Beste Reisezeit Kalifornien

Calla Lily Valley & Garrapata Beach

Eine der malerischsten Küstengebiete von Big Sur

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Eine wilde Calla Strand Oase reich an Sukkulenten und atemberaubenden Wildblumen ist in der Nähe des Carmel-by-the-Sea, im Garrapata State Park, Big Sur versteckt. Die Gegend ist einfach fabelhaft während der Kallalien blühenden Jahreszeit, die späte Winter und frühen Frühling erstreckt. Entdecken Sie die Schönheit der lokalen Natur entlang des Calla Lily Valley Trails und beenden Sie die Wanderung mit einem Picknick am herrlichen Garrapata Beach.

Wann blühen Calla?

Die Calla-Lily-Talsaison kann schon Ende Januar beginnen. Die Blüte schwillt bis Mitte Februar und dauert bis Mitte April und manchmal ganz durch den Monat. Beachten Sie, dass einige Bereiche gefährlich sein könnten, um aufgrund der Gifteiche, die in das Tal nach Frühlingsregen dringt zu navigieren. Daher wird empfohlen, lange Hosen und geschlossene Schuhe zu tragen, um Kontakt mit den Pflanzen zu vermeiden. Auch wenn Sie es während der Calla Lily Saison nicht schaffen, besuchen Sie jede andere Zeit, da das Tal das ganze Jahr über atemberaubend ist.

Wie kommt man zu Calla Lily Valley?

Das schöne Calla Lily Valley liegt in der Nähe von Carmel-by-the-Sea, etwa 20 Minuten von Monterey auf dem Highway 1. Parken Sie Ihr Auto am Gate 18 oder 19 im Garrapata State Park und finden Sie Garrapata Trailhead by Mile Marker 63. Gehen Sie für 5 Minuten, bis Sie die Treppe hinunter zum Doud Creek erreichen, das Calla Lily Valley, das Epizentrum der malerischen Blüte craddles. Die gesamte Wanderung dauert etwa eine halbe Meile (ca. 800 m) Rundfahrt.

Strand von Garrapata

Nehmen Sie sich Zeit, um die Blumen zu genießen und erwägen Sie, weiter hinunter zum Garrapata State Beach zu wandern, der ein perfekter Ort ist, um sich nach einem Spaziergang zu entspannen und ein Picknick mit Ihren Lieben zu machen. Jedoch, Waten herum könnte ein wenig verräterisch wegen rutschigen Felsen sein. Auch das Schwimmen könnte verlockend sein, aber auch nicht so sicher, wegen rauher Wellen und reißenden Gezeiten.

Was tun in Carmel-by-the-Sea?

Während Sie Carmel-by-the-Sea besuchen, beschränken Sie Ihre Agenda nicht nur auf den Garrapata Trail. Sehen Sie sich an, welche anderen wertvollen Erlebnisse Sie hier durchleben könnten. Unter der Bedingung, dass Sie Ihre Reise bis Mitte März planen, gibt es eine Chance, einen Blick auf faszinierende Monarch Schmetterling Migration zu erhaschen. Für extreme Liebhaber, hat die Gegend eine Reihe von Surfspots mit der Prime-Saison bis März dauern auch. Letztlich gibt es so viel mehr zu sehen entlang der rauen Big Sur Küste, und der beste Weg, dies zu tun, ist auf einem Roadtrip.

Wo übernachten Sie in Carmel-by-the-Sea Bereich?

Wenn Sie die Karte unten studieren, sehen Sie eine Reihe von Unterkunftsmöglichkeiten in der Nähe des Calla Lily Valley. Viele Hotels sind entlang Hwy 1 verstreut. Wenn Sie sich nördlich des Garrapata Trails bewegen, halten Sie irgendwo in Carmel Highlands oder suchen Sie nach besseren Angeboten darüber hinaus. Wenn du dich nach Süden bewegst, wirst du tolle Alternativen rund um Notleys Landing finden. Wie auch immer, nehmen Sie sich Zeit, um zu finden, was am besten für Sie funktioniert.

Praktische Infos

How long do calla lilies last?

Calla lily valley season is roughly from late January/early February to mid-/ late April

How do you get to Calla Lily Valley?

The valley is located at the southern edge of Garrapata State Park and is accessible from Highway 1 (aka Cabrillo Highway). The trailhead is situated near mile marker 63 and gate 19.

How long is the Garrapata hike?

1.25 miles (2 km)

Is Garrapata State Park dog friendly?

Dogs allowed on the beach at Gate 19 (south end of the park) and trails leading to it. Dogs not allowed in all other areas.

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Calla Lily Valley & Garrapata Beach (Karte)

Best time to travel to California

Calla Lily Valley & Garrapata Beach

One of the most picturesque coastal areas in Big Sur

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all

A wild calla lily beach oasis rich with succulents and stunning wildflowers is tucked near the Carmel-by-the-Sea, at Garrapata State Park, Big Sur. The area is just fabulous during the calla lilies blooming season that spans late winter and early spring. Uncover the beauty of local nature walking along the Calla Lily Valley Trail and finish the hike with a picnic at the delightful Garrapata Beach.

When do calla lilies bloom?

Calla lily valley season may start as early as the end of January. The blooming swells by mid-February and continues through mid-April and sometimes all way through the month. Note that some areas could be dangerous to navigate due to the poison oak which invades the valley after spring rains. Therefore, it is recommended to wear long pants and closed-toed shoes to avoid contact with the plants. Also, if you can't make it during calla lily season, visit any other time, as the valley is stunning year-round.

How do you get to Calla Lily Valley?

The beautiful Calla Lily Valley is located near Carmel-by-the-Sea, some 20 minutes from Monterey on Highway 1. Park your car at Gate 18 or 19 in Garrapata State Park and find Garrapata trailhead by mile marker 63. Walk for 5 minutes until you reach the set of stairs descending to Doud Creek that cradles Calla Lily Valley, the epicenter of the scenic bloom. The whole hike takes about half a mile (about 800 m) roundtrip.

Garrapata Beach

Take your time to enjoy the flowers and consider hiking further down to Garrapata State Beach, which is a perfect spot to relax after walking and have a picnic with your loved ones. However, wading around might be a bit treacherous due to slippery rocks. Similarly, swimming could be tempting, yet not that safe either, because of rough waves and rip tides.

What to do in Carmel-by-the-Sea?

While visiting Carmel-by-the-Sea, don't limit your agenda to the Garrapata Trail only. Check out what other treasured experiences you could live through here. On the condition that you plan your trip by mid-March, there's a chance to catch a glimpse of the mesmerizing monarch butterfly migration. For extreme lovers, the area has a number of surfing spots with the prime season lasting through March too. Lastly, there's so much more to see along the rugged Big Sur coast, and the best way to do so is on a road trip.

Where to stay in Carmel-by-the-Sea area?

If you study the map below, you'll see a range of accommodation options close to the Calla Lily Valley. Many hotels are scattered along Hwy 1. If you move north of the Garrapata Trail, stop somewhere in Carmel Highlands or search for better offers beyond. If you move south, you'll find great alternatives around Notley's Landing. Anyway, take your time to find what works best for you.

Practical info

How long do calla lilies last?

Calla lily valley season is roughly from late January/early February to mid-/ late April

How do you get to Calla Lily Valley?

The valley is located at the southern edge of Garrapata State Park and is accessible from Highway 1 (aka Cabrillo Highway). The trailhead is situated near mile marker 63 and gate 19.

How long is the Garrapata hike?

1.25 miles (2 km)

Is Garrapata State Park dog friendly?

Dogs allowed on the beach at Gate 19 (south end of the park) and trails leading to it. Dogs not allowed in all other areas.

Ask a question

Find hotels and airbnbs near Calla Lily Valley & Garrapata Beach (Map)