Quand partir Québec

Observation des baleines

Que vous regardiez depuis un bateau ou que vous restiez à terre, l'observation des baleines au Québec est l'une des meilleures du monde.

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Maritime Québec ou Québec by the Sea est l'une des principales destinations mondiales d'observation des baleines en raison d'une grande variété de cétacés et d'une excellente infrastructure touristique. On peut trouver plus de 13 espèces de baleines dans le golfe de St. Lawrence pendant l'été. Il est possible de repérer les deux plus grands animaux sur terre – baleines et baleines bleues. Beaucoup de bosses se rassemblent à l'embouchure du beau Fjord du Saguenay près de Tadoussac. Les bélugas blancs peuvent être repérés toute l'année.

Meilleurs endroits pour l'observation des baleines

De juin à début octobre, les eaux de la Côte-Nord, du Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park, Percé, Gaspé Bay et le golfe de St. Le Lawrence est plein de baleines et d'autres mammifères marins. Vous pouvez les observer dans l'eau ou depuis le rivage, empruntant la route bien connue de Tadoussac à Blanc-Sablon aussi connue sous le nom de route 138 du Québec ou route des baleines. Le Centre d'interprétation et d'observation du Cap-de-Bon-Désir est un autre excellent endroit pour observer les baleines de terre. Un autre emplacement est Bas-Saint-Laurent. Vous pouvez prendre une promenade pittoresque à Rivière-du-Loup et repérer des bélugas depuis la marina ou prendre un ferry le long de la rive sud. À proximité de l'île aux Lièvres (île Hare) offre également une excellente vue sur les baleines près de ses rives. Vous pouvez y arriver en bateau depuis le port de plaisance de Rivière-du-Loup.

Visites d'observation des baleines

Alors qu'il y a beaucoup de façons différentes de rencontrer les baleines, kayaks et les bateaux du zodiaque sont probablement les meilleures options pour les voir de près. Les zodiaques sont aussi assez rapides et faciles à manipuler, donc convient à votre meilleur pour une aventure de baleine-observation. Cependant, si vous préférez monter à bord d'un bateau plus grand, il ya beaucoup d'options aussi. Les bateaux AML offrent diverses commodités, un bar, une cafétéria, des toilettes ainsi que des espaces intérieurs et extérieurs, ce qui est plus approprié pour une croisière d'observation des baleines toute la journée. Certaines entreprises servent même des dîners gourmands et lancent des feux d'artifice le soir. Les croisières partent de Québec, de Tadoussac et de Rivière-du-Loup. Il y a aussi une possibilité d'expérimenter l'observation des baleines à partir d'un hélicoptère. Il part de Québec et vole des passagers vers Charlevoix et le parc marin.

Étant donné que les petits enfants ne sont pas autorisés sur les bateaux du zodiaque, l'option la plus confortable pour les familles et ceux qui veulent rester en mer plus longtemps est une croisière AML ou croisières AML. Les billets et les horaires peuvent être réservés en ligne

Combien de temps est une visite d'observation des baleines

Une croisière maritime moyenne d'observation des baleines dure de 2,5 à 3,5 heures. Les croisières en bateau Zodiac ont tendance à être plus courtes, à partir de 1,5 heures. Pendant ce temps, les excursions en bateau AML durent généralement plus de 3 heures. Les excursions en kayak peuvent durer plusieurs jours ainsi que des excursions à forfait qui combinent l'observation des baleines avec d'autres activités et peuvent inclure l'hébergement

Saison d'observation des baleines

Plusieurs mammifères marins, comme le béluga, peuvent être repérés dans les eaux du Québec toute l'année, mais la majorité des baleines sont migratrices et ne peuvent être observées que du printemps à la fin de l'automne. La saison d'observation des baleines au Québec commence habituellement en mai et dure jusqu'en octobre. Le début de l'automne est le meilleur moment pour une aventure d'observation des baleines.

Baleines à bosse

Les humpbacks sont une vraie joie de regarder, car ils sont connus pour leur comportement ludique. Voir ces créatures faire des plongées profondes, éclabousser leurs queues et les entendre faire un appel mélodieux est incroyable, surtout, compte tenu de leur grande taille. Chaque année, environ 7 500 baleines à bosse parcourent 3 417 milles (5 500 km) pour se rendre à la St. Estuaire du fleuve Lawrence pour se nourrir de plancton et de petits poissons. Avec un long corps gris foncé et un ventre blanc, les bosses ont aussi des queues qui sont si uniques, que vous pouvez identifier chaque individu.

Les rorquals communs

L'une des plus grandes baleines de la terre, une baleine peut atteindre 27 m de long. Environ 400 de ces magnifiques mammifères marins passent leur été et leur automne dans le golfe de St. Golfe du Lawrence, et sont particulièrement fréquents entre Tadoussac et Les Bergeronnes. Les baleines consomment de grandes quantités d'eau contenant du poisson et du krill, puis éjectent l'accès à l'eau. Ils peuvent être reconnus par une mâchoire blanche et un corps gris foncé.

Baleines-Minkes

Une baleine minke de taille modeste peut être repérée au Québec de mars à décembre. Il y en a environ 1 000 dans le golfe de St. Lawrence. La plus petite des baleines a une longueur corporelle d'environ 32 pieds (10 m). Il se nourrit de krill et de petits poissons. Il peut être identifié par son corps gris foncé, un ventre blanc, et une bande blanche sur une nageoire pectorale.

Baleines bleues

Une baleine bleue en voie de disparition est le plus gros animal de la terre. Ces doux géants peuvent être repérés dans le golfe de St. Lawrence principalement en août et septembre. Avec une longueur du corps proche de 31 m(101 pi), il semble que ces mammifères devraient être faciles à repérer, cependant, ils sont protégés par la loi, et les bateaux d'observation des baleines ne peuvent pas les atteindre plus près de 1312 pi (400 m). Ils peuvent être reconnus par une queue bleue.

Bélugas

Un béluga en voie de disparition ne peut être observé que dans quelques pays du Nord. Heureusement, environ 900 bélugas vivent dans les eaux du Québec toute l'année. Les bélugas peuvent être repérés depuis l'estuaire jusqu'au golfe de St. Lawrence par le fjord du Saguenay ainsi que dans la réserve de parc national de l'archipel Mingan à Duplessis. Ces baleines se distinguent par leur corps gris clair, presque blanc. Le plus vieux béluga est, le plus léger obtient sa peau. Ce cétacé se nourrit de poissons et d'anguilles et est également célèbre pour son appel à haute pointe. En raison de cela, le béluga est parfois appelé un canari de mer.

Conseils d'observation des baleines

Comme les baleines se déplacent constamment, leur emplacement est difficile à prédire. Leur comportement ne dépend pas beaucoup de l'heure de la journée, du temps, du vent ou de la marée. Cependant, si vous passez environ deux ou trois heures dans la mer, il y aura beaucoup de chances de voir des baleines comme elles arrivent toujours à la surface. Soyez patient et gardez votre caméra prête. Si vous avez un jumeau ou pouvez en emprunter un, il sera certainement utile pendant l'excursion. En outre, assurez-vous de prendre un sac étanche ou un étui pour stocker votre téléphone et un appareil photo.

Qu'est-ce qu'il faut porter

Le temps dans l'estuaire et le golfe peut être assez froid même pendant l'été. Assurez-vous d'avoir une veste ou un brise-vent, pantalon long, et des chaussures confortables avec des orteils fermés. Si le temps est ensoleillé, vous aurez peut-être besoin de lunettes de soleil et d'un sunhat. Assurez-vous de vérifier les prévisions météorologiques à l'avance afin de savoir à quoi vous attendre. Et préparez-vous pour beaucoup d'éclaboussures d'eau.

Où séjourner

Il y a beaucoup d'excellentes options d'hébergement à Québec et à Tadoussac. Il est préférable de rester dans un hôtel en bord de mer. Certains hébergements sont situés à l'embouchure du Fjord du Saguenay, l'une des baies les plus pittoresques du monde. Tadoussac dispose également d'un terrain de camping avec 191 campings offrant une vue panoramique sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Infos pratiques

When can you see whales in Quebec?

Most whale species in Quebec can be observed during the summer season from May through October. Beluga is the only species that can be observed all year round

How far is Tadoussac from Quebec City?

If you go by car, it's 222 mi (358 km). If you fly by helicopter, it's about 124 mi (200 km)

Where are the belugas in Quebec?

Belugas can be spotted from the estuary to the Gulf of St. Lawrence through the Saguenay Fjord and at Mingan Archipelago

Poser une question

Best time to travel to Quebec

Whale Watching

Whether you watch from a boat or stay on shore, Quebec's whale observation is one of the best around the globe

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
0

Maritime Quebec or Quebec by the Sea is one of the world's premier whale-watching destinations due to a large variety of cetaceans and excellent tourist infrastructure. More than 13 whale species can be found in the Gulf of St. Lawrence during the summer. It's possible to spot the two largest animals on earth – fin whales and blue whales. Plenty of humpbacks flock to the mouth of the beautiful Saguenay Fjord near Tadoussac. White beluga whales can be spotted all year round.

Best places for whale watching

From June to early October, the waters of Côte-Nord, Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park, Percé, Gaspé Bay, and the Gulf of St. Lawrence are full of whales and other sea mammals. You can observe them in the water or from the shore, taking the well-known route from Tadoussac to Blanc-Sablon also known as Quebec’s Route 138 or Whale Route. The Cap-de-Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre is another excellent place to watch whales from land. An alternative location is Bas-Saint-Laurent. You can take a Rivière-du-Loup scenic drive and spot belugas from the marina or take a ferry along the south shore. Nearby Île aux Lièvres (Hare Island) also boasts excellent views of whales near its shores. You can get there by boat from the marina in Rivière-du-Loup.

Whale-watching tours

While there are plenty of different ways to meet the whales, kayaks and zodiac boats are probably the best options to see them up close. Zodiacs are also quite fast and easy to maneuver so suit the best for a whale-watching adventure. However, if you prefer to board a larger boat, there are plenty of options too. AML boats offer various amenities, a bar, a cafeteria, restrooms as well as both indoor and outdoor areas, which is more suitable for an all-day whale-watching cruise. Some companies even serve gourmet dinners and launch fireworks in the evening. Cruises leave from Quebec City, Tadoussac, and Rivière-du-Loup. There is also an option to experience whale watching from a a helicopter. It leaves from Québec City and flies passengers to Charlevoix and the marine park.

Since small children are not allowed on zodiac boats, the most comfortable option for families and those who want to stay in the sea for a longer time is an AML cruise or croisières AML. Tickets and timetables can be reserved online.

How long is a whale-watching tour

An average whale-watching sea cruise lasts from 2.5 to 3.5 hours. Zodiac boat cruises tend to be shorter, starting from 1.5 hours. Meanwhile, AML boat trips usually last over 3 hours. Kayaking trips can last for several days as well as package tours that combine whale watching with other activities and may include accommodation.

Whale-watching season

Several sea mammals, such as beluga, can be spotted in Quebec waters year round, however, the majority of whales are migratory and can be observed only from spring to late fall. The whale-watching season in Quebec usually starts in May and lasts through October. Early fall is the best timing for a whale-watching adventure.

Humpback whales

Humpbacks are a real joy to watch, as they are known for their playful behavior. Seeing these creatures performing deep dives, splashing their tails and hearing them making a melodious call is incredible, especially, considering their large size. Humpbacks belong to larger cetaceans and reach 59 ft (18 m) long. Every year about 7,500 humpback whales travel 3,417 miles (5,500 km) to get to the St. Lawrence River estuary to feed on plankton and small fish. With a long dark gray body and a white belly, humpbacks also have tails that are so unique, that you can identify each individual.

Fin whales

One of the largest whales on earth, a fin whale can reach 88 ft (27 m) in length. About 400 of these gorgeous sea mammals spend their summer and fall in the Gulf of St. Lawrence Gulf, and are especially common between Tadoussac and Les Bergeronnes. Fin whales consume large amounts of water containing fish and krill, and then eject the access the water back. They can be recognized by a white jaw and a dark grey body.

Minke whales

A modest-sized minke whale can be spotted in Quebec from March to December. There are about 1,000 of them in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The smallest of the whales has a body length of about 32 ft (10 m). It feeds on krill and small fish. It can be identified by its dark grey body, a white belly, and a white stripe on a pectoral fin.

Blue whales

An endangered blue whale is the largest animal on earth. These gentle giants can be spotted in the Gulf of St. Lawrence mostly in August and September. With a body length close to 31 m(101 ft), it seems like these mammals should be easy to spot, however, they are protected by law, and whale-watching boats can't get to them closer than 1,312 ft (400 m). They can be recognized by a blue tail.

Beluga whales

An endangered beluga can be observed only in a few northern countries. Luckily, about 900 belugas reside in Quebec waters all year round. Belugas can be spotted from the estuary to the Gulf of St. Lawrence through the Saguenay Fjord as well as at Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve in Duplessis. These whales stand out due to their light grey, almost white body. The older beluga is, the lighter gets its skin. This cetacean feeds on fish and eels and is also famous for its high-pitched call. Due to it, beluga is sometimes called a sea canary.

Whale-watching tips

Since whales are constantly on the move, their location is hard to predict. Their behavior doesn't depend much on the time of the day, weather, wind, or tide. However, if you spend in the sea about two or three hours, there will be plenty of chances to see whales as they always get to the surface. Be patient and keep your camera ready. If you have a binocular or can borrow one, it will surely come in handy during the excursion. Also, make sure to take a waterproof bag or case to store your phone and a camera.

What to wear

The weather in the estuary and Gulf can be rather chilly even during the summer. Make sure you have a jacket or a windbreaker, long pants, and comfortable shoes with closed toes. If the weather is sunny, you might need sunglasses and a sunhat. Make sure to check a weather forecast in advance so you know what to expect. And be prepared for plenty of water splashes.

Where to stay

There are plenty of excellent lodging options in Quebec City and Tadoussac. It's best to stay in a waterfront hotel. Some accommodations are located right in mouth of the Saguenay Fjord, one of the most scenic bays in the world. Tadoussac also has a campground with 191 campsites featuring panoramic views of the St.Lawrence river.

Practical info

When can you see whales in Quebec?

Most whale species in Quebec can be observed during the summer season from May through October. Beluga is the only species that can be observed all year round

How far is Tadoussac from Quebec City?

If you go by car, it's 222 mi (358 km). If you fly by helicopter, it's about 124 mi (200 km)

Where are the belugas in Quebec?

Belugas can be spotted from the estuary to the Gulf of St. Lawrence through the Saguenay Fjord and at Mingan Archipelago

Ask a question