Quand partir à Nouvelle-Zélande

Jour de Waitangi 2022

Les fêtes introduisent la culture maorie en mettant l'accent sur la cuisine souterraine traditionnelle et les coutumes tribales

Partager

reason default image
Voir tout
0

Waitangi Day est un jour férié qui commémore la signature du document fondateur de la Nouvelle-Zélande qui date du 6 février 1840. Il est célébré dans tout le pays et les festivités offrent de nombreuses occasions de découvrir le patrimoine culturel des Maoris, qui représentent la population native néo-zélandaise. Une des meilleures célébrations a lieu dans le village maori Whakarewarewa près de la géothermie Rotorua

La partie la plus importante de la célébration est "Whakanuia" signifiant "célébrer" ou "reconnaissance". La population locale traite les visiteurs avec les meilleurs aliments maoris spécialisés, en particulier, les kai traditionnels, cuits dans les fours souterrains appelés "hangi", les plats faits de patates douces, les herbes indigènes de brousse et bien sûr les vins maoris. Vous y entendrez beaucoup de légendes maories et apprendrez sur l'histoire, la médecine, l'artisanat et les sports maoris. Un autre endroit pour célébrer la journée de Waitangi à la baie d'Okahu à Auckland. Il s'agit d'une cérémonie traditionnelle de salutation nommée "haka powhiri". Les spectateurs observent aussi le défilé traditionnel des bateaux maoris appelés "wakas" qui naviguent vers la baie d'Okahu avec des bateaux plus contemporains.

Une autre célébration particulière se tient à Wellington, la capitale du pays. Toutefois, l'accent est mis sur la diversité culturelle du pays plutôt que sur ses traditions autochtones. Les participants sont divertis avec divers aliments, des arts et de l'artisanat.

Infos pratiques

Poser une question

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Jour de Waitangi (carte)

Best time to go to New Zealand

Waitangi Day 2019

Festivities introduce to Māori culture highlighting traditional underground oven cooking and tribal customs

Waitangi Day in New Zealand - Best Time
Photo by

© Northland Inc Tourism

Waitangi Day is a public holiday which commemorates the signing of New Zealand's founding document which dates back to the 6th of February, 1840. It is celebrated all over the country and the festivities offer a plenty of opportunities to discover the cultural heritage of Māori people, which represent native New Zealand's population. One of the best celebrations takes place in the Māori village Whakarewarewa near geothermal Rotorua.

Waitangi Day in New Zealand - Best Season

The most prominent part of the ​celebration is "Whakanuia" meaning "celebrate" or "acknowledge". Local people treat the visitors with the best Māori specialty foods, in particular, traditional kai(food), cooked in underground ovens called "hangi", dishes made of sweet potatoes, indigenous bush herbs and of course Māori wines. There you will hear lots of Māori legends and learn about Māori history, medicine, crafts and sports. Another place to celebrate Waitangi Day at the Okahu Bay in Auckland. It involves traditional greetings ceremony named "haka powhiri". Spectators also observe traditional Māori boats parade called "wakas" sail to the Okahu Bay along with more contemporary vessels.

Another distinctive celebration is held in Wellington, the capital of the country. The emphasis, however, is put on the cultural diversity of the country rather than its native traditions. The attendees are entertained with various foods, arts and crafts.

Best time for Waitangi Day in New Zealand

Waitangi Day Map & Location

Accommodations nearby

Check best times to visit
New Zealand