Quand partir à Pays de Galles

Noël 2024 à Pays de Galles

Bouilloire de Noël, chant choral et chants dans les églises, dinde rôtie, et pudding, bien sûr!

Rendez-vous: décembre 24–décembre 25

Noël
Noël

Noël est accompagné de beaucoup d'anciennes traditions au Pays de Galles. Les maisons sont décorées avec des bougies, des lumières colorées, de jolies fleurs (surtout le gui, qui selon la légende est un symbole de la vie éternelle), et des branches houx

Le chant choral est typique des vacances au Pays de Galles. "Eisteddfodde" (ou Carolling), un festival de chant choral, se tient chaque année. Le peuple gallois chante dans les églises (parfois accompagnées d'une harpe), visite des maisons voisines, et autour du sapin de Noël. Les gens apportent des bougies à la messe du matin connue sous le nom de "Plygain" (break du jour).

Les plats de vacances traditionnels gallois sont la dinde rôtie avec des légumes, le pudding, les pommes cuites dans la pâtisserie et les gâteaux plats. Comme dans toutes les nations celtiques, les gâteaux plats gallois sont cuits avec un trou rond au milieu. Si le gâteau plat est cassé, il est considéré comme un mauvais présage

Christmas markets in Wales

Welsh Christmas markets tantalize everyone with hundreds of twinkling lights, delicious treats, mulled wine, and a festive atmosphere. The most popular fairs are Cardiff Christmas market, Caerphilly Christmas market, Royal Welsh Winter Fair at Royal Welsh Showground, and Winter Fair at Aberglasney. Unfortunately, the Llandudno Christmas market, one of the most beloved Christmas events in Wales, has been recently axed.

Infos pratiques

Ressources externes

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Noël (carte)

Dernière mise à jour:

Best time to go to Wales

Christmas 2018

Christmas tinsel, choral singing and carols in churches, roasted turkey, and pudding, of course!

Christmas in Wales - Best Time
Photo by

kweez mcG

Christmas is accompanied by a lot of old traditions in Wales. Houses are decorated with candles, colourful lights, lovely flowers (especially mistletoe, which according to the legend is a symbol of eternal life), and holly branches.

Choral singing is typical for holidays in Wales. “Eisteddfodde" (or Carolling), a festival of choral singing, is held annually. The Welsh people sing in churches (sometimes accompanied by a harp), visit neighbouring houses, and around the Christmas tree. People bring candles to the morning mass known as "Plygain" (daybreak).

Welsh traditional holiday dishes are roasted turkey with vegetables, pudding, apples baked in pastry, and flat cakes. Like in all the Celtic nations, Welsh flat cakes are baked with a round hole in the middle. If the flat cake is broken, it is considered a bad omen.

Christmas dinner
Christmas dinner
Wales
Check best times to visit
Wales