Aider l’Ukraine 🇺🇦 pendant l’invasion russe
Voici les meilleures façons de soutenir l’Ukraine durant ces temps difficiles en savoir plus
Quand partir Nouvelle-Zélande

Lupin

Le paysage pittoresque de la Nouvelle-Zélande South Island étonne avec des couleurs variées

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Chaque année, de la mi-novembre à décembre, de vastes zones le long des berges riveraines de la région du Mackenzie sur l'île du Sud ont éclaté de couleurs et de parfums. Des milliers de lupins couvrent le paysage de teintes violettes, roses, bleues et jaunes. Le lupin Russell est une plante exotique, originaire de l'Amérique du Nord, qui peut atteindre la hauteur de 1,5 m. Ces hautes épis colorées peuvent être trouvées en grand nombre croissant le long des bords des routes, des zones larges ouvertes, et près des lits d'eau.

Quand voir les lupins néo-zélandais?

En général, les lupins pourraient être repérés en Nouvelle-Zélande entre le printemps et l'été, mais la saison des lupins de première importance tombe entre la mi-fin novembre et la fin décembre, s'effondrant juste après Noël. Le meilleur pari serait de planifier votre escapade panoramique dans un court délai de la fin novembre à la mi-décembre. En outre, notons que la saison diffère selon l'emplacement, en commençant plus tôt dans les régions nordiques et en se déplaçant progressivement vers le sud en décembre. Pour être plus clair, les lupins du lac Tekapo sont à leur point culminant à la fin de novembre, alors que le meilleur moment pour absorber la floraison de lupin autour de Wanaka est la mi-décembre.

Où voir les champs de lupin néo-zélandais?

Certains des endroits les plus pittoresques pour voir les lupins sont autour du lac Tekapo, du lac Wanaka, le long de la rivière Ahuriri, et près de Twitzel. Le parc national Mount Cook est une autre grande destination pour les amateurs de nature. Il y a de nombreux champs de lupin le long de la route qui mène à Mount Cook Village. Lac Hawea offre un peu d'une variété car il est célèbre non seulement pour les variétés violet et rose, mais aussi pour les lupins jaunes, croissant le long du bord du lac. Le Peak Trail de l'Isthme offre quelques-unes des vues les plus époustouflantes du lac et de diverses fleurs sauvages. De plus, le chemin Crown Range reliant Wanaka et Queenstown a des tonnes de routes jaunes.

Conseils pour les points de lupin en NZ

En parcourant Mackenzie Country, vous serez tenté par de nombreux endroits pittoresques, souvent le long des routes. Cependant, l'arrêt au milieu d'une route étroite et tordue n'est pas sécurisé. Soyez donc patient et choisissez des points d'observation conçus pour profiter des fleurs. L'une des zones les plus sûres pour repérer les lupins est le long de la rivière Ahuriri près d'Omarama. Un autre avantage de cet emplacement est le stationnement et les options de camping. Ou vous pouvez choisir parmi une gamme d'hôtels cachés au milieu de champs de lupin (voir la carte ci-dessous).

Infos pratiques

When do lupins flower?

New Zealand lupins are in full bloom between mid-November and late December.

Where can you see lupins in New Zealand?

Though lupins grow all across NZ, the top pick is the area within the Mackenzie Basin on the South Island. The best spots are located around Lake Tekapo, Lake Wanaka, along the Ahuriri River, and near Twizel.

Do lupins come back every year?

Yes

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Lupin (carte)

Best time to travel to New Zealand

Lupine

The scenic landscape of New Zealand’s South Island astonishes with varied colors

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all

Every year from mid-November to December vast areas along riverbeds of Mackenzie Region on the South Island burst with color and fragrance. Thousands of lupins cover the landscape with purple, pink, blue, and yellow hues. The Russell lupin is an exotic plant, native to North America, which can grow to the height of 5 ft (1.5 m). These tall colorful spikes can be found in large numbers growing along the roadsides, wide-open areas, and near the waterbeds.

When to see New Zealand lupins?

Generally, lupins could be spotted in New Zealand between spring and summer, but prime lupin season falls between mid-to-late November and late December, fading away just after Christmas. The best bet would be planning your scenic getaway within a short timeframe from late November to mid-December. Also, note that the season differs depending on location, starting earlier in the northern areas, and gradually moving south as December sets in. To make it more clear, Lake Tekapo lupins are at their peak in late November, whereas the best time to absorb lupin bloom around Wanaka is mid-December.

Where to see New Zealand lupin fields?

Some of the most scenic places for viewing lupins are around Lake Tekapo, Lake Wanaka, along the Ahuriri River, and near Twizel. Mount Cook National Park is another great destination for nature enthusiasts. There are many lupin fields along the road that leads to Mount Cook Village. Lake Hawea offers a bit of a variety since it is famous not only for purple and pink varieties but also for yellow lupins, growing along the edge of the lake. The Isthmus Peak Trail offers some of the most breathtaking views of the lake and various wildflowers. Additionally, Crown Range Road connecting Wanaka and Queenstown has tons of yellow ones.

Tips for lupin-spotting in NZ

When roaming Mackenzie Country, you'll be tempted by numerous scenic patches, often alongside the roads. However, stopping in the middle of a narrow and twisty road is not secure. So be patient and choose designed pull-off sights to enjoy the flowers. One of the safest areas to spot lupins is along the Ahuriri River near Omarama. Another advantage of this location is parking and camping options. Or you can opt from a range of hotels tucked amidst lupin fields (see the map below).

Practical info

When do lupins flower?

New Zealand lupins are in full bloom between mid-November and late December.

Where can you see lupins in New Zealand?

Though lupins grow all across NZ, the top pick is the area within the Mackenzie Basin on the South Island. The best spots are located around Lake Tekapo, Lake Wanaka, along the Ahuriri River, and near Twizel.

Do lupins come back every year?

Yes

Ask a question