Beste Reisezeit Hongkong

"Monstergebäude" in Quarry Bay

Verpassen Sie nicht dieses "Meisterstück" der urbanen Architektur, das typisch für überbevölkerte Hongkong ist

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Dieses Gebäude ist wahrscheinlich die Instagram-Website von Hong Kong und eine perfekte Abbildung für dichte Gehäuse in einer Megapolis. Es wird als "Monster Building" aufgrund einer unglaublichen Konglomeration von fünf Wohnkomplexen – Okeanische Mansion, Fook Cheong Building, Montane Mansion, Yick Cheong Building und Yick Fat Building. Der Komplex ist auch bekannt als Yik Cheong Building, eines der berühmtesten Gebäude in Quarry Bay.

Die fünf miteinander verbundenen Türme wurden in den 1960er Jahren gebaut. Die einzelnen Einheiten werden übereinander gestapelt und schaffen einen bunten Wandteppich aus Fenstern. Diese ikonische Seite wurde sogar in Hollywood Blockbusters wie 'Ghost in the Shell' und 'Transformers: Age of Extinction' vorgestellt.

Um das Monster Building zu besuchen, nehmen Sie die Ausfahrt A in der Quarry Bay MTR Station und gehen Sie entlang der King-Road in Richtung Tai Koo. Nach der Kreuzung zum Mount Parker gelangen Sie zum Eingang zum Montane Mansion und Oceanic Mansion. Es dauert nur zwei-drei Minuten, um dorthin zu gelangen.

Nach dem raschen Wachstum der Popularität des Gebäudes wurde die öffentliche Fotografie des ikonischen Turmkomplexes verboten, um die Privatsphäre der Bewohner zu schützen. So könnte es schwierig sein, das Traumfoto im Innenhof zu machen.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von "Monstergebäude" in Quarry Bay (Karte)

Best time to visit Hong Kong

Quarry Bay 'Monster Building'

Don't miss this "masterpiece" of urban architecture, which is typical for overpopulated Hong Kong

Quarry Bay 'Monster Building' in Hong Kong 2019 - Best Time
Photo by

Jonathan Leung

This building is probably the most Instagrammed site of Hong Kong and a perfect illustration for dense housing in a megapolis. It is called ‘Monster Building’ due to an unbelievable conglomeration of five residential complexes—Oceanic Mansion, Fook Cheong Building, Montane Mansion, Yick Cheong Building, and Yick Fat Building. The complex is also known as Yik Cheong Building, one of the most famous buildings in Quarry Bay.

The five interconnected towers were built in the 1960s. Individual units are stacked one on top of the other and create a colourful tapestry of windows. This iconic site has even been featured in Hollywood blockbusters like 'Ghost in the Shell' and 'Transformers: Age of Extinction.'

To visit the Monster Building, take exit A at Quarry Bay MTR Station and walk along King’s Road toward Tai Koo. After passing the junction to Mount Parker, you get to the entrance to Montane Mansion and Oceanic Mansion. It only takes two-three minutes to get there.

After rapid growth in the building's popularity, the public photographing of the iconic tower complex has been banned to protect residents' privacy. So it might be challenging to take the dream photo in the inner courtyard.

Hong Kong
Check best times to visit
Hong Kong