Beste Reisezeit Baskenland

Tamborrada von San Sebastián 2025 in Baskenland

Eine Trommelparade und Straßenparty, um San Sebastián zu ehren

Termine: Januar 20

Tamborrada von San Sebastián
Tamborrada von San Sebastián

Jedes Jahr, am Abend zwischen dem 19. und 20. Januar, veranstaltet San Sebastián eine große Party, um seinen Schutzheiligentag zu feiern. Die Tamborrada Trommelparade ist ein wichtiger Höhepunkt dieser Feier. San Sebastián liegt an der Bucht von Biskaya im Baskenland Spaniens. Die erste Trommelparade fand hier im Jahr 1836 während des Karnevals statt. Laut einer Legende verspotteten Einheimische Soldaten, die tägliche Märsche durch die Stadt machten. Seitdem ist Tamborrada zu einer jährlichen und geschätzten Tradition geworden.

Das San Sebastián Festival beginnt um Mitternacht am 20. Januar, als die Fahne auf der Plaza de la Constitución aufgehängt wird. Es gibt etwa 150 Trommelgruppen in der Stadt. Jedes Kontingent wird von verschiedenen Organisationen gesponsert, die vom Stadtrat von San Sebastián sanktioniert werden. Tamborrada beginnt mit der Sociedad Gaztelubide, die die Musik von Raimundo Sarriegi spielen.

Die Trommler tragen die gleichen Uniformen wie die Soldaten, die früher in der Stadt stationiert waren. Einige ähneln Gipuzkoan Bataillons Uniformen im Unabhängigkeitskrieg. Andere Trommeln Gruppen sind als Köche gekleidet. Jede Trommelgruppe hat 20-50 Schlagzeuger und 50-100 Fässer, eine Blaskapelle und Fahnenträger. Sie unterhalten die Straßen mit ihrem Trommeln für 24 Stunden. Das Festival endet um Mitternacht mit der Aufführung der Unión Artesana Tamborrada. Sie senken die Fahne und schließen Festlichkeiten.

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Tamborrada von San Sebastián (Karte)

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
Authors: Olha Savych

Best time to go to Basque Country

Tamborrada of San Sebastián 2020

A drum parade and street party to honour San Sebastián

Tamborrada of San Sebastián in Basque Country - Best Time
Photo by

Donostia/San Sebastian 2016

Every year at night between 19th and 20th of January, San Sebastián holds a huge party to celebrate its patron saint's day. Tamborrada drum parade is the major highlight of this celebration. San Sebastián is located on the Bay of Biscay in Spain’s Basque Country. The first drum parade was held here in 1836 during the carnival. According to a legend, locals were mocking soldiers that were making daily marches through the city. Since then Tamborrada has become an annual and cherished tradition.

San Sebastián Festival starts at midnight on January 20th, when the flag is raised in the Plaza de la Constitución. There are about 150 drumming groups in the city. Each contingent is sponsored by various organisations that get sanctioned by the San Sebastián city council. Tamborrada starts with the Sociedad Gaztelubide who play the music of Raimundo Sarriegi.

Drummers wear the same uniforms as the soldiers that used to be stationed in the city. Some resemble Gipuzkoan battalions uniforms in the War of Independence. Other drumming groups are dressed as cooks. Each drumming group has 20-50 drummers and 50-100 barrels, a brass band, and flag-bearers. They entertain the streets with their drumming for 24 hours. The festival ends at midnight with the performance of the Unión Artesana Tamborrada. They lower the flag and close down festivities.

Tamborrada of San Sebastián in Basque Country - Best Season
Basque Country
Check best times to visit
Basque Country