Rove.me unterstützt Ukraine 🇺🇦
Beste Reisezeit Louisiana

Natchitoches Christmas Festival 2022-2023

Gönnen Sie sich die ältesten gemeinschaftsbasierten Ferienlichter in Amerika

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Eleonora Provozin
reason default image
Alles anschauen
Siehe Unterkünfte in der Nähe

Natchitoches ist die älteste Siedlung im Louisiana Purchase Territory und trägt den Namen eines indigenen amerikanischen Stammes. Das Natchitoches Christmas Festival stammt aus dem Jahr 1927 und ist damit eines der ältesten im ganzen Land. Beginnen Sie an einem Samstag vor Thanksgiving, es läuft bis Epiphany Anfang Januar. Das Festival findet in der Regel in Downtown Natchitoches, im historischen Bezirk und am Ufer des Cane River Lake statt. Die Feierlichkeiten beinhalten über 300.000 Lichter und über 100 Set-Stücke, die jede Nacht in der Dämmerung zu sehen sind.

Das festliche Programm in Natchitoches beinhaltet die Weihnachtsparade, einen Schönheitswettbewerb und ein Feuerwerk am Wochenende. Das Santa Claus House befindet sich am Ufer der Innenstadt. Das 1965 erbaute Gebäude ist für Kinder geöffnet, um Fotos zu machen und den Weihnachtsmann über ihre Wünsche zu informieren. Es gibt auch ein spektakuläres Feuerwerk und Live-Musik-Show jeden Samstag während der Festival-Saison.

Die Natchitoches Christmas Festival Parade stammt aus den 1940er Jahren. Aktuell startet die bunte Prozession auf dem Campus der Northwestern State University und windet sich durch die Straßen des historischen Viertels. College und High-School-Bands, Tanzgruppen, Queens, thematische Schwimmer und viele kostümierte Charaktere machen diese Parade zu einem Favorit bei lokalen Familien. Tausende kommen, um Frau zu beobachten. Der Weihnachtsmann und der Weihnachtsmann beginnen die Weihnachtszeit. Zu den weiteren Paraden gehören die Miss City of Lights, the Christmas Belles, the Christmas Angels, Miss Natchitoches Teen, und Miss Merry Christmas.

Viele Lebensmittelverkäufer werden alle sieben Tage der Woche die Gäste auf der Riverbank willkommen heißen. Die Geschäfte und Restaurants an der Front Street sind auch samstags ohne Armband erreichbar. Die Gäste werden ermutigt, Masken zu tragen und soziale Distanzierung während der gesamten Saison zu üben.

Praktische Infos

Externe Ressourcen

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Natchitoches Christmas Festival (Karte)

Best time to go to Louisiana

Natchitoches Christmas Festival 2020

Treat yourself to the oldest community-based holiday lights display in America

Share

Last updated: by Eleonora Provozin
reason default image
See all
0
See accommodations nearby

Disclaimer: Due to COVID-19 concerns, many events might be canceled, postponed, or changed into limited versions, sometimes at very short notice. Please check with event organizers directly for the latest updates (view the "External Resources" section below).

Natchitoches is the oldest settlement in the Louisiana Purchase Territory and carries the name of a Native American tribe. Natchitoches Christmas Festival dates back to 1927, which makes it one the oldest in the whole country. Starting on a Saturday before Thanksgiving, it runs until Epiphany in early January. The festival usually takes place in Downtown Natchitoches, in the Historic District, and on the banks of Cane River Lake. Celebrations feature over 300,000 lights and over 100 set pieces on display every night at dusk.

The festive program in Natchitoches includes the Christmas Parade, a beauty contest, and weekend fireworks. Santa Claus House is located on the downtown riverbank. Built in 1965, it is open for children to take photos and tell Santa about their wishes. There is also a spectacular fireworks display and live music show every Saturday throughout the festival season.

Natchitoches Christmas Festival Parade dates back to the 1940s. Currently, the colourful procession takes off at the campus of Northwestern State University and winds through the streets of the Historic District. College and high school bands, dance groups, queens, themed floats, and lots of costumed characters make this parade a favourite with local families. Thousands come to watch Mrs. Claus and Santa Claus kicking off the holiday season. Other parade royalty includes the Miss City of Lights, the Christmas Belles, the Christmas Angels, Miss Natchitoches Teen, and Miss Merry Christmas.

The 2020 edition requires a purchase of pre-sold armbands ($10) to enter the Riverbank area on Saturdays. Lots of food vendors will welcome guests on the Riverbank all seven days of the week. The shops and restaurants on Front Street can be accessed without an armband even on Saturdays. Guests will be encouraged to wear masks and practice social distancing throughout the season.

Practical info

External Resources

Ask a question

Find hotels and airbnbs near Natchitoches Christmas Festival (Map)