Quand partir Tennessee

La queue de la route du dragon à Deals Gap

Une conduite extrêmement curvy entre la Caroline du Nord et le Tennessee, excellente pour les motos et les voitures de sport

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

La queue du dragon à Deals Gap est une route pittoresque vallonnée qui s'étend sur la frontière entre la Caroline du Nord et le Tennessee. Elle atteint une altitude de 606 mètres, passant le long de la frontière sud-ouest du parc national des Grands Monts-Smoky, près du Petit Tennessee. Le Dragon's Tail Road dispose de 318 courbes sur 18 km, ce qui en fait une destination de choix pour les motos et les voitures de sport aux États-Unis. Ce disque célèbre est présenté dans au moins quatre films : Thunder Road (1958), Two-Lane Blacktop (1971), The Fugitive (1993) et In Dreams (1999).

Où est la queue de la route du Dragon

La queue du Dragon est située à Deals Gap et fait partie des États-Unis. Route 129 dans le comté de Blount, Tennessee, et le comté de Swain, Caroline du Nord. Le trajet est également appelé route Tapoco dans le NC et Calderwood Highway dans le TN. Le tournage tourne depuis la frontière Caroline du Nord/Tennessee (Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC) et se termine devant le lac Chilhowee, TN. Certaines des courbes les plus nettes de la route ont leur propre nom : Copperhead Corner, Wheelie Hell, Hog Pen Bend, Shade Tree Corner, Sunset Corner, Gravity Cavity, Mud Corner, Principiant's End, et Frein ou Bust Bend.

Meilleur moment pour conduire la queue du Dragon

Même si la route de la queue du Dragon pourrait rester ouverte tout au long de l'année, le meilleur moment pour emprunter la route est d'avril à octobre en raison des conditions de sécurité routière et des températures douces des montagnes. Pendant l'hiver, le temps sur la route peut être rude et imprévisible avec des chutes de neige occasionnelles, des blizzards et des conditions glacées. Cependant, la saison froide a un avantage : une bonne visibilité sur les courbes puisque les arbres sont sans feuilles.

Combien de temps faut-il pour monter sur la queue du Dragon?

La vitesse maximale sur la route est de 48 km/h (48 km/h). Vous pouvez donc effectuer un voyage aller-retour en environ 30 minutes. Le temps nécessaire dépendra de la façon dont vous conduisez ainsi que de l'ensemble du trafic. Quoi qu'il en soit, soyez prudent, car il y a eu des morts enregistrées sur le Dragon. Les 37 décès ont eu lieu entre 2000 et 2017.

Camping près de la Queue du Dragon

Si vous souhaitez rester plus longtemps et reposer votre tête sur le Dragon, consultez quelques-unes de ses meilleures options de camping. Vous trouverez des terrains de camping, des cabines de camping et des connexions RV. Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort, Hunt's Lodge Motorcycle Campground, et Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge sont des choix excellents si vous cherchez un endroit propice à la moto.

Queue de la carte Dragon & choses à faire

Lorsque vous êtes prêt à visiter la queue du dragon, vous pourriez avoir un regard de plus près sur la carte ci-dessous et trouver des hôtels à proximité. Faites vos réservations à l'avance comme cette destination a été de plus en plus populaire ces derniers temps. En outre, envisagez d'inclure d'autres activités amusantes dans votre programme d'évasion. Consultez une promenade panoramique proche de Little River Road, visitez certaines des chutes d'eau du Tennessee à proximité, entrevoir la migration des colibris, ou voir les couleurs d'automne autour de Gatlinburg.

Infos pratiques

Where is the Tail of the Dragon Road?

It's located on U.S. Route 129 at Deals Gap, North Carolina/Tennessee border.

How long does it take to ride the Tail of the Dragon?

Around half an hour for one way.

How far is the Tail of the Dragon from Pigeon Forge?

The northwest tip of the Dragon's Tail (at Chilhowee Lake) is approximately 45 miles (73 km) southwest of Pigeon Forge.

How far is the Tail of the Dragon from Gatlinburg?

The northwest tip of the Dragon's Tail (at Chilhowee Lake) is approximately 50 miles (80 km) southwest of Gatlinburg.

Poser une question

Best time to visit Tennessee

Tail of the Dragon Road at Deals Gap

An extremely curvy drive between North Carolina and Tennessee, excellent for motorcycles and sport cars

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
0

The Tail of the Dragon at Deals Gap is a scenic hilly road stretching on the border between North Carolina and Tennessee. It reaches an elevation of 1,988 feet (606 m), passing along the southwest border of Great Smoky Mountains National Park near the Little Tennessee River. The Dragon's Tail Road boasts 318 curves in 11 miles (18 km), which makes it a premier destination for motorcycles and sports cars in the USA. This famous drive was featured in at least four movies: Thunder Road (1958), Two-Lane Blacktop (1971), The Fugitive (1993), and In Dreams (1999).

Where is the Tail of the Dragon Road

The Tail of the Dragon is located at Deals Gap and is a part of U.S. Route 129 in Blount County, Tennessee, and Swain County, North Carolina. The drive is also called Tapoco Road in NC and Calderwood Highway in TN. The twisting ride runs from the North Carolina/Tennessee border (Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC) and finishes in front of Chilhowee Lake, TN. Some of the sharpest curves of the road have their own names: Copperhead Corner, Wheelie Hell, Hog Pen Bend, Shade Tree Corner, Sunset Corner, Gravity Cavity, Mud Corner, Beginner's End, and Brake or Bust Bend.

Best time to drive Tail of the Dragon

Even though the Dragon's Tail Road could remain open throughout the year, the best time to use the road is from April to October due to safe road conditions and mild mountain temperatures. During winter, the weather on the road can be harsh and unpredictable with occasional heavy snowfalls, blizzards, and icy conditions. However, the cold season has one advantage—good visibility on the curves since the trees are leafless.

How long does it take to ride the Tail of the Dragon

The speed limit on the road is 30 miles per hour (48 kph). So you can complete a one-way trip in about 30 minutes. The time needed will depend on how you drive as well as the overall traffic. Anyways, be cautious, as there have been some fatalities recorded on the Dragon. The sheer 37 deaths occurred between 2000 and 2017.

Camping near Tail of the Dragon

If you wish to stay longer and rest your head on the Dragon, check out some of its best camping options. You'll find campgrounds, camp cabins, and RV hookups. Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort, Hunt's Lodge Motorcycle Campground, and Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge are great choices if you're looking for a motorcycle-friendly place.

Tail of the Dragon map & things to do

When you're up to visiting the Dragon's Tail, you might want to have a closer look at the map below and find hotels nearby. Make your bookings in advance as this destination has been increasingly popular lately. Also, consider including other fun activities in your getaway program. Check out a close scenic drive of Little River Road, visit some of Tennessee waterfalls nearby, glimpse hummingbird migration, or behold the fall colors around Gatlinburg.

Practical info

Where is the Tail of the Dragon Road?

It's located on U.S. Route 129 at Deals Gap, North Carolina/Tennessee border.

How long does it take to ride the Tail of the Dragon?

Around half an hour for one way.

How far is the Tail of the Dragon from Pigeon Forge?

The northwest tip of the Dragon's Tail (at Chilhowee Lake) is approximately 45 miles (73 km) southwest of Pigeon Forge.

How far is the Tail of the Dragon from Gatlinburg?

The northwest tip of the Dragon's Tail (at Chilhowee Lake) is approximately 50 miles (80 km) southwest of Gatlinburg.

Ask a question