Rove.me unterstützt Ukraine 🇺🇦
Beste Reisezeit Maine

Papageitaucher

Die Inseln entlang der Küste von Maine sind der einzige Ort in den USA, den Atlantische Papageien ihr Sommerhaus nennen können.

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Eleonora Provozin
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Es ist eine ziemliche Glückseligkeit, Atlantic Puffins in New England zu haben, obwohl nur in der Sommersaison. Tausende von Papageien kommen, um sich auf den Inseln der Maine Küste zu brüten. Etwa 1.000 Nesterpaare besiedeln sich auf den Maine-Inseln, während 5.000 sich für Machias Seal Island entscheiden. Letzteres liegt an der Grenze zwischen dem Golf von Maine und der Bay of Fundy; daher wird sein Territorium von den USA und Kanada beansprucht. Zu den Favoriten von Puffins unter den Maine-Inseln gehören Eastern Egg Rock, Matinicus Rock, Petit Manan Island und Seal Island. Die ersten Papageien fangen im April an, und der letzte Urlaub mit den ausgewachsenen Küken Ende August, aber die lohnendsten Monate sind Juni und Juli. Dann wirst du die größten Gemeinden dieser niedlichen Vögel beobachten.

Die entfernte Insel Maсhias Seal bietet die größte Papageienpopulation und ist die einzige Insel, auf der man die Vögel vom Ufer aus beobachten kann, die es erlaubt, ihnen am nächsten zu kommen. Wenn Sie andere Ziele wählen, ist es vernünftig, Ferngläser mitzubringen. Tours nach Machias Seal Island fahren von Cutler. Die lange Fahrt bis zur Grenze lohnt sich nicht nur für die erstklassige Puffin-Beobachtung, sondern auch für die Bold Coast Scenic Byway.

Eine der beliebtesten Puffin-Destinationen ist der Eastern Egg Rock, der 10 km vom Ufer entfernt liegt. Die kleine und malerische Insel ist meist felsig, 3 ha groß. Deshalb haben Papageien nirgendwo vor neugierigen Wächtern zu verstecken. Zusammen mit den Vögeln kann man Seehunde und Glatzadler erkennen. Die Touren zum Eastern Egg Rock starten von New Harbor in Bristol, Boothbay Harbor und Port Clyde.

Matinicus Rock ist 23 Meilen (37 km) vor der Küste von Rockland. Wegen seiner Abgeschiedenheit, hat es nicht regelmäßig geplante Kreuzfahrten. Aber in Rockland kann man ein Boot für eine private Tour mieten.

Petit Manan Island ist ein weiterer Ort, um Papageien zu begegnen. Dies ist auch berühmt für seinen ikonischen Leuchtturm. Beobachten Puffin Kreuzfahrten von Bar Harbor und Milbridge.

Die Seal Island National Wildlife Refuge mit der Oberfläche von 65 Acres (26 ha) ist die Heimat der größten Puffin Bevölkerung im Staat selbst. Die Insel liegt 35 km vor der Küste, und die Touren fahren von Stonington aus.

Die Geschichte der Papageien auf den Maine-Inseln ist kompliziert. In der Vergangenheit bevölkerten diese Vögel die Küstengebiete von Maine, aber in den frühen 1900er Jahren gab es keine Papageien auf den Inseln außer einem einzigen Paar Papageien auf Matinicus Rock gesichtet. Nach der Umsetzung des "Migratory Bird Treaty Act" von 1918, der das Töten von Wildvögeln in den USA untersagte, kehrten Puffins langsam nach Matinicur Rock zurück. Aber nicht für den Rest der Inseln. Die heutige Bevölkerung schuldet dem 1973 von der National Audubon Society ins Leben gerufenen Projekt Puffin. Um die Bevölkerung wiederzubeleben, transplantierten sie Papageien aus Neufundland.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to travel to Maine

Puffin Watching

The islands along Maine's coastline is the only place in the USA which Atlantic puffins may call their summer home

Puffin Watching in Maine 2020 - Best Time
Photo by

USFWS

It's quite a bliss to have Atlantic Puffins in New England, even though only in the summer season. Thousands of puffins come to breed on the islands of Maine's coast. About 1,000 nesting pairs settle on Maine islands, while 5,000 choose Machias Seal Island. The latter is located on the border between the Gulf of Maine and Bay of Fundy; hence its territory is claimed by the US and Canada. Puffins' favourites among the Maine islands include Eastern Egg Rock, Matinicus Rock, Petit Manan Island, and Seal Island. The first puffins start arriving in April, and the last leave with the full-grown chicks by mid-August, but the most rewarding months are June and July. Then you'll observe the largest congregations of these cute birds.

Atlantic Puffin, Machias Seal Iasland, ME, USA/ NB, Canada 2020
Atlantic Puffin, Machias Seal Iasland, ME, USA/ NB, Canada

The distant Maсhias Seal Island boasts the greatest puffin population and is the only island where you can watch the birds from the shore which allows getting closest to them. If you choose other destinations, it will be reasonable to bring binoculars along. Tours to Machias Seal Island depart from Cutler. The long drive to the border is worth it, not only for the prime puffin watching, but also for the Bold Coast Scenic Byway.

One of the most popular puffin destinations is Eastern Egg Rock, set 6 miles (9.66 km) from the shore. The small and scenic island is mostly rock, 7 acres (0.028 sq km) in size. Therefore, puffins have nowhere to hide from curious watchers. Along with the birds, one may spot seals and bald eagles. The tours to Eastern Egg Rock depart from New Harbor in the town of Bristol, Boothbay Harbor, and Port Clyde.

Atlantic Puffin at Eastern Egg Rock, Maine 2020
Atlantic Puffin at Eastern Egg Rock, Maine
Boothbay Harbor 2020
Boothbay Harbor

Matinicus Rock is set 23 miles (37 km) off the coast from Rockland. Owing to its remoteness, it doesn't have regularly scheduled cruises. But in Rockland, one can rent a boat for a private tour.

Puffin Watching in Maine - Best Season 2020
Atlantic puffins at Matinicus Rock 2020
Atlantic puffins at Matinicus Rock
Atlantic puffins courtship billing at Maine Coastal Island National Wildlife Refuge 2020
Atlantic puffins courtship billing at Maine Coastal Island National Wildlife Refuge

Petit Manan Island is another place to encounter puffins. This is also famous for its iconic lighthouse. Puffin watching cruises run from Bar Harbor and Milbridge.

Seal Island National Wildlife Refuge with the surface of 65 acres (26 hectares) is home to the largest puffin population in the state itself. The island is located nearly 22 miles (35.4 km) off the coast, and the tours depart from Stonington.

The history of puffins on Maine islands is complicated. In the past, these birds populated the coastal areas of Maine, but by the early 1900s, there were no puffins spotted on the islands besides a single pair of puffins on Matinicus Rock. After the implementation of the 1918 Migratory Bird Treaty Act, which banned the killing of wild birds in the US, puffins slowly returned to Matinicur Rock. But not to the rest of the islands. Today's population owes to the Project Puffin launched in 1973 by the National Audubon Society. To revive the population, they transplanted puffins from Newfoundland.