Beste Reisezeit England

Isle of Wight Festival 2021

Dieses Festival ist alles über Eskapismus dank seiner atmosphärischen Lage

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Disclaimer: Due to COVID-19 concerns, many events might be canceled, postponed, or changed into limited versions, sometimes at very short notice. Please check with event organizers directly for the latest updates (view the "External Resources" section below).

Das Isle of Wight Festival in Newport gilt als das älteste große Sommerfestival im Vereinigten Königreich. Das Erbe dieser jährlichen Veranstaltung reicht über 45 Jahre zurück und ist unglaublich abwechslungsreich und reich

Das Isle of Wight Festival begann mit Veranstaltungen, die von 1968 bis 1970 stattfanden und als europäisches Äquivalent zu Woodstock deklariert wurden. 1970 waren Joni Mitchell, Jimi Hendrix, The Doors, The Who, Leonard Cohen und andere, die über 600.000 Menschen spielten. Das Ereignis wurde als eine der größten menschlichen Versammlungen der Welt bezeichnet.

Ursprünglich wurde die Serie von The Isle of Wight von Ron und Ray Foulk unter dem Banner ihrer Firma Fiery Creations Limited organisiert und gefördert. Das Festival wurde zwischen 1970 und 2002 in Pause gesetzt und dann vom etablierten Musikpromoter John Giddings, der immer noch jeden Teil des Festivals kuratiert, wieder ins Leben gerufen. Seitdem sind David Bowie, Paul McCartney, The Who, Kasabian, The Rolling Stones, Jay-Z, Fleetwood Mac, Muse und viele mehr auf den Bühnen des Isle of Wight Festival zu Gast.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Isle of Wight Festival (Karte)

Best time to go to England

Isle of Wight Festival 2018

This festival is all about escapism thanks to its atmospheric location

Isle of Wight Festival in England - Best Time
Photo by

© isleofwightfestival.com

The Isle of Wight Festival in Newport is considered to be the oldest major summer festival in the United Kingdom. The heritage of this annual event reaches back over 45 years and is incredibly varied and rich.

Isle of Wight Festival in England - Best Season

The Isle of Wight Festival started with events which were held from 1968 through 1970 and were declared as Europe’s equivalent of Woodstock. In 1970, a 5-day line up included Joni Mitchell, Jimi Hendrix, The Doors, The Who, Leonard Cohen and others who played to over 600,000 people. The event was said to be one of the largest human gatherings in the world.

Best time for Isle of Wight Festival in England

Initially, the series of The Isle of Wight was organised and promoted by Ron and Ray Foulk under the banner of their company Fiery Creations Limited. The festival was put on pause between 1970 and 2002 and then re-launched by established music promoter, John Giddings, who still curates every part of the Festival. Since then, The Isle of Wight Festival stages have hosted David Bowie, Paul McCartney, The Who, Kasabian, The Rolling Stones, Jay-Z, Fleetwood Mac, Muse and many more.

Best time to see Isle of Wight Festival in England
Best time for Isle of Wight Festival

Isle of Wight Festival Map & Location

Check best times to visit
England