Quand partir New York (NYC)

Observation des baleines

Long Island est l'une des meilleures destinations d'observation des baleines de la côte Est

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout
Voir les hébergements à proximité

Les baleines ont été rarement observées dans les eaux de New York jusqu'en 2011, mais ces dernières années la population de baleines dans l'eau de Big Apple a été en plein essor. Plus de 300 cétacés ont été repérés en seulement un an. Tout cela grâce à une meilleure qualité de l'eau dans les baies et la réduction des déchets toxiques! Naturellement, l'observation des baleines est devenue une activité d'été populaire pour de nombreux touristes et New Yorkais. Pendant la période plus chaude de l'année, vous pouvez repérer bosse, minke, pilote, sperme et baleines nageoires ainsi que des épaulards extrêmement rares et des baleines bleues. Certaines baleines restent dans les eaux de New York tout au long de l'été pour se nourrir de plancton et de krill le long du plateau continental, d'autres passent la ville pendant les migrations de printemps et d'automne. Vous pouvez également trouver ici beaucoup de phoques gris et de phoques de port ainsi que les dauphins de Risso et de nez de bouteille.

Meilleurs endroits pour l'observation des baleines

Long Island est l'un des meilleurs endroits pour observer les baleines du milieu de l'Atlantique avec beaucoup de baleines, de baleines à dents, de phoques ainsi que de tortues et d'oiseaux marins qui peuvent être repérés le long de sa côte. Les tours d'observation des baleines de Long Island partent de Montauk, situé sur sa pointe est. Plus de tours d'observation des baleines à New York partent de Riis Landing, Rockaway, à Queens et Sheepshead Bay à Brooklyn. Vous pouvez même repérer des baleines de la rive à Coney Island, Jones Beach Island, Fire Island et les Hamptons de Long Island. La côte du New Jersey abrite également plusieurs sites d'observation des baleines et des voyagistes.

Visites d'observation des baleines

Chaque été, la Flotte Viking et CRESLI (Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island) offrent une incroyable aventure maritime à partir de Viking Landing dans le port de Montauk. En plus des visites régulières d'observation des baleines, vous pouvez opter pour le voyage d'observation des baleines de la Great South Channel de 36 heures qui commence à 19h et se termine à 4h le lendemain. Il vous donnera un aperçu unique de la vie des baleines, des dauphins et des tortues dans leur environnement naturel. Cette expérience n'est disponible qu'en juillet. Si vous cherchez une croisière plus traditionnelle qui dure plusieurs heures, il ya American Princess Cruises qui part de Rockaway dans Queens et Sheepshead Bay à Brooklyn. Les croisières durent environ 3,5 heures et se déroulent de juin à décembre. Les billets commencent à partir de $55 pour un adulte.

Saison d'observation des baleines

Les baleines sont repérées dans les eaux de New York toute l'année, même pendant l'hiver. Cependant, la plupart des visites d'observation des baleines se déroulent d'avril à novembre. Le printemps et l'automne sont un bon moment pour repérer les baleines migratrices. La haute saison arrive en juin, juillet et août avec quelques excursions d'observation des baleines qui partent chaque jour.

Rorqual commun

Fin ou finback est l'espèce de baleine la plus courante à New York. Ces énormes mammifères marins peuvent également être repérés près de la rive. Les rorquals finaux sont la deuxième plus grande espèce de baleines qui peut être reconnue par la coloration asymétrique, blanc sur leur côté inférieur droit et très foncé sur leur côté inférieur gauche. Avec une longueur de 85 pi (25 m), ils peuvent néanmoins développer la vitesse jusqu'à 23 miles par heure (37 km/heure). Les baleines peuvent vivre jusqu'à 90 ans. Ils sont souvent repérés en groupes de deux ou plus.

Baleine à bosse

La baleine à bosse utilisée pour éviter le rivage de New York mais depuis que la rivière Hudson est devenue plus propre, elle a été repérée même près de l'embouchure de l'Hudson, près de Manhattan. New York est célèbre pour le poisson menhaden, aussi appelé moussbunker ou bunker. Les baleines à bosse sont attirées par une forte concentration de menhaden dans les eaux de New York et viennent ici pour s'en nourrir. Les bosses migratrices pourraient être repérées au large de Long Island sur leur itinéraire annuel entre les sites d'hivernage dans les Caraïbes et les aires d'alimentation dans le golfe du Maine. Les baleines à bosse atteignent 16 m de longueur et peuvent être reconnues en raison d'un motif noir et blanc sur leur ventre. Leurs coups ont des patrons, uniques à chaque individu. Les bosses sont faciles à repérer puisqu'elles nagent souvent avec les bateaux et montrent des flips étonnants.

Physeter macrocephalus

On peut repérer les Physeter macrocephalus à l'extérieur du plateau continental ainsi qu'à proximité de l'extrémité est de Long Island et de Block Island. Ils appartiennent à un groupe de baleines dentées et ont le plus grand cerveau parmi les animaux sur Terre. Ils ont eu leur nom parce qu'au départ la substance dans leur tête était censée être du sperme. Leur longueur est d'environ 50 pi (15 m) et ils peuvent plonger jusqu'à 2000 pi (609 m).

Rorqual boréal

Les Rorqual boréal en voie de disparition ne sont pas si faciles à repérer. Ils ont été vus le long de la pause de l'étagère de New York, et à de rares occasions dans les eaux côtières. Ils peuvent grandir jusqu'à 60 pieds (18 m) et avoir des corps gris bleuâtre foncé avec un dessous plus léger. Les Rorqual boréal sont parmi les plus rapides et peuvent développer une vitesse de près de 50 mi/h (80 km/h).

Baleine bleue

La baleine bleue est le plus gros animal de la Terre, atteignant 30 mètres, et l'un des animaux les plus menacés. Ils ont été repérés dans la région de New York-New Jersey Bight pendant les migrations annuelles d'automne et de printemps. Leurs aires d'alimentation sont situées en Nouvelle-Écosse et dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Globicephala

Le Globicephala appartiennent à la famille des dauphins, et comme les dauphins à bec, elles sont vraiment intelligentes et peuvent être formées pour travailler avec les gens. Une lobicephala a même été entraînée par la Marine pour plonger et obtenir des objets du fond de l'océan. Le globicephala mesurent 6 m de long et ont une tête arrondie distincte, un léger bec et une ligne buccale courbée. Ils voyagent généralement dans de grandes capsules.

Conseils d'observation des baleines

L'observation réussie des baleines ne dépend pas beaucoup de l'heure de la journée ou de la météo. Cependant, il est plus facile de repérer les baleines dans un climat clair et ensoleillé quand l'océan est calme. Les matins avec des mers plus calmes sont considérés comme un bon moment pour observer les baleines. Les croisières au coucher du soleil offrent de bonnes opportunités en termes d'éclairage.

Qu'est-ce qu'il faut porter

Même s'il fait chaud à New York, assurez-vous de prendre une veste ou un pull sur votre voyage d'observation des baleines car il pourrait devenir beaucoup plus froid dans l'océan. Les pantalons longs et les baskets feraient bien aussi. Aussi, n'oubliez pas les lunettes de soleil, la crème solaire et un chapeau solaire.

Qu'est-ce qu'il faut apporter

Il n'y a pas besoin d'emballer beaucoup de collations et de boissons puisque la plupart des navires observateurs de baleines ont des cuisines. Apportez des jumelles, une caméra avec un bon zoom, et quelques batteries supplémentaires. Si vous souffrez de mal de mer, prenez vos médicaments avant la croisière.

Où séjourner

New York City offre un choix incroyable d'hébergement pour tous les goûts et les budgets. Si vous prévoyez d'aller observer les baleines de Long Island, il y a beaucoup d'hôtels confortables en bord de mer qui vous feront oublier la grande ville avec son agitation. Montauk a plusieurs grandes options avec une vue sur l'océan.

Infos pratiques

Can you see whales in New York?

Humpback and fin whales are often spotted along coastal shelf and even in inner harbors

How long is a whale watch?

A whale-watching tour usually lasts for 3-3.5 hours. However, a longer option is available on Long Island

What kind of dolphins you can spot in NY?

Bottlenose dolphins and Risso's dolphins are most common

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Observation des baleines (carte)

Best time to visit New York City (NYC)

Whale Watching

Long Island is one of the best whale-watching destinations on the East Coast

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
See accommodations nearby

Whales have been rarely seen in New York City waters until 2011, but in recent years the whale population in the Big Apple water has been booming. More than 300 cetaceans have been spotted in just one year. All thanks to a better quality of water in the bays and reduction of toxic waste! Naturally, whale watching has become a popular summer activity for many tourists and New Yorkers. During the warmer time of the year, you can spot humpback, minke, pilot, sperm and fin whales as well as extremely rare killer whales and blue whales. Some whales stay in New York waters throughout the whole summer to feed on plankton and krill along the continental shelf, others pass by during spring and fall migrations. You can also spot here plenty of grey and harbor seals as well as Risso's and bottlenose dolphins.

Best places for whale watching

Long Island is one of the best whale-watching spots in the mid-Atlantic with plenty of baleen, toothed whales, seals as well as turtles and seabirds that can be spotted along its coast. Long Island whale-watching tours depart from Montauk, located on its eastern tip. More whale-watching tours in New York City depart from Riis Landing, Rockaway, in Queens and Sheepshead Bay in Brooklyn. You can even spot whales from the shore in Coney Island, Jones Beach Island, Fire Island, and the Hamptons on Long Island. New Jersey shore also features several whale-watching locations and tour operators.

Whale-watching tours

Every summer, Viking Fleet and CRESLI (Coastal Research and Education Society of Long Island) offer an incredible sea adventure out of Viking Landing in Montauk Harbor. In addition to regular whale-watching tours, you can opt for the 36-hour Great South Channel whale watch trip that starts at 7 pm and ends at 4 am on the following day. It will give you a unique insight in the life of whales, dolphins, and turtles in their natural environment. This experience is only available in July. If you are looking for a more traditional cruise that lasts for several hours, there are American Princess Cruises departing out of Rockaway in Queens and Sheepshead Bay in Brooklyn. Cruises last for about 3.5 hours and run from June through December. Tickets start from $55 for an adult.

Whale-watching season

Whales are spotted in New York City waters all year round, even during the winter. However, most whale-watching tours run from April into November. Spring and fall is a good time to spot migratory whales. The high season comes in June, July and August with a few whale watching excursions departing every day.

Fin whales

Fin or finback is the most common whale species in New York. These huge sea mammals can be also spotted close to shore. Fin whales are the second largest whale species that can be recognized by asymmetrical coloring, white on their lower right side and very dark on their lower left side. With a length of 85 ft (25 m), they nevertheless can develop speed up to 23 miles per hour (37 km/hour). Fin whales can live up to 90 years. They are often spotted in groups of two or more.

Humpback whales

Humpbacks whale used to avoid New York City shore but since the Hudson River has become cleaner, they have been spotted even close to the mouth of the Hudson, near Manhattan. New York is famous for menhaden fish, also called mossbunker or bunker. Humpback whales are attracted by high concentration of menhaden in New York waters and come here to feed on it. Migratory humpbacks could be spotted off Long Island on their annual route between wintering sites in the Caribbean and feeding grounds in the Gulf of Maine. Humpback whales reach 55 ft (16 m) in length and can be recognized due to a black and white pattern on their belly. Their flukes have patterns, unique to each individual. Humpbacks are easy to spot since they often swim along with boats and show off some amazing flips.

Sperm whales

Sperm whales can be spotted off the continental shelf break as well as near the eastern tip of Long Island and Block Island. They belong to a toothed whale group and have the largest brain among the animals on Earth. They got their name because initially the substance in their head was believed to be sperm. Their length is about 50 ft (15 m) and they can dive up to 2000 ft (609 m).

Sei whales

Endangered sei whales are not so easy to spot. They have been seen along shelf break of New York, and on rare occasions in inshore waters. They can grow up to 60 ft (18 m) and have dark bluish-grey bodies with a lighter underside. Sei whales are some of the fastest and can develop speed near 50 mph (80 km/h).

Blue whales

Blue whale is the largest animal on Earth, reaching 98 feet (30m), and one of the most endangered as well. They have been spotted in The New York-New Jersey Bight area during annual fall and spring migrations. Their feeding grounds are located at Nova Scotia and the Gulf of St.Lawrence.

Pilot Whales

Pilot whales belong to the dolphin family, and like bottlenose dolphins, they are really intelligent and can be trained to work with people. One pilot whale was even trained by Navy to dive and get objects from the bottom of the ocean. Pilot whales are 20 ft long (6m) and have a distinct rounded head, a slight beak and an up-curved mouthline. They usually travel in large pods.

Whale-watching tips

Successful whale watching doesn't depend much on the time of the day or weather. However, it's easier to spot whales in clear, sunny weather when the ocean is calm. Mornings with calmer seas are considered to be a good time for whale watching. Sunset cruises offer good opportunities in terms of lighting.

What to wear

Even though it may be hot in New York City, make sure to take a jacket or a sweater on your whale-watching trip as it might get significantly colder in the ocean. Long pants and sneakers will serve you well too. Also, don't forget sunglasses, sunscreen, and a sun hat.

What to bring

There's no need to pack lots of snacks and beverages since most whale-watching vessels have galleys. Bring binoculars, a camera with a good zoom, and some extra batteries. If you suffer from seasickness, take your medicine before the cruise.

Where to stay

New York City offers an amazing choice of accommodation for any taste and budget. If you plan to go whale-watching from Long Island, there are many cozy beachfront hotels that will make you forget about the big city with its hustle and bustle. Montauk has several great options with an ocean view.

Practical info

Can you see whales in New York?

Humpback and fin whales are often spotted along coastal shelf and even in inner harbors

How long is a whale watch?

A whale-watching tour usually lasts for 3-3.5 hours. However, a longer option is available on Long Island

What kind of dolphins you can spot in NY?

Bottlenose dolphins and Risso's dolphins are most common

Ask a question