Quand partir Californie

Calla Lily Valley & Garrapata Beach

L'une des zones côtières les plus pittoresques de Big Sur

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Une oasis de plage de calla sauvage riche de succulents et de superbes fleurs sauvages est cachée près du Carmel-by-the-Sea, au Garrapata State Park, Big Sur. La région est tout simplement fabuleuse pendant la saison de floraison des lys calla qui s'étend à la fin de l'hiver et au début du printemps. Découvrez la beauté de la nature locale en marchant le long de la Calla Lily Valley Trail et terminez la randonnée avec un pique-nique à la délicieuse plage de Garrapata.

Quand fleurissent les lis des calles?

La saison de la vallée de la Calla lily peut commencer dès la fin janvier. La floraison gonfle à la mi-février et se poursuit jusqu'à la mi-avril et parfois tout au long du mois. Notez que certaines zones pourraient être dangereuses à naviguer en raison du chêne poison qui envahit la vallée après les pluies de printemps. Par conséquent, il est recommandé de porter des pantalons longs et des chaussures fermées pour éviter le contact avec les plantes. En outre, si vous ne pouvez pas y arriver pendant la saison de la calla lily, visitez n'importe quel autre moment, car la vallée est magnifique toute l'année.

Comment trouvez-vous Calla Lily Valley?

La magnifique Calla Lily Valley est située près de Carmel-by-the-Sea, à 20 minutes de Monterey sur l'autoroute 1. Garez votre voiture à la porte 18 ou 19 à Garrapata State Park et trouvez Garrapata trailhead par mile marqueur 63. Marchez pendant 5 minutes jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez l'ensemble d'escaliers qui descendent jusqu'au ruisseau Doud et qui se mêlent à Calla Lily Valley, l'épicentre de la floraison pittoresque. L'ensemble de la randonnée prend environ 800 m (environ 800 m) aller-retour.

Plage de Garrapata

Prenez votre temps de profiter des fleurs et envisagez de faire une randonnée plus loin jusqu'à Garrapata State Beach, qui est un endroit parfait pour se détendre après la marche et faire un pique-nique avec vos proches. Cependant, faire des vagues peut être un peu traître en raison de roches glissantes. De même, la natation pourrait être tentante, mais pas aussi sûre non plus, à cause des vagues rudes et des marées rampantes.

Que faire à Carmel-by-the-Sea?

En visitant Carmel-by-the-Sea, ne limitez pas votre agenda au sentier Garrapata seulement. Vérifiez quelles autres expériences précieuses vous pourriez vivre ici. À la condition que vous prévoyiez votre voyage à la mi-mars, il y a une chance d'apercevoir la fascinante migration des papillons monarques. Pour les amateurs extrêmes, la région dispose d'un certain nombre de spots de surf avec la première saison qui dure jusqu'en mars aussi. Enfin, il y a beaucoup plus à voir le long de la côte accidentée du Big Sur, et la meilleure façon de le faire est de faire un voyage en voiture.

Où séjourner à Carmel-by-the-Sea?

Si vous étudiez la carte ci-dessous, vous trouverez une gamme d'hébergements à proximité de la vallée de la Lily de Calla. Beaucoup d'hôtels sont dispersés le long de l'Hwy 1. Si vous vous déplacez au nord du Sentier Garrapata, arrêtez-vous quelque part à Carmel Highlands ou recherchez de meilleures offres au-delà. Si vous vous déplacez vers le sud, vous trouverez de grandes alternatives autour de Notley's Landing. Quoi qu'il en soit, prenez votre temps pour trouver ce qui fonctionne le mieux pour vous.

Infos pratiques

How long do calla lilies last?

Calla lily valley season is roughly from late January/early February to mid-/ late April

How do you get to Calla Lily Valley?

The valley is located at the southern edge of Garrapata State Park and is accessible from Highway 1 (aka Cabrillo Highway). The trailhead is situated near mile marker 63 and gate 19.

How long is the Garrapata hike?

1.25 miles (2 km)

Is Garrapata State Park dog friendly?

Dogs allowed on the beach at Gate 19 (south end of the park) and trails leading to it. Dogs not allowed in all other areas.

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Calla Lily Valley & Garrapata Beach (carte)

Best time to travel to California

Calla Lily Valley & Garrapata Beach

One of the most picturesque coastal areas in Big Sur

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all

A wild calla lily beach oasis rich with succulents and stunning wildflowers is tucked near the Carmel-by-the-Sea, at Garrapata State Park, Big Sur. The area is just fabulous during the calla lilies blooming season that spans late winter and early spring. Uncover the beauty of local nature walking along the Calla Lily Valley Trail and finish the hike with a picnic at the delightful Garrapata Beach.

When do calla lilies bloom?

Calla lily valley season may start as early as the end of January. The blooming swells by mid-February and continues through mid-April and sometimes all way through the month. Note that some areas could be dangerous to navigate due to the poison oak which invades the valley after spring rains. Therefore, it is recommended to wear long pants and closed-toed shoes to avoid contact with the plants. Also, if you can't make it during calla lily season, visit any other time, as the valley is stunning year-round.

How do you get to Calla Lily Valley?

The beautiful Calla Lily Valley is located near Carmel-by-the-Sea, some 20 minutes from Monterey on Highway 1. Park your car at Gate 18 or 19 in Garrapata State Park and find Garrapata trailhead by mile marker 63. Walk for 5 minutes until you reach the set of stairs descending to Doud Creek that cradles Calla Lily Valley, the epicenter of the scenic bloom. The whole hike takes about half a mile (about 800 m) roundtrip.

Garrapata Beach

Take your time to enjoy the flowers and consider hiking further down to Garrapata State Beach, which is a perfect spot to relax after walking and have a picnic with your loved ones. However, wading around might be a bit treacherous due to slippery rocks. Similarly, swimming could be tempting, yet not that safe either, because of rough waves and rip tides.

What to do in Carmel-by-the-Sea?

While visiting Carmel-by-the-Sea, don't limit your agenda to the Garrapata Trail only. Check out what other treasured experiences you could live through here. On the condition that you plan your trip by mid-March, there's a chance to catch a glimpse of the mesmerizing monarch butterfly migration. For extreme lovers, the area has a number of surfing spots with the prime season lasting through March too. Lastly, there's so much more to see along the rugged Big Sur coast, and the best way to do so is on a road trip.

Where to stay in Carmel-by-the-Sea area?

If you study the map below, you'll see a range of accommodation options close to the Calla Lily Valley. Many hotels are scattered along Hwy 1. If you move north of the Garrapata Trail, stop somewhere in Carmel Highlands or search for better offers beyond. If you move south, you'll find great alternatives around Notley's Landing. Anyway, take your time to find what works best for you.

Practical info

How long do calla lilies last?

Calla lily valley season is roughly from late January/early February to mid-/ late April

How do you get to Calla Lily Valley?

The valley is located at the southern edge of Garrapata State Park and is accessible from Highway 1 (aka Cabrillo Highway). The trailhead is situated near mile marker 63 and gate 19.

How long is the Garrapata hike?

1.25 miles (2 km)

Is Garrapata State Park dog friendly?

Dogs allowed on the beach at Gate 19 (south end of the park) and trails leading to it. Dogs not allowed in all other areas.

Ask a question

Find hotels and airbnbs near Calla Lily Valley & Garrapata Beach (Map)