Quand partir Floride

Observation des oiseaux

Floride, avec ses nombreux lacs et îles est un endroit idéal pour un orchestre

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

La riche vie aviaire de Floride attire de nombreux amateurs d'oiseaux. L'attraction ultime est le Great Florida Birding and Wildlife Trail qui est un réseau de 510 sites d'observation de la faune premier couvrant presque tout l'état

La partie sud de la Floride est célèbre pour Everglades National Park, Florida Keys et Tortugas secs, où un grand nombre d'oiseaux terrestres migrants arrivent en avril, ainsi que Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge, situé à l'ouest de West Palm Beach. Vous trouverez beaucoup de hérons, d'épinettes et d'anhingas à tout moment, et beaucoup d'oiseaux de rivage en hiver.

Merritt Island situé dans le centre de la Floride près d'Orlando est un site d'oiseaux de premier plan avec plus de 330 espèces. Sur l'île, visitez le fameux Black Point Wildlife Drive de 7 milles pour obtenir l'expérience la plus enrichissante. L'observation des oiseaux et de la faune y est particulièrement bonne pendant les mois d'automne et d'hiver. Vous pouvez rencontrer des espèces telles que l'avocet américain, les Egrettes rougeâtres, Sora, l'aiguillon du Nord, ainsi que beaucoup d'autres.

D'autres grands endroits sont Peacocks Pocket Road, Catfish Loop, Bio Lab Drive et Gator Creek Road avec beaucoup d'oiseaux de mer et d'oiseaux de rivage. Le lagon est magnifique et plein d'oiseaux au printemps et à l'automne. Il y a quelques sentiers de randonnée et des plates-formes d'observation dans le parc. En plus des oiseaux, il y a un pont d'observation de la manate au canal de Haulover et beaucoup de papillons pour s'émerveiller dans les forêts. La côte spatiale offre des excursions d'oiseaux de qualité de novembre à mars. Les oiseaux peuvent également profiter du Festival de la faune qui se déroule pour un week-end en janvier.

La partie ouest de la Floride a le Sanctuaire de l'échafaudage, qui est célèbre pour son énorme colonie de cigognes de bois (plus de 1 200 couples ont été enregistrés ces dernières années). La réserve dispose d'un système de promenade confortable qui rend l'exploration des marais assez agréable. Il y a aussi beaucoup de hérons et d'épinettes, de chouettes barrées, de pics empilés et d'espèces migrantes dans le sanctuaire.

La région de Tallahassee dans le nord-ouest est connue pour. Marks National Wildlife Refuge il a de vastes forêts, marais et marécages. C'est probablement le meilleur site pour l'hivernage des espèces de sauvagine

En général, toute l'année est bon pour l'oiseau en Floride, mais de novembre à mai est le meilleur en raison de la plus grande variété d'espèces peut être observée.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Best time to travel to Florida

Birdwatching

Florida, with its numerous lakes and islands is a great place for a birder

Birdwatching  in Florida 2019 - Best Time
Photo by

© Bob Menak

The rich avian life of Florida attracts many birding enthusiasts. The ultimate attraction is the Great Florida Birding and Wildlife Trail which is a network of 510 premier wildlife viewing sites covering pretty much the whole state.

The Southern part of Florida is famous for Everglades National Park, Florida Keys and Dry Tortugas, where a large number of migrant land birds arrive in April, as well as Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge, located west of West Palm Beach. You will find many herons, egrets and anhingas at any time, and many shorebirds in the winter.

Merritt Island located in Central Florida near Orlando is a premier birding site with more than 330 species. While on the island visit the famous 7-mile Black Point Wildlife Drive to get the most fulfilling experience. Birding and wildlife viewing is especially good there during the fall and winter months. You can meet such species as the American Avocet, “Dancing” Reddish Egrets, Sora, Northern Pintail, as well as many others.

American Avocet at Merritt Island 2020
American Avocet at Merritt Island
Birdwatching  in Florida - Best Season 2020

Other great spots are Peacocks Pocket Road, Catfish Loop, Bio Lab Drive and Gator Creek Road with plenty of wading birds and shorebirds. The lagoon looks great and is full of birds in the spring and fall. There are a few hiking trails and observation platforms in the park. In addition to birds, there is a manatee observation deck at Haulover Canal and plenty of butterflies to marvel in the forests. The Space Coast provides quality birding trips from November through March. Birders can also enjoy the Wildlife Festival which runs for a weekend in January.

Best time for Birdwatching  in Florida 2020

The western part of Florida has Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary, which is famous for its huge colony of wood storks (more than 1,200 pairs were registered in recent years). The reserve has a comfortable boardwalk system which makes exploring the swamps quite pleasant. There are also plenty of herons and egrets, barred owls, pileated woodpeckers, and migrant species in the sanctuary.

The Tallahassee area in the northwest is known for St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge it has vast woodlands, marshes, and swamps. It is probably the best site for wintering waterfowl species.

Roseate Spoonbill - Merritt Island NWR, Titusville, Florida 2020
Roseate Spoonbill - Merritt Island NWR, Titusville, Florida

Generally, all year is good for birding in Florida, but November through May is the best because of the greatest variety of species can be observed.​