Beste Reisezeit Tennessee

Der Schwanz der Dragon Road bei Deals Gap

Eine extrem kurvige Fahrt zwischen North Carolina und Tennessee, ausgezeichnet für Motorräder und Sportwagen

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen
0

Das Tal des Drachen bei Deals Gap ist eine malerische hügelige Straße, die sich an der Grenze zwischen North Carolina und Tennessee erstreckt. Sie erreicht eine Höhe von 606 m und verläuft entlang der südwestlichen Grenze des Great Smoky Mountains National Park in der Nähe des Little Tennessee River. Die Dragon's Tail Road verfügt über 318 Kurven in 11 Meilen (18 km), was sie zu einem führenden Ziel für Motorräder und Sportwagen in den USA macht. Diese berühmte Fahrt wurde in mindestens vier Filmen gezeigt: Thunder Road (1958), Two-Lane Blacktop (1971), The Fugitive (1993) und In Dreams (1999).

Wo ist der Tail der Dragon Road?

Der Schwanz des Drachen befindet sich bei Deals Gap und ist ein Teil der U.S. Route 129 in Blount County, Tennessee und Swain County, North Carolina. Die Fahrt wird auch Tapoco Road in NC und Calderwood Highway in TN genannt. Die Fahrt führt von der North Carolina/Tennessee Grenze (Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC) und endet vor dem Chilhowee Lake, TN. Einige der schärfsten Kurven der Straße haben ihre eigenen Namen: Copperhead Corner, Wheelie Hell, Hog Pen Bend, Shade Tree Corner, Sunset Corner, Gravity Cavity, Mud Corner, Beginner's End und Brake or Bust Bend.

Die beste Zeit, um Tail des Drachen zu fahren

Auch wenn die Dragon's Tail Road das ganze Jahr über geöffnet bleiben konnte, ist die beste Zeit, um die Straße zu benutzen, von April bis Oktober wegen sicherer Straßenverhältnisse und milden Bergtemperaturen. Im Winter kann das Wetter auf der Straße hart und unberechenbar sein mit gelegentlichen schweren Schneefällen, Schneesturm und eisigen Bedingungen. Die kalte Jahreszeit hat jedoch einen Vorteil – gute Sicht auf die Kurven, da die Bäume blattlos sind.

Wie lange dauert es, um den Schwanz des Drachen zu reiten?

Die Geschwindigkeitsbegrenzung auf der Straße ist 30 Meilen pro Stunde (48 kph). So können Sie eine Einweg-Reise in etwa 30 Minuten abschließen. Die Zeit, die benötigt wird, hängt davon ab, wie Sie fahren sowie der gesamte Verkehr. Wie auch immer, seien Sie vorsichtig, da es einige Todesfälle auf dem Drachen aufgezeichnet worden sind. Die insgesamt 37 Todesfälle ereigneten sich zwischen 2000 und 2017.

Camping in der Nähe von Tail des Drachen

Wenn Sie länger bleiben und Ihren Kopf auf dem Drachen ruhen möchten, überprüfen Sie einige der besten Camping-Optionen. Sie finden Campingplätze, Camping-Kabinen und Wohnmobil-Anschlüsse. Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort, Hunt's Lodge Motorcycle Campground und Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge sind eine gute Wahl, wenn Sie nach einem motorradfreundlichen Ort suchen.

Tail der Drachen-Karte & Dinge zu tun

Wenn Sie die Dragon's Tail besuchen möchten, sollten Sie sich die Karte unten genauer ansehen und Hotels in der Nähe finden. Machen Sie Ihre Buchungen im Voraus, da dieses Ziel in letzter Zeit immer beliebter wurde. Berücksichtigen Sie auch, andere lustige Aktivitäten in Ihrem Fluchtprogramm miteinzubeziehen. Sehen Sie sich eine malerische Fahrt von der Little River Road an, besuchen Sie einige Tennessee Wasserfälle in der Nähe, schauen Sie sich Kolibri Migration, oder sehen Sie die Herbstfarben rund um Gatlinburg.

Praktische Infos

Where is the Tail of the Dragon Road?

It's located on U.S. Route 129 at Deals Gap, North Carolina/Tennessee border.

How long does it take to ride the Tail of the Dragon?

Around half an hour for one way.

How far is the Tail of the Dragon from Pigeon Forge?

The northwest tip of the Dragon's Tail (at Chilhowee Lake) is approximately 45 miles (73 km) southwest of Pigeon Forge.

How far is the Tail of the Dragon from Gatlinburg?

The northwest tip of the Dragon's Tail (at Chilhowee Lake) is approximately 50 miles (80 km) southwest of Gatlinburg.

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to visit Tennessee

Tail of the Dragon Road at Deals Gap

An extremely curvy drive between North Carolina and Tennessee, excellent for motorcycles and sport cars

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
0

The Tail of the Dragon at Deals Gap is a scenic hilly road stretching on the border between North Carolina and Tennessee. It reaches an elevation of 1,988 feet (606 m), passing along the southwest border of Great Smoky Mountains National Park near the Little Tennessee River. The Dragon's Tail Road boasts 318 curves in 11 miles (18 km), which makes it a premier destination for motorcycles and sports cars in the USA. This famous drive was featured in at least four movies: Thunder Road (1958), Two-Lane Blacktop (1971), The Fugitive (1993), and In Dreams (1999).

Where is the Tail of the Dragon Road

The Tail of the Dragon is located at Deals Gap and is a part of U.S. Route 129 in Blount County, Tennessee, and Swain County, North Carolina. The drive is also called Tapoco Road in NC and Calderwood Highway in TN. The twisting ride runs from the North Carolina/Tennessee border (Tapoco Road, Robbinsville, NC) and finishes in front of Chilhowee Lake, TN. Some of the sharpest curves of the road have their own names: Copperhead Corner, Wheelie Hell, Hog Pen Bend, Shade Tree Corner, Sunset Corner, Gravity Cavity, Mud Corner, Beginner's End, and Brake or Bust Bend.

Best time to drive Tail of the Dragon

Even though the Dragon's Tail Road could remain open throughout the year, the best time to use the road is from April to October due to safe road conditions and mild mountain temperatures. During winter, the weather on the road can be harsh and unpredictable with occasional heavy snowfalls, blizzards, and icy conditions. However, the cold season has one advantage—good visibility on the curves since the trees are leafless.

How long does it take to ride the Tail of the Dragon

The speed limit on the road is 30 miles per hour (48 kph). So you can complete a one-way trip in about 30 minutes. The time needed will depend on how you drive as well as the overall traffic. Anyways, be cautious, as there have been some fatalities recorded on the Dragon. The sheer 37 deaths occurred between 2000 and 2017.

Camping near Tail of the Dragon

If you wish to stay longer and rest your head on the Dragon, check out some of its best camping options. You'll find campgrounds, camp cabins, and RV hookups. Deals Gap Motorcycle Resort, Hunt's Lodge Motorcycle Campground, and Iron Horse Motorcycle Lodge are great choices if you're looking for a motorcycle-friendly place.

Tail of the Dragon map & things to do

When you're up to visiting the Dragon's Tail, you might want to have a closer look at the map below and find hotels nearby. Make your bookings in advance as this destination has been increasingly popular lately. Also, consider including other fun activities in your getaway program. Check out a close scenic drive of Little River Road, visit some of Tennessee waterfalls nearby, glimpse hummingbird migration, or behold the fall colors around Gatlinburg.

Practical info

Where is the Tail of the Dragon Road?

It's located on U.S. Route 129 at Deals Gap, North Carolina/Tennessee border.

How long does it take to ride the Tail of the Dragon?

Around half an hour for one way.

How far is the Tail of the Dragon from Pigeon Forge?

The northwest tip of the Dragon's Tail (at Chilhowee Lake) is approximately 45 miles (73 km) southwest of Pigeon Forge.

How far is the Tail of the Dragon from Gatlinburg?

The northwest tip of the Dragon's Tail (at Chilhowee Lake) is approximately 50 miles (80 km) southwest of Gatlinburg.

Ask a question