Quand partir Connecticut

Couleurs d'automne à Connecticut

Le glorieux changement de saison transforme le Connecticut

Partager

Dernière mise à jour: par Olga Valchyshen
reason default image
Voir tout
Voir les hébergements à proximité

La Nouvelle-Angleterre est célèbre pour son kaléidoscope de couleurs d'automne, et le Connecticut n'est pas une exception. Abondant Chêne blanc et cailloux créent une mer de tons jaunes et dorés. Pendant ce temps, les érables rouges ajoutent des accents bordeaux et rouge vif. Les villes du Connecticut sont charmantes lorsqu'elles sont encadrées de feuillage d'automne, et il y a de nombreux parcs et forêts à travers l'État offrant des sentiers d'automne pittoresques.

Meilleur moment pour couleurs d'automne à Connecticut

La saison des couleurs d'automne ici commence dans la dernière semaine de Septembre et s'étend jusqu'au début Novembre. Mais les couleurs des feuillages de pointe d'automne explosent au cours du mois d'octobre.

Itinéraires de conduite de feuillage d'automne dans le Connecticut

La façon préférée des gens de découvrir la splendeur d'automne dans le Connecticut est par l'une de ses boucles pittoresques. L'État est la réalité traversée par un réseau de routes de conduite époustouflantes qui se brillent les uns les autres. Vous allez adorer chaque mille de la boucle Scenic Fairfield qui commence et se ferme à Norwalk. La boucle Connecticut River Gateway sortant de Middletown est un peu plus courte mais pas moins impressionnante. Chaque quartier bénéficie de son itinéraire pittoresque. Si vous désirez plus de détails sur les routes de conduite du feuillage d'automne dans le Connecticut, consultez CT Forestry.

Où voir le feuillage d'automne dans le Connecticut

Les speepers du Connecticut ne vivent pas seuls par des promenades pittoresques. Ci-dessous vous pouvez lire sur certains des meilleurs endroits pour tremper dans les couleurs de l'automne dans l'État de la Constitution.

Mohawk State Forest

Mohawk State Forest près de Cornwall est célèbre pour ses tourbières et le Mohawk Mountain Outlook qui peut être atteint via Mattatuck Trail. Le sommet, à une altitude de 513 mètres, offre une vue à 360 degrés sur les montagnes Catskill et Taconic ainsi que sur la chaîne Berkshire.

Talcott Mountain State Park

Talcott Mountain State Park, situé près des villes d'Avon, de Bloomfield et de Simsbury, offre une autre occasion de profiter du panorama du Nord-Est d'en haut. Le point culminant principal du parc est la tour Heublein, à 50 mètres. Après une courte randonnée jusqu'à la crête, les visiteurs atteignent la tour et peuvent accéder à une vue panoramique de la vallée de la rivière Farmington. La tour Heublein est ouverte du jeudi au lundi pendant les mois d'été, de la Journée du Mémorial à la Journée du Travail. Après la journée du travail et jusqu'en novembre, la tour et le musée sont ouverts du mardi au dimanche, de 10h à 17h.

Macedonia Brook State Park

Macedonia Brook State Park est une belle destination d'automne à Kent, Connecticut. Le parc se compose principalement de vallées boisées avec des ruisseaux pittoresques. Prenez un sentier pittoresque de la crête de Macédoine pour atteindre le sommet de la montagne Cobble, qui offre des vues panoramiques s'étendant jusqu'au nord de New York. Le sentier de 10 km est assez court, mais il comporte plusieurs montées difficiles.

Peoples State Forest

La Forêt de l'État du Peuple située près de Barkhamsted dispose d'incroyables expositions de feuillage d'automne. Les sentiers les plus populaires comprennent la boucle forestière de l'État des Peuples (11 km) et le sentier Jessie Gerard (5,5 km) qui se termine par des guets Chaugham. À la fourche, le bon chemin vous mène à travers la vue du phare jusqu'aux guets offrant quelques-unes des meilleures vues du Connecticut.

Pachaug State Forest

La plus grande forêt de l'État, Pachaug, est située près de Voluntown, à la frontière entre le Connecticut et Rhode Island. Les bois sont célèbres pour le Mt pittoresque. Misery Overlook situé dans la région de Chapman populaire avec les randonneurs. La vue peut être atteinte en voiture ou à pied. Pachaug State Forest offre de nombreux sentiers de randonnée. Le plus court est le sentier Quinebaug de 11 km, qui court du nord au sud. Le sentier Narragansett traverse la frontière et mène à la réserve scout Yawgoog à Rhode Island.

Carte du feuillage de l'automne du Connecticut

Quand vous prévoyez une chute au Connecticut, s'il vous plaît prendre soin de votre logement à l'avance. Examiner la carte du feuillage de l'automne du Connecticut pour assurer une escapade confortable. Cherchez des demeures historiques transformées en chambres d'hôtes, des anciennes fermes transformées en hôtels de luxe ainsi que des auberges anciennes confortables situées dans des endroits pittoresques. Hartford, Bridgeport et New Haven offrent la plus grande variété d'hôtels et d'options d'hébergement. Pachaug et Mohawk State Forests ont également des terrains de camping.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Best time to travel to Connecticut

Connecticut Fall Foliage

The glorious change of season transforms Connecticut

Best time: late September–early November

Connecticut Fall Foliage
Connecticut Fall Foliage
Connecticut Fall Foliage
Fall colors at Bog Meadow Reservoir near East Killingly, Connecticut
See accommodations nearby

New England is famous for its kaleidoscope of fall colors, and Connecticut is no exception. Abundant white oak and hickory trees create a sea of yellow and golden tones. Meanwhile, red maples add some burgundy and bright red accents. Connecticut towns look charming when framed with fall foliage, and there are many parks and forests across the state offering scenic autumnal trails.

Best time for fall foliage in Connecticut

The fall colors season here starts in the last week of September and extends into early November. But peak fall foliage colors explode in the month of October.

Connecticut fall foliage driving routes

People's favorite way to discover fall splendor in Connecticut is by one of its scenic loops. The state is crisscrossed by a network of stunning driving routes outshining one another. You will love every mile of the Scenic Fairfield loop which starts and closes at Norwalk. The Connecticut River Gateway loop running out of Middletown is a bit shorter yet no less impressive. Every neighborhood boasts its picturesque itinerary. If you crave more details on fall foliage driving routes in Connecticut, refer to CT Forestry.

Where to see fall foliage in Connecticut

Connecticut leaf-peepers don't live by scenic drives alone. Below you can read about some of the best places to soak in fall colors in the Constitution State.

Mohawk State Forest

Mohawk State Forest near Cornwall is famous for its bogs and the Mohawk Mountain Outlook that can be reached via Mattatuck Trail. The summit, at an elevation of 1683 ft (513 m) offers 360-degree views which include the Catskill and Taconic Mountains as well as the Berkshire Range.

Talcott Mountain State Park

Talcott Mountain State Park, located near the towns of Avon, Bloomfield, and Simsbury, offers leaf-peepers another opportunity to enjoy the panorama of the Northeast from above. The park's main highlight is Heublein Tower, 165 ft (50m). After a short hike to the ridge, visitors reach the tower and can access scenic views of the Farmington River Valley. The Heublein Tower is open Thursday through Monday during the summer months, from Memorial Day through Labor Day. After Labor Day and through November, the tower and museum are open Tuesday through Sunday, 10 am to 5 pm.

Macedonia Brook State Park

Macedonia Brook State Park is a beautiful fall destination in Kent, Connecticut. The park mostly consists of wooded valleys with picturesque streams. Take a scenic Macedonia Ridge trail to get to the top of Cobble Mountain, which offers panoramic views stretching as far as Upstate New York. The 6 mi (10 km) trail is quite short, but it has several challenging climbs.

Peoples State Forest

The Peoples State Forest located near Barkhamsted boasts amazing fall foliage displays. The most popular trails include the 7 mi (11 km) Peoples State Forest Loop and the 3 mi (5,5 km) Jessie Gerard Trail which ends with Chaugham Lookouts. At the fork, the right path leads you through the lighthouse sight to the lookouts offering some of the best vistas in Connecticut.

Pachaug State Forest

The largest forest in the state, Pachaug, is located near Voluntown, on the border between Connecticut and Rhode Island. The woods are famous for the scenic Mt. Misery Overlook located in the Chapman area popular with hikers. The overlook can be reached by car or on foot. Pachaug State Forest offers many hiking trails. The shortest one is 7 mi (11 km) Quinebaug Trail which runs from north to south. The Narragansett Trail crosses the border and leads into Yawgoog Scout Reservation in Rhode Island.

Connecticut fall foliage map

When you plan on fall-peeping in Connecticut, please take care of your accommodations beforehand. Examine the Connecticut fall foliage map to secure a comfortable getaway. Look for historical mansions turned into bed and breakfasts, old farms turned into luxury hotels as well as cozy old-fashioned inns located in scenic spots. Hartford, Bridgeport, and New Haven offer the largest variety of hotels and lodging options. Pachaug and Mohawk State Forests also have campgrounds.

Practical info

What is the best time to see fall foliage in Connecticut?

Visitors can witness Connecticut's stunning fall foliage from late September to early November. October is the peak season when the trees are at their vibrant and picturesque best. Show more

What are the best driving routes to see fall foliage in Connecticut?

Explore Connecticut's many scenic driving routes to witness its fall foliage. The Fairfield, Connecticut River Gateway, and Litchfield Hills loops are the most popular. For detailed information about these breathtaking driving routes, visit the CT Forestry website. Show more

Where can I see fall foliage in Mohawk State forest?

Mohawk State Forest, near Cornwall, Connecticut, offers serene bogs and the Mohawk Mountain Outlook. The summit, which is 1683 ft, offers a spectacular 360-degree view of the Catskill and Taconic Mountains and the Berkshire Range and is accessible via the Mattatuck Trail. Show more

What is the highlight of Talcott Mountain State Park during fall?

During fall in Talcott Mountain State Park, visitors can access the 165-foot-tall Heublein Tower for a breathtaking view of the Northeast from above. A hike to the ridge leads to the tower and stunning views of the Farmington River Valley. Additionally, visitors can explore the museum and tower from Thursday to Monday during summer and Tuesday to Sunday from Labor Day to November. Show more

What are some accommodation options near Connecticut state parks during fall foliage season?

When planning to see Connecticut's fall foliage, consider a comfortable stay at one of the lodging options. Options range from historical mansions-turned-bed-and-breakfasts and luxury hotels housed in old farms to cozy old-fashioned inns in scenic spots. Hartford, Bridgeport, and New Haven offer a wide range of hotels and accommodations, while camping is available at state parks such as Pachaug and Mohawk. Show more

Ask a question
Last updated: by Olga Valchyshen