Beste Reisezeit Utah

Guardsman Pass

Eine der schönsten Fahrten der Park City

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Der Guardsman Pass ist eines der besten Backcountry-Destinationen im Salt Lake County, Utah. Mit einer Höhe von 9,717 Fuß (2.962 m) über dem Meeresspiegel, ist es ein ausgezeichneter Ort für Klettern, Wandern und Camping. Der Pass kann über zwei Straßen erreicht werden: eine asphaltierte Big Cottonwood Canyon Road und eine Schotter-Guardsman Pass Road.

Wann ist der Guardsman Pass Road geöffnet

Die Guardsman Pass Straße ist normalerweise den ganzen Winter wegen starker Schneefälle geschlossen. Die Straße ist von Mai bis Oktober geöffnet, aber manchmal ist sie bis Ende Juni zugänglich. Um sicherzustellen, dass die Straße offen ist überprüfen Sie die neuesten Updates auf der Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) Website. Im Sommer, Guardsman Pass Straße ist ziemlich sicher und gut genug auch für ein 2WD Auto. Die beste Zeit für eine Fahrt auf dieser Straße ist während des Herbstes, wenn Bäume in verschiedenen Farben von Rot und Orange verziert sind.

Wie man zum Guardsman Pass von Park City kommt

Der Guardsman Pass befindet sich auf dem 22 km langen Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway, der Park City und das Skigebiet Brighton verbindet. Um auf diese Straße fahren Sie durch die Innenstadt von Park City auf Prospect Street und dann weiter südlich auf Hwy 224 - die Guardsman Pass Road. Sie werden bald die Berggipfel und Skilifte sehen. Die Straße klettert bis zu 6,8 Meilen (11 km). Eine durchschnittliche Steigung von 7% mit 808 m Höhe macht diese Straße eher moderat. Auf dem Gipfel können die Fahrer einen Panoramablick in jede Richtung genießen. Die Straße endet mit einer Gabelung, wo Sie wählen müssen, ob Sie nach Brighton, dem Salt Lake Valley oder Midway in Heber Valley gehen. Wenn Sie nach Brighton fahren, passieren Sie das Skigebiet Brighton und den Big Cottonwood Canyon. Die Mittelwegstraße führt zum Wasatch Mountain State Park, bevor sie in die Stadt absteigt. Die Fahrt ist etwa eine Stunde lang.

Wie man zum Guardsman Pass von Salt Lake City kommt

Sie können zu Guardsman Pass von Salt Lake City mit der Autobahn 190 oder Big Cottonwood Canyon Drive, die ganzjährig betrieben. Es ist eine wichtige Straße zu allen besten Skigebieten im Winter. Der obere Abschnitt rund um den Guardsman Pass ist jedoch oft wegen Schnee im Winter geschlossen. Die 53 km lange Fahrt zwischen Salt Lake City und Guardsman Pass Scenic Overlook dauert etwa 45 Minuten.

Begebene Wanderungen in der Nähe des Guardsman Pass

Im Sommer ist das Gebiet zwischen Cottonwood Canyon und Park City Ski Area berühmt für seine Wanderwege, Seen, Wildblumenbeobachtungen und Campingplätze. Im Herbst bietet es erstaunliche Herbstlaubansichten.

Pfade des Guardsman Pass

Der Bloods Lake befindet sich direkt unter dem Guardsman Pass. Dieser kleine See auf dem Big Cottonwood Canyon hat eine Insel und malerische Klippen. Der 4,5-km-Weg mit Panoramablick auf das Hebertal ist ein weiterer schöner See im Wasatch-Gebirge, der über einen 3,7-km-Weg vom Guardsman Pass aus leicht zu erreichen ist.

Pfade zum Cottonwood Canyon

Die Brighton Lakes eingebettet in Big Cottonwood Canyon, ist ein schönes Wanderziel, das vom Brighton Resort Lodge Trailhead am Ende der Big Cottonwood Canyon Road erreicht werden kann. Sie können auch zum Lake Blanche, Donut Falls oder Butler Fork wandern. Alle Trailheads befinden sich verkehrsgünstig entlang des Highway 190.

Wo übernachten?

Der Wasatch Mountain State Park ist ein idealer Ausgangspunkt, um die Gegend zu erkunden. Der Pine Creek Campground im Park bietet klassische Campingplätze sowie Zelte, Hütten, Tees und Jurten für die abenteuerlichsten Camper. Spruces Campground im Big Cottonwood Canyon ist eine weitere gute Option, zusammen mit Redman Campground auf einer Höhe von 8.300 Fuß (2.529 m). Die Gegend eignet sich hervorragend zum Angeln, Mountainbiken, Wildblumen- und Tierbeobachtungen sowie für andere Outdoor-Aktivitäten.

Praktische Infos

How long does it take to drive to Guardsman Pass from Salt Lake City?

45 minutes

How long is Guardsman Pass?

Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway is 14 miles (22 km) long

How dangerous is Guardsman Pass Road?

The road is rather steep and can become dangerous in wet weather. But when the conditions are dry, it's quite safe

When is Guardsman Pass open?

Guardsman Pass Road opens in May or June and closes in late October

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to visit Utah

Guardsman Pass

One of the Park City's most beautiful drives

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
0

Guardsman Pass is one of the best backcountry destinations in Salt Lake County, Utah. With an elevation of 9,717 feet (2,962 m) above sea level, it's an excellent spot for rock climbing, hiking, and camping. The pass can be reached by two roads: an asphalted Big Cottonwood Canyon Road and a gravel Guardsman Pass Road.

When is Guardsman Pass Road open

Guardsman Pass road is usually closed all winter due to heavy snowfalls. The road is open from May to October, but sometimes it gets accessible as late as June. To make sure the road is open check the latest updates at the Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) website. In the summer, Guardsman Pass road is quite safe and good enough even for a 2WD car. The best time to take a ride on this road is during the fall when trees are embellished in various hues of red and orange.

How to get to Guardsman Pass from Park City

Guardsman Pass lies on the 14-mile (22-km) Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway that connects Park City and Brighton Ski Resort. To get on that road drive through downtown Park City on Prospect Street and then continue south on Hwy 224—the Guardsman Pass Road. You'll soon see the mountaintops and ski lifts. The road climbs up to 6.8 miles (11 km). A 7% average gradient with 2,651 feet (808 m) of elevation gain makes this road rather moderate. At the summit, drivers can enjoy panoramic views in any direction. The road ends with a fork, where you have to choose whether to go to Brighton, the Salt Lake Valley, or Midway in Heber Valley. If you go to Brighton, you'll pass Brighton Ski Resort and Big Cottonwood Canyon. Midway road leads to Wasatch Mountain State Park before descending to town. The drive is about one hour long.

How to get to Guardsman Pass from Salt Lake City

You can get to Guardsman Pass from Salt Lake City by highway 190 or Big Cottonwood Canyon Drive that operates year-round. It's an important road to all of the area's best ski resorts during winter. However, the top section around Guardsman Pass is often closed due to snow during winter. The 33-mile (53-km) drive between Salt Lake City and Guardsman Pass Scenic Overlook takes about 45 minutes.

Scenic hikes near Guardsman Pass

In the summer, the area between Cottonwood Canyon and Park City Ski Area is famous for its hiking trails, lakes, wildflower watching, and campgrounds. In the autumn, it offers amazing fall foliage views.

Guardsman Pass trails

Bloods Lake is located just below Guardsman Pass. This small lake on top of Big Cottonwood Canyon has an island and picturesque cliffs. The 2.8-mile (4.5-km) trail features panoramic views of the Heber valley. Lackawaxen Lake is another beautiful lake in the Wasatch Mountains that can be easily reached from Guardsman Pass via a 2.3-mile (3.7-km) trail.

Cottonwood Canyon trails

The Brighton Lakes nestled in Big Cottonwood Canyon, is a beautiful hiking destination that can be reached from the Brighton Resort Lodge trailhead at the end of Big Cottonwood Canyon Road. You can also hike to Lake Blanche, Donut Falls, or Butler Fork. All trailheads are conveniently located along Highway 190.

Where to stay

Wasatch Mountain State Park is a perfect base to explore the area. Pine Creek Campground at the park offers classic campsites as well as tents, cabins, teepees, and yurts for the most adventurous campers. Spruces Campground located in Big Cottonwood Canyon is another good option along with Redman Campground located at an elevation of 8,300 feet (2,529 m). The area is excellent for fishing, mountain biking, wildflower and wildlife viewing as well as other outdoor activities.

Practical info

How long does it take to drive to Guardsman Pass from Salt Lake City?

45 minutes

How long is Guardsman Pass?

Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway is 14 miles (22 km) long

How dangerous is Guardsman Pass Road?

The road is rather steep and can become dangerous in wet weather. But when the conditions are dry, it's quite safe

When is Guardsman Pass open?

Guardsman Pass Road opens in May or June and closes in late October

Ask a question