Beste Reisezeit Sri Lanka

Whale Watching (Walbeobachtung)

Sri Lanka befindet sich glücklicherweise an einem Aussichtspunkt, um Wale zu beobachten

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Mehr als 26 Walarten wie Blauwale, Pottwale und Finnwale können von der Küste Sri Lankas aus beobachtet werden. Blauwale sind die häufigsten Gäste in srilankischen Gewässern. Zu den beliebten Walbeobachtungsorten gehören Dondra Point, Mirissa und Trincomalee.

Dondra Point ist die südlichste Spitze Sri Lankas. Wegen des schmalen Festlandsockels können Wale so nahe wie ein paar Meilen vom Ufer entfernt gesehen werden. Manchmal sind sie 54 m vom Leuchtturm Dondra entfernt zu sehen. Dondra Point ist der zuverlässigste Ort für Walbeobachtungen aufgrund einer 90-prozentigen Chance, Blauwale und eine gut ausgebaute Infrastruktur zu sehen. Tours nach Dondra Point verlassen Galle und Hikkaduwa.

Mirissa bietet regelmäßige Wal- und Delphinbeobachtungsausflüge an. Boote fahren um 7 Uhr von Mirissa Harbor und verbringen drei oder vier Stunden auf See. Die Chancen, Wale und Delfine während der Hochsaison zu sehen, liegen bei über 90%. Die beste Zeit für Walbeobachtung an der Südküste ist von November bis April.

Eine alternative Option ist es, Wale in Trincomalee an der Nordostküste zu beobachten. Die meisten Walbeobachtungstouren dort beginnen um 6:30 Uhr. Je nach Meereslage kann es bis zu 3 Stunden dauern. Im Norden ist die beste Zeit für Walbeobachtung in der Regel von Juli bis September

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Whale Watching (Walbeobachtung) (Karte)

Best time to visit Sri Lanka

Whale Watching

Sri Lanka is fortunately situated in a vantage point to observe whales

Share

Last updated:
Whale Watching in Sri Lanka 2020 - Best Time

More than 26 species of cetaceans such as blue whales, sperm whales, and fin whales can be observed from the Sri Lankan coast. Blue whales are the most frequent guests in Sri Lankan waters. Popular whale-watching locations include Dondra Point, Mirissa, and Trincomalee.

Dondra Point is the southernmost tip of Sri Lanka. Due to the narrow continental shelf, whales can be seen as close as a few miles from the shore. Sometimes they can be seen from 54-m (176-ft) Dondra lighthouse. Dondra Point is the most reliable place for whale watching due to a ninety percent chance of seeing blue whales and a well-developed infrastructure. Tours to Dondra Point leave from Galle and Hikkaduwa.

Mirissa offers regular whale and dolphin watching excursions. Boats leave at 7 a.m. from Mirissa Harbor and spend three or four hours at sea. The chances to see whales and dolphins during high season is over 90%. The best time for whale watching on the southern coast is from November to April.

Whale watching off the southern coast 2020
Whale watching off the southern coast

An alternative option is to watch whales in Trincomalee, located on the northeast coast. Most of the whale-watching tours there start at 6:30 am. Depending on the sea conditions, it can take about 3 hours. In the north, the best time for whale watching is usually from July to September

Find hotels and airbnbs near Whale Watching (Map)