Quand partir Provence & Côte d'Azur

Champs de tournesol

Les champs de tournesol jaune-brillant offrent un bel contraste avec les rangées luxuriantes de lavande violet

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Les tournesols ne sont pas aussi appréciés que la lavande emblématique de Provence, mais les champs de tournesol ne sont pas moins pittoresques. Si vous visitez la Provence entre la fin juin et juillet, vous serez émerveillé par les magnifiques champs jaunes de tournesols qui s'étendent à côté des célèbres collines de lavande pourpre. Les rangées de tournesols sont souvent conçues pour diviser les champs aussi. Vous n'oublierez jamais ces paysages uniques! Van Gogh lui-même s'en est inspiré.

Meilleur moment pour voir les tournesols en France

En général, la saison du tournesol en France est au milieu de l'été, légèrement différente par région. En Provence, les tournesols commencent à fleurir dès la fin juin, atteignant leur sommet début-à-mi-juillet. La saison se poursuit jusqu'à la fin du mois. La récolte de tournesol commence début août. Cependant, certains champs peuvent encore fleurir. La saison du tournesol se chevauche avec un Tour de France de renommée mondiale. Et les cyclistes ont toutes les chances d'entrevoir de magnifiques champs jaunes sur leur chemin comme le parcours embrasse généralement certains des taches de tournesol de Provence. Notez que les tournesols sont en pleine floraison à la hauteur de l'été, donc n'oubliez pas de prendre la crème solaire, un chapeau, des lunettes de soleil, et des chaussures confortables. De plus, sachez que les champs de lavande et de tournesol sont très favorisés par les abeilles, les araignées et d'autres insectes. Alors soyez prudent.

Où voir les champs de tournesol en Provence?

Pour capturer de beaux champs de tournesol, prenez la route rurale D942 de Carpentras à Avignon ou une route entre Saint-Rémy-de-Provence et Noves. Il y a plusieurs champs près d'Orange, Manosque, et aussi autour du Puy-Sainte-Réparade. Vous verrez des champs infinis de grands tournesols pointant leur tête pour saluer le soleil.

Champs de lavande et tournesols

Valensole

L'un des meilleurs endroits pour repérer les tournesols et la lavande est le plateau de Valensole dans les Alpes-de-Haute-Provence. Vous pouvez vérifier sur le chemin de la célèbre gorge de Verdon. Le plateau est entouré par les petits villages d'Esparron-de-Verdon, Saint-Martin-de-Brômes et Riez. Ils organisent des festivités florales spéciales pendant l'été.

Villages du Luberon

Les villages pittoresques du Luberon protégés par un Parc Naturel Régional disposent également de champs alternants de lavande et de tournesols. Prenez l'une des routes pittoresques de Bonnieux. Vous pouvez choisir la direction nord-ouest vers Lacoste, Gordes et Château du Bois. Ou conduisez au nord-est jusqu'au petit village de Rustrel et profitez de paysages tout aussi époustouflants peints de couleurs.

Mythe sur pourquoi le tournesol se transforme en soleil?

Il y a un mythe grec sur l'origine du tournesol. Il est dit qu'Apollon, le dieu du soleil, avait deux maîtresses, sœurs nymphes d'eau nommées Clydia et Leucothoé. Une fois que Clydia est devenu jaloux et a dit à leur père, Ocean, à propos de la liaison. Par fureur, il enterra sa petite fille vivante. Après, Apollo a quitté Clydia. Quand Apollo remarqua son désespoir, il fut tellement touché, qu'il la transforma en tournesol pour qu'elle se lève toujours vers le soleil.

Infos pratiques

What time of year do sunflowers bloom in France?

Between late June and early August, but mostly in July.

When can you see the lavender fields in Provence?

The top location include Luberon Forest, Plateau de Sault, Plateau de Valensole, and Notre-Dame de Senanque.

What is the best time of year to visit Provence?

It depends on what you wish to see and do during your visit. Spring and fall are recommended for moderate weather and crowds.

What is the best month for sunflowers?

July

Poser une question

Best time to travel to Provence & French Riviera

Sunflower Fields

Bright-yellow sunflower fields provide a beautiful contrast to the lush purple rows of lavender

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all
0

Sunflowers are not as praised as the iconic lavender in Provence, however, sunflower fields ("champs de tournesol" in French) are no less picturesque. If you're visiting Provence between late June and July, you'll be in awe from wonderful vividly yellow fields of sunflowers spanning next to the renowned purple lavender hills. The rows of sunflowers are often designed to divide the fields too. You'll never forget these unique sceneries! Van Gogh himself was inspired by it.

Best time to see sunflowers in France

Generally, the sunflower season in France is mid-summer, slightly differing by region. In Provence, sunflowers start blooming already in late June, reaching their peak in early-to-mid July. The season continues until the end of the month. The sunflower harvest gets underway in early August. However, some fields might still be flowering. The sunflower season overlaps with a world-famous Tour de France. And cyclists have all chances to glimpse stupendous yellow fields on their way as the route usually embraces some of the Provence sunflower spots. Note that sunflowers are in full bloom at the height of summer, so don't forget to take sunscreen lotion, a hat, sunglasses, and comfortable shoes. Also, be aware that lavender and sunflower fields are very much favored by bees, spiders, and other bugs. So be cautious.

Where to see sunflower fields in Provence?

To capture beautiful sunflower fields, take the rural road D942 from Carpentras to Avignon or a road between Saint-Rémy-de-Provence and Noves. There are several fields near Orange, Manosque, and also around Le Puy-Sainte-Réparade. You will see endless fields of tall sunflowers pointing their heads to greet the sun.

Fields of lavender & sunflowers

Valensole

One of the best places to spot both sunflowers and lavender is the Valensole plateau in the Alpes-de-Haute-Provence. You can check it out on the way to the famous Verdon Gorge. The plateau is surrounded by the small villages of Esparron-de-Verdon, Saint-Martin-de-Brômes, and Riez. They hold special flower festivities during the summer.

Luberon Villages

Picturesque Luberon Villages are protected by a Regional Nature Park also boast alternating fields of lavender and sunflowers. Take one of the scenic routes from Bonnieux. You can opt for the northwest direction to Lacoste, Gordes, and Château du Bois. Or drive northeast to the small village of Rustrel and enjoy equally breathtaking landscapes painted with colors.

Myth on why the sunflower turns to the sun?

There's a Greek myth about the origin of the sunflower. It says that Apollo, the god of the sun, had two mistresses, sister water nymphs named Clydia and Leucothoé. Once Clydia got jealous and told their father, Ocean, about the liaison. Out of fury, he buried his younger daughter alive. Afterward, Apollo left Clydia. When Apollo noticed her despair, he was so touched, as to turn her into a sunflower so that she always rose towards the sun.

Practical info

What time of year do sunflowers bloom in France?

Between late June and early August, but mostly in July.

When can you see the lavender fields in Provence?

The top location include Luberon Forest, Plateau de Sault, Plateau de Valensole, and Notre-Dame de Senanque.

What is the best time of year to visit Provence?

It depends on what you wish to see and do during your visit. Spring and fall are recommended for moderate weather and crowds.

What is the best month for sunflowers?

July

Ask a question