Quand partir Seattle

Ski et snowboard à Seattle 2025

Quelques-unes des meilleures vues et des promenades de l'arrière-pays dans le Pacifique Nord-Ouest

Meilleur moment: fin novembre–début avril (meilleure mi-janvier–février)

Ski et snowboard
Ski et snowboard
Ski et snowboard
Ski et snowboard
Ski et snowboard
Mount Baker
Voir les hébergements à proximité

Seattle est entouré de montagnes, et dès que la première tempête de neige frappe les Cascades au milieu de l'automne, il est temps de planifier un voyage de ski ou de snowboard. La ville peut offrir au moins une demi-douzaine de destinations étonnantes en moins de 2,5 heures de route. De quelques-uns des sommets les plus hauts des Cascades à la beauté immaculée de la péninsule olympique, il ya beaucoup de domaines de ski à vérifier, et sûrement il y aura des tonnes de poudre dans l'état le plus enneigé des États-Unis. La saison de ski près de Seattle commence habituellement juste après Thanksgiving et dure jusqu'au début d'avril. Cependant, le climat de réchauffement a également des répercussions sur les stations de ski, et le temps chaud d'automne entraîne souvent des ouvertures retardées jusqu'à la mi-décembre. En général, vous pouvez vous attendre aux meilleures conditions de neige de la mi-janvier à février.

Montagne de cristal

Crystal Mountain est la destination de ski numéro un dans la région de Seattle. Situé à 136 km de la ville, c'est la plus grande station de ski de Washington. Sa principale attraction est la vue imprenable sur Mt. Rainier, qui sont tellement bons, vous voudrez arrêter de skier et juste vous asseoir pendant des heures au Summit House, le restaurant le plus haut de l'État. La fameuse promenade en gondole du mont Rainier (731 m) sera également mémorable, sans aucun doute. Crystal Mountain Resort obtient également des points pour la variété en raison de plus de 2 600 acres (1 050 ha) de sentiers aménagés. Les options d'hébergement comprennent trois hôtels à proximité de la station.

verticale: 3 100 pieds (945 m) surface: 2 600 acres (1050 ha) parcours: 80 (11% plus facile, 54% plus difficile, 35% plus difficile) ascenseurs: 11 saison: mi-décembre à mi-avril

Secteur de ski du mont Baker

Mount Baker Ski Area est situé à 130 miles (212 km) de Seattle, qui est assez loin. Cependant, il vaut la peine de visiter parce que Mount Baker est l'un des resorts les plus enneigés de Washington. Si vous cherchez des tonnes de poudre, vous ne serez pas déçu ici. Les promenades dans l'arrière-pays et les vues sur les Cascades du Nord sont tout simplement magnifiques. Cependant, vous devez choisir votre timing avec soin, parce que la montagne n'est pas si haute, et cela se traduit par des conditions de neige moins que parfaites. Le moment le plus fiable pour skier au mont Baker est mi-février. Un autre avantage est l'abordabilité et les foules plus minces, que dans les plus grandes stations de ski du Nord-Ouest.

verticale: 1 589 pieds (484 m) surface: 1000 acres (400 ha) parcours: 31 (le plus facile: 24%, moyen: 45%, difficile: 31% ascenseurs: 8 chaises, 2 manches saison: mi-décembre à mai

Pass Stevens

Stevens Pass est situé à 82 miles (131 km) de Seattle. La station est célèbre pour sa poudre sèche sur la Cascade Crest. Stevens Pass offre également le ski nocturne, les parcs de terrain et une vue magnifique sur plus de 1000 acres skiables (400 ha). Un voyage à ski jusqu'au Stevens Pass peut être combiné avec la visite du village bavarois voisin de Leavenworth où des raquettes ou des tubes de neige sont disponibles pour toute la famille.

verticale: 1,800 pieds (548 m) surface: 1,125 acres (455 ha) parcours: 52 (débutant: 11%, intermédiaire: 54%, avancé: 35%) ascenseurs: 10 saison: début décembre à début avril

Montagne Snoqualmie

Snoqualmie Mountain est situé à seulement 45 minutes en voiture de la ville et est souvent appelé « montagne maison » par les résidents de Seattle. Il offre le plus grand domaine de ski nocturne de l'État, de sorte que les coureurs peuvent simplement s'y rendre après le travail. La montagne présente le premier télésiège historique jamais exploité dans l'État de Washington, il remonte aux années 1930. Avec quatre zones de base (Summit West, Summit Central, Summit East et Alpental), il y a beaucoup de variété et d'espace. La station dispose également de tubes à neige et de sentiers de fond.

verticale: 2 280 pieds (695 m) superficie: 2 000 acres (809 ha) parcours: 62 (le plus facile: 4%, plus difficile: 45%, plus difficile: 41%) ascenseurs: 25 saison: mi-novembre (parfois mi-décembre) à mi-avril

Infos pratiques

Quand est le meilleur moment pour visiter Seattle pour faire du ski et du snowboard?

Les visiteurs intéressés par le ski et le snowboard devraient visiter Seattle de fin novembre à début avril, avec une période entre mi-janvier et février offrant les meilleures conditions de neige. Gardez à l'esprit que les ouvertures de stations de ski peuvent être retardées jusqu'à mi-décembre en raison de la météo chaude de l'automne. Afficher plus

Quelle est la plus grande station de ski près de Seattle?

Crystal Mountain peut offrir jusqu'à 2600 acres (1050 hectares) de pistes damées aux visiteurs, ce qui en fait la plus grande et la plus proche station de ski de la région de Seattle, située à environ 85 miles (136 kilomètres) de la ville. La station offre des vues sur la télécabine de 2400 pieds (731 m) du mont Rainier et d'incroyables vues sur le mont Rainier, avec trois options d'hôtels à proximité. Afficher plus

Quelle station de ski près de Seattle est connue pour les randonnées en hors-piste et les vues magnifiques?

Pour les randonnées en hors-piste et les vues magnifiques des North Cascades, les visiteurs doivent visiter la station de ski du Mont Baker, située à environ 130 miles (212 km) de Seattle. Le ski dans la station est relativement abordable et offre aux skieurs moins de foule que les grandes stations de ski du nord-ouest. Cependant, les visiteurs doivent viser les conditions de mi-février, la période la plus fiable de la saison. Afficher plus

Quelle station de ski près de Seattle offre du ski nocturne?

La montagne Snoqualmie offre la plus grande zone de ski nocturne de l'État de Washington, ce qui facilite les courses après le travail. La station dispose de quatre quartiers de base, offrant aux visiteurs de nombreuses possibilités. Le premier téléski de l'État, datant des années 1930, est situé sur la montagne, et elle dispose également d'installations de ski de fond et de snowtubing. Afficher plus

Quelle station de ski près de Seattle est connue pour être l'une des plus neigeuses de Washington?

Parmi les stations de ski les plus enneigées de Washington se trouve la station de ski du Mont Baker, qui est un incontournable pour les visiteurs qui cherchent des randonnées en hors-piste et de la poudreuse. C'est assez loin de Seattle, environ 130 miles (212 km), mais elle reçoit un taux de chute de neige élevé. Pour les clients qui recherchent un lieu économique et moins fréquenté que les grandes stations de ski du nord-ouest, la station de ski du Mont Baker est un excellent choix. Les visiteurs doivent la visiter en mi-février pour bénéficier des conditions optimales en fonction du taux de chute de neige. Afficher plus

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Ski et snowboard (carte)

Dernière mise à jour:

Best time to visit Seattle

Skiing and Snowboarding in Seattle

Some of the best views and backcountry rides in the Pacific Northwest

Best time: late November–early April (best in mid-January–February)

Skiing and Snowboarding
Skiing and Snowboarding
Skiing and Snowboarding
Skiing and Snowboarding
Skiing and Snowboarding
Mount Baker
See accommodations nearby

Seattle is surrounded by mountains, and as soon as the first snowstorm hits the Cascades in mid-autumn, it's time to plan a skiing or snowboarding trip. The city can offer at least half a dozen amazing destinations in less than 2.5 hours drive. From some of the tallest peaks of the Cascades to the pristine beauty of the Olympic Peninsula, there are plenty of ski areas to check out, and surely there will be tons of powder in the snowiest US state. The ski season near Seattle usually starts right after Thanksgiving and lasts through early April. However, the warming climate takes a toll on ski resorts as well, and hot autumn weather often results in openings delayed until mid-December. Generally, you can expect the best snow conditions from mid-January through February.

Crystal Mountain

Crystal Mountain is the number one ski destination in the Seattle area. Located 85 miles (136 km) from the city, it's the biggest ski resort in Washington. Its main attraction is the stunning views of Mt. Rainier, which are so good, you'll want to stop skiing and just sit for hours at the Summit House, the highest restaurant in the state. The famous 2,400-foot (731-m) Mount Rainier Gondola ride is also going to be memorable, for sure. Crystal Mountain Resort also gets points for variety due to over 2,600 acres (1,050 ha) of groomed trails. Lodging options include three hotels in close proximity to the resort.

vertical: 3,100 feet (945 m) area: 2,600 acres (1050 ha) runs: 80 (11% easiest, 54% more difficult, 35% most difficult) lifts: 11 season: mid-December to mid-April

Mount Baker Ski Area

Mount Baker Ski Area is located 130 miles (212 km) from Seattle, which is rather far. However, it's worth visiting because Mount Baker is one of the snowiest resorts in Washington. If you are looking for tons of powder, you won't be disappointed here. Backcountry rides and views of the North Cascades are simply stunning. However, you have to pick your timing carefully, because the mountain is not that high, and this results in less than perfect snow conditions. The most reliable time to ski at Mount Baker is mid-February. Another advantage is affordability and thinner crowds, than at bigger Northwest ski resorts.

vertical: 1,589 feet (484 m) area: 1,000 acres (400 ha) runs: 31 (easiest: 24%, medium: 45%, difficult: 31%) lifts: 8 chairs, 2 handle tows season: mid-December to May

Stevens Pass

Stevens Pass is located in 82 miles (131 km) from Seattle. The resort is famous for its dry powder over the Cascade Crest. Stevens Pass also offers night skiing, terrain parks, and beautiful views over 1,000 skiable acres (400 ha). A ski trip to Stevens Pass can be combined with the visit to the nearby Bavarian village of Leavenworth where snowshoeing or snowtubing is available for the whole family.

vertical: 1,800 feet (548 m) area: 1,125 acres (455 ha) runs: 52 (beginner: 11%, intermediate: 54%, advanced: 35%) lifts: 10 season: early December to early April

Snoqualmie Mountain

Snoqualmie Mountain is located in just a 45-minute drive from the city and is often referred to as "home mountain" by Seattle residents. It offers the largest night skiing area in the state, so riders can just conveniently drop-in after work. The mountain features the historic first chairlift ever operated in the state of Washington, it dates back to the 1930s. With four base areas (Summit West, Summit Central, Summit East, and Alpental), there's plenty of variety and space. The resort also has snow tubing and cross-country trails.

vertical: 2,280 feet (695 m) area: 2,000 acres (809 ha) runs: 62 (easiest: 4%, more difficult: 45%, most difficult: 41%) lifts: 25 season: mid-November (sometimes mid-December) to mid-April

Practical info

When is the best time to visit Seattle for skiing and snowboarding?

Visitors who are interested in skiing and snowboarding should visit Seattle from late November to early April, with the period between mid-January and February offering the best snow conditions. Keep in mind that ski resort openings might face delays until mid-December due to hot autumn weather. Show more

What is the biggest ski resort near Seattle?

Crystal Mountain can offer up to 2,600 acres (1,050 ha) of groomed trails to visitors making it the biggest and closest ski resort in the Seattle area, located roughly 85 miles (136 kilometers) from the city. The resort provides views of 2,400-foot (731-m) Mount Rainier Gondola rides and incredible views of Mt. Rainier, with three hotel options nearby. Show more

Which ski resort near Seattle is known for backcountry rides and stunning views?

For backcountry rides and stunning views of the North Cascades, visitors must visit Mount Baker Ski Area, located around 130 miles (212 km) from Seattle. Skiing in the resort is relatively affordable and offers skiers fewer crowds than larger Northwest ski resorts. However, visitors must aim to accompany mid-February conditions, the most reliable period during the season. Show more

Which ski resort near Seattle offers night skiing?

Snoqualmie Mountain offers Washington's most significant night skiing area, making it easy for individuals to manage after-work runs. The resort has four base districts, providing visitors with ample opportunity. The first chairlift in the state dating back to the 1930s is located on the mountain, and it also features cross-country skiing and snow tubing facilities. Show more

Which ski resort near Seattle is known for being one of the snowiest in Washington?

Among the snowiest ski resorts in Washington is Mount Baker Ski Area, which is a must-visit for visitors seeking backcountry rides and tons of powder. It is quite far from Seattle—roughly 130 miles (212 km) but receives a high snowfall rate. For guests seeking an economical and less-crowded location than Northwest's major ski resorts, Mount Baker Ski Area is an excellent choice. Visitors should visit during mid-February for optimal conditions based on the snowfall rate. Show more

Ask a question

Find hotels and airbnbs near Skiing and Snowboarding (Map)

Last updated: by Olga Valchyshen