Beste Reisezeit Ohio

Woollybear Festival 2023 in Ohio

Das größte eintägige Ereignis im Bundesstaat Ohio

Termine: 8. Oktober 2023

Woollybear Festival
Woollybear Festival
Woollybear Festival

Jeden Herbst hält die Stadt Vermilion, Ohio am Eriesee das bunte Woollybear Festival ab, das Zehntausende von Menschen anzieht. Die Feier ist dem pyrrharctia isabella gewidmet – die unscharfe Raupe, die das Winterwetter vorhersagen kann. Auf dem Festival können sich die Besucher über die Woollybear-Prognose informieren, Raupenrennen und eine spektakuläre Parade sehen lassen. Die Victory Park Area von Vermillion und Main Street sind mit über 80 Kunsthandwerksständen und über 45 Lebensmittelhändlern gefüllt. Über 100.000 Teilnehmer versammeln sich jedes Jahr während des Festivals in Vermillion.

Das Festival beginnt um 9.00 Uhr. im örtlichen Highschool-Stadion mit dem jährlich YMCA World’s Greatest Kids Race. Das wichtigste Highlight des Woollybear Festival ist die Parade mit über 25 High School Bands aus ganz Ohio. Die Parade beginnt um 13:30 Uhr in der Grand Street, dann geht sie nach Osten auf der Sandusky Street, dann in die South Street und endet in der Decatur Street.

Vor der Parade nehmen Kinder am King and Queen Woollybear contest und Wettbewerb um die besten unscharfe Raupe Kostüme teil. Das Woollybear 500 Race beginnt um 17 Uhr mit den lokalen Chefs der Polizei und Feuerwehren Auswahl von Teilnehmer, die gegen einander Rennen werden. Das Festival schließt nach der Wettervorhersage für den kommenden Winter.

Das Woollybear Festival begann 1973, initiiert von dem Cleveland TV Wettermann Dick Goddard. Der Woolly Bear Caterpillar Day ist ähnlich dem Groundhog Day, denn nach dem Ausschlüpfen der Eier der Raupen kann man vorhersagen, wie kalt und verschneit der kommende Winter sein kann, indem man die Menge der schwarzen und orangen Raupen vergleicht.

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Woollybear Festival (Karte)

Zuletzt aktualisiert:

Best time to go to Ohio

Woollybear Festival 2019

The largest one-day event in the state of Ohio

Woollybear Festival in Ohio 2019 - Best Time
Photo by

© Rona Proudfoot

Every fall the town of Vermilion, Ohio on Lake Erie holds the colourful Woollybear Festival that attracts tens of thousands of people. The celebration is dedicated to woolly bear—the fuzzy caterpillar that can predict winter weather. At the festival, visitors can learn about the Woollybear forecast, see caterpillar races, and a spectacular parade. The Victory Park area of Vermillion and Main Street are filled with over 80 arts and crafts stalls and over 45 food vendors. Over 100,000 attendees gather in Vermillion during the festival every year.

Woollybear Festival in Ohio - Best Season 2019

The festival starts at 9 a.m. at the local high school stadium with the YMCA’s annual World’s Greatest Kids Race. The main highlight of Woollybear Festival is the parade featuring over 25 high school bands from all over Ohio. The parade kicks off at 1:30 pm at Grand Street; then it goes east on Sandusky Street, then turns onto South Street, and ends at Decatur Street.

Before the parade, children participate in the King and Queen Woollybear contest and contest for best woolly bear costumes. The Woollybear 500 Race starts at 5 p.m. It begins with the local Chiefs of police and fire departments selecting woolly bears that will be racing against each other. The festival closes after the weather forecast for the upcoming winter.

Best time for Woollybear Festival in Ohio 2019

Woollybear Festival began in 1973, initiated by Cleveland TV weatherman Dick Goddard. The Woolly Bear Caterpillar Day is similar to Groundhog Day, as according to a widespread belief, after the caterpillars' eggs hatch, it's possible to predict how cold and snowy the upcoming winter can be by comparing the amount of black versus orange caterpillars.