Quand partir Texas

Bluebonnets (Lupinus texensis)

Ne manquez pas la floraison de la fleur de l'État du Texas

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Le bluebonnet du Texas (Texas lupine ou Lupinus texensis) fleurit entre la fin février et avril, mais la saison diffère chaque année. Quand le printemps arrive à l'État de Lone Star, ces belles fleurs sauvages couvrent les collines et les vallées autour de Dallas, Austin, Houston, et pratiquement tous les coins de l'État. La plante est également célèbre comme l'un des symboles de l'état.

Quand les bluebonnets fleurissent-ils au Texas?

En général, les champs fleurissent pendant environ six semaines, approximativement de la fin février ou mars jusqu'à la mi- ou fin avril. Le début de la saison dépend de nombreux facteurs tels que la météo hivernale ou la qualité du sol et peut varier selon la région. Les hivers légers entraînent une saison de bluebonnet précoce. Le pic de floraison tombe généralement au début-à-mi-avril. De plus, le 24 avril, un certain nombre de villes du Texas célèbrent la Journée nationale des fleurs sauvages.

Où voir les bluebonnets au Texas?

Trois meilleurs endroits pour voir une énorme quantité de belles Bluebonnets Texas comprennent Ennis près de Dallas, le Texas Hill Country à l'ouest d'Austin, et aussi la région de Houston. Cependant, vous découvrirez beaucoup d'endroits plus fructueux si vous voyagez simplement à travers l'État pendant la saison de floraison Bluebonnet.

Ennis, région de Dallas

L'un des meilleurs emplacements est Ennis, qui a été désigné comme la maison du "Official Texas Bluebonnet Trail" et le "Official Bluebonnet City of Texas." Chaque année en avril, il présente plus de 40 miles (64 km) de route cartographiée Bluebonnet Trails. Des dizaines de milliers de visiteurs viennent ici pour observer la beauté de la nature pendant Ennis Bluebonnet Trails Festival. La ville d'Ennis se trouve à 35 miles (56 km) au sud de Dallas. Cependant, il y a plus d'endroits bluebonnet à découvrir à proximité. Vous pouvez les trouver ici.

Texas Hill Country, région d'Austin

Texas bluebonnet aime résider dans le Hill Country. L'idée idéale serait de faire un voyage en voiture et de couvrir certains des endroits les plus brillants de la région. Vous pouvez partir de Fredericksburg, continuer à Marble Falls, puis, en option, vérifier le moins connu Burnet et Llano. Quelques-uns des paysages les plus impressionnants de Bluebonnet dévoilent sur une boucle Willow City et l'autoroute 16 entre Fredericksburg et Llano. De plus, réservez du temps pour le sentier panoramique Highland Lakes Bluebonnet Trail qui s'étend sur plusieurs villes, dont Burnet, Llano et Marble Falls. En visitant Fredericksburg, arrêtez-vous par Wildseed Farms, la plus grande ferme de fleurs sauvages des États-Unis avec de belles expositions Bluebonnet. À Marble Falls, visitez Turkey Bend Recreation Area, prenez un coup de feu parfait contre la célèbre Maison Bluebonnet, et visitez le Blue Bonnet Cafe. La ville de Burnet est la glorieuse capitale de Bluebonnet au Texas, où vous pouvez trouver beaucoup de sentiers Bluebonnet et assister à un festival Bluebonnet. Enfin, le principal avantage de la petite ville de Llano est le manque de popularité, qui vous permet de profiter de bluebonnets sans foule.

Région de Houston

Vous découvrirez également des tonnes de sites bluebonnet impressionnants dans et autour de Houston. Parmi les meilleurs endroits, mentionnons Buffalo Bayou, Terry Hershey Park et Blessington Farms. Si vous êtes en visite au début du mois d'avril, rendez-vous au Festival Bluebonnet de Chappell Hill, situé à une heure de route au nord-ouest de la ville. La petite ville de Chappell Hill célèbre la saison avec de la musique live, des vendeurs, ainsi que des visites historiques et bluebonnets.

Conseils pour profiter des bluebonnets Texas

Contrairement à une rumeur pop, arracher les fleurs n'est pas illégal. Cependant, on vous demande de ne pas choisir de bluebonnets. Aussi, soyez courtois avec les propriétaires fonciers et assurez-vous que vous visitez des terres publiques. Lorsque vous visitez le Texas spécifiquement pour les bluebonnets, vérifiez la situation actuelle et assurez-vous d'aller en saison. Si vous aimez planifier bien à l'avance, début avril sera votre pari sûr. De plus, réservez votre hébergement à l'avance. Et enfin, mais pas le moindre — apporter le pulvérisateur de bug et porter des chaussures fermées des orteils pour une sécurité supplémentaire.

Infos pratiques

When do bluebonnets bloom in Texas?

Between late February/early March and mid-to-late April

Where to see bluebonnets in Texas?

The top 3 areas are located around Dallas (Ennis), Austin (Texas Hill Country), and Houston.

Is it against the law to pick bluebonnets in Texas?

Contrary to a pop rumor, plucking bluebonnets is not illegal in Texas. However, you're kindly asked not to pick the flowers.

How long do bluebonnets bloom?

For about six weeks between late February or early March and mid-to-late April.

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Bluebonnets (Lupinus texensis) (carte)

Best time to travel to Texas

Bluebonnets

Don't miss the blooming of the state flower of Texas

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all

Texas bluebonnet (Texas lupine or Lupinus texensis) blooms between late February and April, but the season differs each year. When spring comes to the Lone Star State, these beautiful wildflowers blanket the hills and valleys around Dallas, Austin, Houston, and practically every corner of the state. The plant is also famous as one of the state symbols.

When do bluebonnets bloom in Texas

Generally, the fields bloom for about six weeks, roughly from late February or March through mid- or late April. The start of the season depends on many factors such as winter weather or soil quality and might differ depending on the area. Mild winters result in early bluebonnet season. The peak bloom usually falls in early-to-mid April. Also, on April 24th, a number of towns and cities in Texas celebrate State Wildflower Day.

Where to see bluebonnets in Texas

Three best spots to see a huge amount of beautiful Texas bluebonnets include Ennis near Dallas, the Texas Hill Country west of Austin, and also the Houston area. However, you'll discover many more fruitful locations if you simply travel across the state during the bluebonnet flowering season.

Ennis, Dallas area

One of the top locations is Ennis, which was designated as the home of the "Official Texas Bluebonnet Trail" and the "Official Bluebonnet City of Texas." Annually in April, it showcases over 40 mi (64 km) of mapped driving Bluebonnet Trails. Tens of thousands of visitors come here to observe the beauty of nature during Ennis Bluebonnet Trails Festival. The city of Ennis sits 35 mi (56 km) south of Dallas. However, there're more bluebonnet places to discover nearby. You can find them here.

Texas Hill Country, Austin area

Texas bluebonnet loves residing in the Hill Country. The perfect idea would be to go on a road trip and cover some of the most brilliant locations across the region. You can set off from Fredericksburg, continue to Marble Falls, then optionally check out the lesser-known Burnet and Llano. Some of the most impressive bluebonnet landscapes unveil on Willow City Loop and Highway 16 between Fredericksburg and Llano. Also, reserve some time for the scenic Highland Lakes Bluebonnet Trail which spans multiple cities, including Burnet, Llano, and Marble Falls. Additionally, each of the spots listed above boasts its own highlight. While visiting Fredericksburg, stop by Wildseed Farms, the largest working wildflower farm in the US with beautiful bluebonnet displays. When in Marble Falls, visit Turkey Bend Recreation Area, take a perfect shot against the famous Bluebonnet House, and pay a visit to the Blue Bonnet Cafe. The city of Burnet is the glorious Bluebonnet Capital of Texas, where you may find lots of bluebonnet trails and attend a bluebonnet festival. Lastly, the main advantage of the small town Llano is the lack of popularity, which allows you to enjoy bluebonnets without crowds.

Houston area

You'll also discover tons of awesome bluebonnet sites in and around Houston. Some of the top spots include Buffalo Bayou, Terry Hershey Park, and Blessington Farms. If you're visiting in early April, head to the Chappell Hill Bluebonnet Festival, situated in an hour-drive north-west of the city. The small town of Chappell Hill celebrates the season with live music, vendors, as well as historical and bluebonnets tours.

Tips for enjoying Texas bluebonnets

Contrary to a pop rumor, plucking the flowers is not illegal. However, you're kindly asked not to pick bluebonnets. Also, be courteous to landowners and make sure you're visiting public land. When visiting Texas specifically for bluebonnets, check the current situation and make sure you go in season. If you like to plan well ahead, early April will be your safe bet. Also, book your accommodations in advance. And last, but not least—bring bug spray and wear closed-toe shoes for extra safety.

Practical info

When do bluebonnets bloom in Texas?

Between late February/early March and mid-to-late April

Where to see bluebonnets in Texas?

The top 3 areas are located around Dallas (Ennis), Austin (Texas Hill Country), and Houston.

Is it against the law to pick bluebonnets in Texas?

Contrary to a pop rumor, plucking bluebonnets is not illegal in Texas. However, you're kindly asked not to pick the flowers.

How long do bluebonnets bloom?

For about six weeks between late February or early March and mid-to-late April.

Ask a question

Find hotels and airbnbs near Bluebonnets (Map)