Beste Reisezeit Kentucky

Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon 2021

Das größte und aufregendste Festival des Staates

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Eleonora Provozin
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Das Kentucky Derby Festival findet in den wenigen Wochen Ende April und Anfang Mai in Louisville statt, die zum Kentucky Derby am ersten Samstag im Mai führen. Es ist die größte jährliche Einzelveranstaltung in Kentucky, eine einmonatige Party, die das Erbe des Staates feiert. Das Kentucky Derby Festival bietet verschiedene Veranstaltungen. Das Thunder Over Louisville ist das bedeutendste jährliche Feuerwerk in den Vereinigten Staaten.

Einzigartige Ereignisse in Kentucky — Great Balloon Race und the Great Steamboat Race — ergreifen den Himmel und das Wasser, um die Massen anzufeuern. Die Pegasus Parade, eine der größten Paraden in Nordamerika, marschiert am Broadway entlang mit feinsten Reiteinheiten, Marschbands, aufblasbaren Charakteren und bunten Schwimmern. Der Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon & miniMarathon ist das berühmteste Laufrennen des Staates.

Das Kentucky Derby Festival wurde erstmals 1935 als einwöchiges Festival veranstaltet. Zu dieser Zeit umfasste es eine Parade, ein Konzert und eine Regatta am Fluss. 1937 wurde eine Tradition zur Krönung eines Derby-Festivalkönigs und einer Königin geboren, die während des Festivals zu einem der Favoriten wurde.

Tausende von Menschen säumen die Straßen, um die Pegasus-Parade zu sehen, eine Tradition, die 1956 beim Kentucky Derby Festival auftrat. Die Parade findet immer am Donnerstag vor Derby statt.

Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon & miniMarathon findet Ende April statt. Es zeigt Läufer aus den USA und verschiedenen Ländern – insgesamt etwa 15.000 Teilnehmer. Der Marathon ist laut USA Track and Field eines der Top 50 Rennen im Land. Die Teilnehmer des Marathons müssen mindestens 13:45 min/mi halten, und die Halbmarathonläufer müssen 15 min/mi halten.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon (Karte)

Best time to go to Kentucky

Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon 2020

The largest and most exciting festival in the state

Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon in Kentucky 2020 - Best Time
Photo by

© Kentucky Derby Festival

The Kentucky Derby Festival takes place in Louisville during the few weeks in late April and early May leading to the Kentucky Derby​ held on the first Saturday in May. It's the largest single annual event in Kentucky, a month-long party celebrating the heritage of the state. The Kentucky Derby Festival features several signature events. Thunder Over Louisville is the most prominent annual fireworks display in the United States.

Thunder Over Louisville 2020
Thunder Over Louisville

Unique events in Kentucky —Great Balloon Race and the Great Steamboat Race—take over the skies and waters to cheer the crowds. The Pegasus Parade, one of the biggest parades in North America, marches down Broadway with finest equestrian units, marching bands, inflatable characters, and colourful​ floats. The Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon & miniMarathon is the most famous running race in the state.

Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon in Kentucky - Best Season 2020

The Kentucky Derby Festival was first held as a week-long festival in 1935. At that time it included a parade, a concert and a riverfront regatta. In 1937, a tradition to crown a Derby Festival King and Queen was born becoming one of the favourites during the festival.

Best time for Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon in Kentucky 2020
Best time to see Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon in Kentucky 2020

Thousands of people line the streets to watch the Pegasus parade, a tradition that appeared at Kentucky Derby Festival in 1956. The parade always takes place on the Thursday before Derby.

Best time for Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon 2020
Best time to see Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon 2020
Best time to see Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon 2020

Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon & miniMarathon is held in late April. It features runners from across the US and different countries—altogether about 15,000 participants. The marathon is one of the top 50 races in the country according to the USA Track and Field. Participants of the marathon are required to maintain at least a 13:45 min/mi pace, and half marathon runners have to keep 15 min/mi pace.

Best time to see Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon 2020
Best time to see Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon 2020