ascension qui part de Karavalli et se termine à Solakkau. Cette route de 20 km comporte la plupart des virages et un gain d'altitude de 3 149 pi (960 m). C'est assez raide avec un gradient d'environ 5%.

Où loger: Kolli Hills resorts

Kolli Hills quartier célèbre pour sa nature intime dispose de nombreux hôtels et lodges, également appelés resorts. Ces stations 2 ou 3 étoiles sont tout à fait abordables. Semmedu offre le plus grand choix d'hébergement. C'est aussi un excellent endroit pour s'arrêter pour le déjeuner ou le dîner. Si vous passez la nuit, vous pouvez visiter de belles plantations de poivre, des fermes d'herbes médicinales et des champs de paddy. Il y a aussi une vue panoramique populaire: Seekuparai point de vue et les chutes Agaya Gangai à quelques kilomètres de Semmedu.

Lieux touristiques de Kollimalai

La plus grande attraction touristique de la région est les chutes Agaya Gangai nourries par la rivière Aiyaru. Agaya Gangai est traduit par Gange du ciel. La chute d'eau peut être atteinte depuis le temple Arapaleeswarar situé au sommet des collines Kolli. Il faut descendre 1302 marches pour arriver aux chutes du temple. Agaya Gangai mesure 91 mètres de haut. D'autres attractions incluent les grottes de Kalaanginatha Siddhar et Korakka Siddhar dans la jungle à proximité. Il y a aussi des plantations de café et de thé dans la région.

Infos pratiques

What is the height of Kolli Hills?

Eastern Ghat range has an elevation of 4,265 ft (1,300 m)

Which district is Kollimalai?

Kollimalai is located in the Namakkal District, 28 mi (45 km) from Namakkal

How many steps in Kollimalai Falls?

There are 1302 steps between Arapaleeswarar temple and the falls

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Route de Kolli Hills (carte)

Best time to visit India

Kolli Hills Road

An amazing but dangerous ghat road with 70 continuous hairpin bends

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all

Also known as Kollimalai Ghat Road, Kolli Hills Road is like no other road in the world. This scenic mountain route features 70 hairpin bends and has a length of 29 mi (46.7 km) covering a small mountain range Kolli Hills, which are also known as Kollimalai. Located in central Tamil Nadu on the east coast of South India, the mountains are part of the broader Eastern Ghat range and have an elevation of 4,265 ft (1,300 m) covering about 70,000 acres (280 km²).

The road that starts in Kalappanaickenpatti is an exhilarating and beautiful experience. It goes through a dense tropical forest with panoramic views of the lush green plains below. The mountains feature the Arapaleeswarar temple that receives many pilgrims. The Kollimalai and its Goddess Ettukkai Amman are full of myths and legends. Ettukkai Amman was the local deity who, according to a legend, chased away the demons from the mountains with her enchanting smile. Due to scenic waterfalls, the area is extremely popular with hikers. It can be visited at any time of the year. The chilliest month in the Easten Ghats is January.

How to reach Kolli Hills road

Part of Namakkal district, Kolli Hills road is the closest to the city of Salem. The city has a railway and a bus station with a regular connection to the capital of Tamil Nadu, Chennai. The distance between Salem and Kolli Hills is about 52 mi (85 km). If you don't have a car, the best way to get to Kolli Hills from Chennai is to ride on a bus, and then hire a taxi in Salem to ride through the mountains.

Is Kolli Hills road safe

Kolli Hills road is hard to drive due to its numerous hairpin bends, but it's not too dangerous by ghat road standards. The most tricky section of the road is an ascent that starts from Karavalli and ends at Solakkau. This 12-mi (20-km) route features most of the bends and an elevation gain of 3,149 ft (960 m). It's quite steep with a gradient of about 5%.

Where to stay: Kolli Hills resorts

Kolli Hills area famous for its pristine nature features many hotels and lodges, also called resorts. These 2- or 3-star resorts are quite affordable. Semmedu offers the largest choice of accommodation. It's also an excellent spot to stop for lunch or dinner. If you stay overnight, you can visit beautiful pepper plantations, medicinal herb farms, and paddy fields. There is also a popular scenic outlook: Seekuparai viewpoint and the Agaya Gangai Falls in just a few miles from Semmedu.

Kollimalai tourist places

The biggest tourist attraction of the area is Agaya Gangai Falls fed by the river Aiyaru. Agaya Gangai is translated as Ganges of Sky. The waterfall can be reached from the Arapaleeswarar temple located on top of the Kolli Hills. One has to go down 1302 steps to get to the falls from the temple. Agaya Gangai is 300 feet (91 m) tall. Other attractions include the caves of Kalaanginatha Siddhar and Korakka Siddhar in the jungle nearby. There are also coffee and tea plantations in the area.

Practical info

What is the height of Kolli Hills?

Eastern Ghat range has an elevation of 4,265 ft (1,300 m)

Which district is Kollimalai?

Kollimalai is located in the Namakkal District, 28 mi (45 km) from Namakkal

How many steps in Kollimalai Falls?

There are 1302 steps between Arapaleeswarar temple and the falls

Ask a question

Find hotels and airbnbs near Kolli Hills Road (Map)